We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dux Dine

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
28 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-348 1436
Website
Today
07:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 09:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 07:00 - 21:00
Fri 07:00 - 21:30
Sat 09:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

597 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 586: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A 'girls' get-together for dinner to celebrate a birthday. I ordered the smoked aubergine as my main, and it was totally delicious. My toasts in Ginger Tom worked well. Love the surroundings, of course, and the service was spot on. I'll be back. 😊

Helpful?
Thank BeverleyDale
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Our last day in Christchurch before leaving for home in the UK so naturally a bit sad. Our son's partner recommended lunch at Dix Dine to alleviate the blues so off we went. Set amongst buildings of little architectural merit the early 20th century building is a gem both externally and internally. We sat at the rear in what I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Geoff M Thank you for dining with us on a sad day however I am very pleased this was an enjoyable, and hopefully lasting, memory of your New Zealand travels. I guess you'll just have to come back again and visit. I wish you happy and safe travels and look forwad to your next visit. Best regards Ross Herrick... More 

Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Friends took me to Dux Dine on my recent Christchurch visit. It was such a beautiful setting, inside was really lovely but as it was such a lovely day we sat out in the courtyard. The garden was so beautiful and the menu first class. All of our meals were excellent and most enjoyable as was the service,

Helpful?
Thank Val M
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Val M Thank you for your review and thanks also to your wise friends who bought you to visit us here at Dux Dine. I am pleased you enjoyed all the aspects of our restaurant and hope you return again in the very near future. Best regards Ross Herrick General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sunday breakfast for a group of ladies - dressed in red to celebrate Xmas - on arrival asked to wait for all party before being seated - I mentioned not happy with this as table was ready + this gave the early ones a chance to purchase coffees immediately - more revenue$$ = Huaves Rancheros my choice lacking flavor +... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jaymaybee
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Jaymaybee Thank you for your posted review of your recent Dux Dine experience. I am very confused about you having to wait to be seated as this is absolutely not the norm, if the table is ready then we seat guests as they arrive. I will be following this up with urgency and i do apologies for that. I... More 

Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Having visited a couple of times before, but not living in Christchurch, was keen to take extended family here for a celebratory dinner, albeit at short notice for reasons we couldn't avoid. A party of six, we turned up around 8pm on a Monday night expecting it wouldn't be too busy, but we were wrong. They'd been slammed with late... More 

Helpful?
Thank FionaW1117
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello FionaW1117 Thank you for your review of your most recent Dux Dine experience. It is heartening to read that we were able to accommodate you and your family on what was an unexpectedly busy Monday. I am pleased you chose us here at Dux Dine and we sincerely look forward to your next Christchurch visit and seeing you back... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been in Christchurch for 2 months and at eaten at Dux Dine at least 5 times. My wife's comment, "it's just lovely." For breakfast the Organic Granola and all of the egg dishes are tasty. For dinner the Cauliflower Three Cheese Croquettes and the Prawn and Crab Dumplings were excellent. The Caesar Salad with Smoked Salmon is superb... More 

Helpful?
Thank JayChandler
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello JayChandler Thank you for your review and for visiting us so many times in your short time here in Christchurch. I hope you continue visiting us and that you enjoy our fair city for a long time to come. Thank you again and best regards Ross Herrick General Manager More 

Norfolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Bistro, wine bar type of place. Shared a first course of dips and then two mains and two beers. 104 dollars. Both had fish. Perhaps a bit pricey for UK folks but it was very busy with locals.

Helpful?
Thank Jolyon O
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Jolyon O Thank you for your review and I hope your selection was enjoyable. I hope the rest of your New Zealand travels were enjoyable and that you come back to visit again some time int he future. Best regards Ross Herrick General Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So I should've trusted my nose & left when we walked in & I noticed an unpleasant fishy smell. Busy night, no seats inside but it was warm enough to be outside so we sat out in the courtyard. We were forgotten for a while but not too long. Our vegetarian entree were superb. We both ordered fish. The gurnard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sally H
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Sally H Thank you for your comments and I am obviously disappointed your experience was not as high a standard as we expect. I can assure you that our fish is delivered fresh daily, seven days a week, and we only order what we anticipate for the day. I will absolutely follow up with the kitchen brigade regarding the... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of friends dining together, at first we were impressed with attentive staff, but soon realised they were not so much attentive but hurrying us along. Food tasty, Ginger Toms (we had a pitcher to share) the alcoholic ones were delicious

Helpful?
Thank Anne0705
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Anne0705 Thank you for your comments and I am sincerely sorry you felt rushed and I will be following up with my management team. I have sent you a message and hope you might be able to shed some more light so I am better armed with the appropriate information. Thank you again and I hope to hear from... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant was recommended to us by business associates to us out-of-towners. We were early for dinner around 5.30pm and there were already a number of people at tables. We sat in the sunny veranda and enjoyed a wonderful dinner. My only quibble is that the sun was very hot - some blinds would be great to ensure comfort.

Helpful?
Thank Kaycee8
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Kaycee8 Thank you for visiting us here at Dux Dine and thank you to your associates who recommended. I am sorry the sun was uncomfortable, guests either love or hate it, however next time please feel free ask if you can move to a shaded table inside and we will be happy to accommodate if there are tables available.... More 

Travellers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$24
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 21:30
Saturday
09:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-348 1436
Description
Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dux Dine and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dux Dine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?