We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Milieu

$$ - $$$
Cafe, New Zealand, International
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
112 Wrights Road | Addington, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
+64 3-962 9629
Website
Today
07:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 07:00 - 16:00
Fri 07:00 - 20:00
Sat - Sun 08:30 - 15:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Whataroa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tried this place after our first choice was to busy for our group of 10 . Nice and airy and plenty of parking . All the meals were good as were the drinks, not amazing but great for cafe food, but best of all the service was excellent which is why they get 5 stars.Not bad on the wallet either

Helpful?
Thank Phonse-Charolette
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back. We had a busy weekend here too. Happy to see you guys had a good family time here. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Milieu Cafe More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Just had brunch here and really enjoyed it. Eggs, bacon and toast which was cooked perfectly, came out promptly along with friendly service. The cafe itself is lovely. I oggeled a fantastic looking eggs bene which went out to another table. I'll give that a try next time!

Helpful?
Thank hilsy101
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal here. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Have a nice day :) Kind regards, Milieu Cafe More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017

We have regularly called in at Milieu for a green tea after the gym and have been impressed recently by the friendly service. This time we decided to take a friend for lunch and it was a good choice. The menu is quite extensive and we all found something we liked. Although we had some difficulty explaining what a white... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

Thanks for you comments. We've been noticed that sunlight problem , and it will be fixed soon. Looking forward to seeing you again soon :) Kind regards, Milieu Cafe More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016

We booked for a pre theatre dinner. Supposedly they are organised for that. I think they have some wrinkles to iron out. Our group arrived slightly early. We quickly had a server to our table who took our order and brought drinks. Then we waited... and waited. We started to worry and twice asked for the hurry up. All orders... More 

Helpful?
Thank NZMike57
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

Thanks for your feed back. Looks like we did have some misunderstanding. Again, we apology for what happened. Hopefully, you guys might give us another chance since most of you enjoyed the meal . And we will make sure all the details are double checked. Thanks a lot. Wish you all the best and happy new year. Kind regards, Milieu... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

Upon first arriving it set the scene. This is not a restaurant in the sense, it's a cafe trying to be something it's not. Now I'm not taking anything away from the meals we had which where good some even great (the lamb needs work tho), I really enjoyed my steak, chicken starter was great and so was the squid.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment. We are a cafe for sure. First year for us to do dinner. Of course there are a lot to learn and improve. There was no problem winter time since it's already dark after 5:30pm . But summer time we just found this problem. Hopefully we will get this problem fixed early next year. Tap beer... More 

Christchurch NZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Had a booking for 12 for a meal before theatre all arrived early for 5.30pm booking. Drinks served promptly but first meal served at 6.45pm. When booking made assured we would be served in time for theatre. Asked several different staff (all Asian with bad English). Obviously no time to order desert so disappointing evening. We were the only table... More 

Helpful?
Thank almya
milieu2015, Owner at Milieu, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments first. I feel sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal here. We totally understand you were not happy last friday. But please understand we try to fix all the problem , happy to listen and get better. Since we got complainted about pretty much everything , such as the wine , the entree, the front house... More 

South Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
257 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

Sadly todays meal was very slow. Almost an hour. Sure the place was busybut with the number of total tables you would expect them to be geared up. I had what i think was potato and carrot soup with seafood in it. They called ot seafood chowder. Quite disapointing as i love seafood chowder.

Helpful?
Thank OVERSZ
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

Thanks for you comments. Sorry to hear that you didn't like the meal here. Last friday, we did have some problems in the kitchen. Since it was really busy , all the customers came in at the same time. Tables for lunches, take away food all at @12:30pm. We did tell the customers that they might need to wait for... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Came for lunch and cause they are in the book. Vegetarian option was nachoes which I didn't want but they kindly did a salad and chips combo for me which was great. Chicken burger my partner has was nice too. Great coffee to!

Helpful?
Thank wigsNZ
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment. It's a shame you only had a salad and chips for lunch. But we do have some Vege options available all the time. Next time please ask our friendly staff for more details. Not only from the cabinet but also on the menu too. We are doing Kumara corn fritters with mushroom instead... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stopped in here while getting some work done on my car... And the fact I'm reviewing it should say something about this place (I very rarely review cafes). We ordered the lamb pie and the pork belly pie. And wow they were great. I did wish they had a bit more gravy, but the fact these pies were made... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh F
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

So happy to hear that you love our pies so much. Thanks for your feed back. I won't say our pies are the best in town, but our customers just always love them. Welcome any time for something different, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon :) Kind regards, Milieu Cafe More 

Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2016

We have eaten here several times with friends. The staff is very friendly and always accommodates our large group. We have tried a multitude of meals from the menu and have really enjoyed each one. The food from the case, a selection of pies and sandwiches, is also very good and come with salad. The kids enjoy the milkshakes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank dmrobin
milieu2015, Manager at Milieu, responded to this review

Thank you very much. We'd love to see you more often. We are trying to make Milieu a better place , but one thing a time :) Food and service are most important for sure. Then we are going to slightly change the menu and price for summer season. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers. Kind... More 

Travellers who viewed Milieu also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Milieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand, International
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 15:30
Monday
07:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 16:00
Thursday
07:00 - 16:00
Friday
07:00 - 20:00
Saturday
08:30 - 15:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 112 Wrights Road | Addington, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-962 9629

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Milieu staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?