We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The China Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
17B Main North Road | Papanui, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
+64 3-354 6818
Website
Today
11:30 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 11:30 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 75: English reviews
Hamilton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This place was recommended to me by a new colleague so we went there today for lunch. I had pork dumpling & prawn toast both were delicious. Someone else in our group had the vegetarian dumplings they were huge & apparently really good another person had chicken dumplings & chicken satay which looked & smelled really good & again apparently... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annette B
Level Contributor
150 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had lunch at the china kitchen and it was good. The service was excellent and the food prepared quickly and was fresh. A good meal

Helpful?
Thank Praxmeyer
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The China Kitchen was busy, about 60 people with others getting takeaways. The food is sooooo good, very reasonable in price, the service is good, however on Saturday it was busy and we waited for 45 minutes for our first course after ordering. This delay was okay, it was worth the wait. Their presentation is excellent, if you want a... More 

Helpful?
Thank David Q
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Decor is that of a bog standard Chinese suburban restaurant. Off-white ceiling tiles, paper lanterns, cheap furniture and maneki-neko. Patrons were mostly grey, and disappeared home early, presumably to catch Coronation Street. Service was good, although language difficulties did require pointing at the menu to help with ordering. Delivery of the dishes was a bit weird, receiving a entree after... More 

Helpful?
Thank classicchch
Stella L, Owner at The China Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi classicchch, Thanks for your review. Although mixed, we do hope you and your group enjoyed your evening. You received a main dish along with the entrees because 3 in your party ordered entrees and you didn't. We didn't want you to sit there without eating so we came out with your main. We will confirm in the future if... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Can't think of anything else to say except the food is excellent and it's always busy - a good sign. Food comes quickly though. I can't speak to authenticity, but it tastes good and is reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank William G
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Ordered sweet and sour pork, combination fried rice, and wontons. $45. Shockingly expensive for a takeaway!! The wontons were crispy, but came with only half a little container of sauce (about 15g). The sweet and sour pork was dry and the pieces were huge and difficult to cut. The combination rice was AWFUL. I don't think it had been fried... More 

Helpful?
Thank lynet2017
Stella L, Owner at The China Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi lynet2017, We regret that you had such a negatively strong reaction to our food. I will address the sauce issue with our staff. But please feel free to ask for extra sauce any time. We'll be more than happy to give it to you. We make our sweet and sour pork fresh every day, so we're disappointed that you... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2017

China Kitchen is a wonderful place for a couple or a group. My man loves the Garlic Chillie prawns while I usually have the Fillet steak with Ck sauce.the mixed entree comes out in a decorative boat and the dumplings are to die for. China Kitchen is very reasonably priced, we usually pay $60-$65 per couple. It is BYO wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
Stella L, Owner at The China Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks for your glowing review Lynn! We're so pleased that you love our food, especially the dumplings! We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Stella Li Owner More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

We had a great dinner at the China kitchen - bring your own wine and there is a wine store next door. Great dumplings - we had a selection of three different kinds - all delicious. Good service and casual ambience. Would recommend,

Helpful?
Thank RobertsKLR
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2016

We are regular visitors here (at least once/month, usually more) and the food is always great. Chinese food can often be bland but the tastes here are amazing. The dumplings are the best in town, the chilli/garlic prawns are a favourite, and the satay is really tasty too. You'll never go to another Chinese restaurant after you've been here. Friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2016

If you understand Cantonese or mandarin and get to know how they abused about you as a customer, you will not want to come back, why pay monies to get abused. Too bad, they didn't realise we understood every word they said. When we confronted them, they were shocked but offered no apologies.

Helpful?
Thank D L

Travellers who viewed The China Kitchen also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The China Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:30 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:30 - 22:00
Thursday
11:30 - 22:00
Friday
11:30 - 22:00
Saturday
11:30 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17B Main North Road | Papanui, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-354 6818
Description
Family-owned restaurant featuring fresh Chinese cuisine. Dine in or takeaway. BYO (wine only) and fully licensed.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The China Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?