We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Garage Riccarton

$$ - $$$, International,
7 Leslie Street | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
+64 3-420 4420
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good41%
  • Average19%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (14 reviews)
“fruit crumble” (2 reviews)
Open Now
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, International, Contemporary, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Leslie Street | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good range of food covering breakfast and lunch. Attentive staff and while busy, the wait time was not too long.

Thank Wendy M
Joe's Garage R, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Garage Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Wendy! The team at Joes thrive on busy days and love giving the best service! We are glad you enjoyed your experience! See you again soon Joe (:

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome fave place for breakfast or brunch! Ambience warm and comfortable, service prompt and food generous and very tasty! We had the Full Works, French toast ( “best ever” and my daughters fussy!) and Hot Cakes with bacon and banana - all excellent as is...More

Thank juliehM1177PO
Joe's Garage R, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Garage Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Julieh! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us! We are glad you enjoyed some of our yummy breaky options (: We cant wait to have you back again soon! Joe

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great atmosphere good service - could have done with another drink but was never asked. good food - filling and good flavours - something for everyone. no complaints from any member of our group of 6.

Thank JustineFW
Joe's Garage R, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Garage Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for coming in and dining with us Justine. We really appreciate the feedback! Hope to see you in again.

Reviewed 3 July 2018

The Whole experience was great from when you first walk in the door to when you walk out. The Menu was great with so many choices . The Waiters and Manager were very helpful in there recommendations for what we needed and also was very...More

Thank Eddie C
Joe's Garage R, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Garage Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Awesome to hear that your experience was enjoyable Eddie! That’s what we’re all about! We look forward to welcoming you back and visiting the Joe’s crew again. Cheers, Joe 🙂

Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Took my son for birthday lunch And it was perfect Service great...food great and setting great.....price spot on Definitely a must

Thank Pam C
Joe's Garage R, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Garage Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Hi Pam, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you chose us for a spot to celebrate! We hope to see you again soon (: Cheers Joe

Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

A busy Saturday night and a coffee meeting with friends resulted in us staying on for tea. We had some good choices of food. The waiter was extremely good in assuring us what food was gluten free and checked if he was unsure. We liked...More

Thank C L
Joe's Garage R, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Garage Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Hi there, We are happy to hear that you had fun with us on Saturday night, after all that’s what it’s all about! We love our Sam and are glad that you do too! We have plenty of gluten free options, so we hope to...More

Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Spotted Joe’s near our accommodation and had heard good things. Would recommend booking (luckily we did as I saw a few groups turned away and told to come back later..). Staff were super friendly and helpful and the food service was quick considering how busy...More

Thank missmac93
Joe's Garage R, Social Media Marketer at Joe's Garage Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thanks so much for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated! Awesome to hear you had a great experience, even on one of our busier nights! We look forward to having you back again soon. Cheers, Joe

Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch with 3 family members. 2 things listed on menu were not available, and my third choice was only average when it finallyarrived. Others said the burgers were ok. But after a long wait for our food, and thd poor service, I...More

Thank Diane F
Joe's Garage R, Manager at Joe's Garage Riccarton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hi Diane, Thank you for your feedback, we are saddened to hear of your recent experience with us, as we pride ourselves on our excellent service and food. We would love to invite you back to Joes Riccarton so you can experience what we are...More

Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Stopped here on way to Greymouth. Was recommended by the motel owner where we were staying. Good range of food, well cooked and presented. Great staff and service.

Thank John R
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Arrived here not told there was a wait for food. Over an hour later still no food. People arriving after us got the food before us. When it arrived finally it was ok but not brilliant. Definately not worth the wait.

Thank Ann H
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 hotels in Christchurch
Coachman Motel
70 reviews
.36 km away
ASURE 306 On Riccarton Motel
94 reviews
.45 km away
311 Motel Riccarton
18 reviews
.46 km away
ASURE Bush Inn Court Motel
56 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Monster Chicken
136 reviews
.12 km away
Coriander's
90 reviews
.08 km away
Tuk Tuk Thai Street
127 reviews
.11 km away
Sakura
36 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Air Force Museum
699 reviews
2.72 km away
Temple Basin Ski Area
12 reviews
.16 km away
Riccarton House & Bush
350 reviews
2.21 km away
Westfield Riccarton
115 reviews
2.00 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Joe's Garage Riccarton staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, International, Contemporary, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Leslie Street | Upper Riccarton, Christchurch 8041, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-420 4420
  • E-mail
Description
Joe's Garage Riccarton is a casual, down-to-earth café and bar, where you can kick back and relax. It's a genuine local hangout where good food and drink shared with friends is what it's all about. There's nothing pretentious or flashy about what we do, just some great tasting food and drinks on offer. So if you're after an affordable line-up of awesome Kiwi food and drink, all provided in a relaxed environment, come and pull up a chair at Joe’s Garage Riccarton. Johnny and Kylie look forward to seeing you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing