We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dux Dine

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
28 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-348 1436
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

625 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 611: English reviews
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Awesome food, well presented & priced. Lovely villa, nicely decorated. Would highly recommend for a classy/ fun meal out.

Helpful?
Thank BellaFletcher
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello BellaFletcher Thank you for posting your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I hope the rest of your visit to Christchurch was as enjoyable and that you come back again very soon. Best regards Ross Herrick General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I always liked food there and will probably be back for the food. However this time the service was really strange. Three things happened at one visit. We were given the table at about 5 pm and nobody told us that it's booked for a later time. So we finished our meal and were having a tea when the waiter... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anchousik
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Anchoisik Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am sorry is took a bad experience to encourage you to post a review, as it reads that you have visited us a number of times. It seems I need to remind staff to advise guests when a table is booked as this should be very... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Dux Dine is a vegetarian and seafood restaurant, handily located on Riccarton Rd, close to Hagley Park and the historic Mona Vale Homestead. Dux Dine (not to be confused with Dux Central in the CBD) has a lovely outdoor garden area to sit in over the warmer months and the villa has been renovated for indoor seating. I've been a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Raylenemc
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Raylenemc Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I am extremely disappointed we seem to have let you down, repetitively, on service. This is usually a strong area for us with a number of very positive comments. Once again, I apologise and hope to get a reply from you regarding my private message. Thank you... More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Always a pleasant place to enjoy a cuppa or to have an excellent meal from a top menu. The staff are always friendly. Indoor/outdoor dining.

Helpful?
Thank Alistair B
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Alistair B Thank you for posting your review and I am obviously very pleased you are enjoying our setting and offerings. We look forward to seeing you again very soon Best regards Ross Herrick General Manager More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A great vegetarian restaurant in an old villa. Outdoor area fabulous on a sunny day. Great service, delicious meals fish always a good choice. Bit pricey for dinner but lunch time has more reasonable options 😊

Helpful?
Thank Belinda62
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Belinda62 I'm pleased you enjoyed your experience with us recently. Our pricing is similar to other restaurants in Christchurch, although an average $3.90 cheaper than those surveyed offering similar setting and menu style. Thank you for posting your review and we all look forward to seeing you back again some time soon. Best regards Ross Herrick General Manager More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Ate here for dinner on a Friday night. It wasn't too busy though is remarkably spacious so I imagine even when busy doesn't feel it. Has a range of tables including on the covered deck and also outside - really lovely options which make you feel a million miles from the busy city. A few car parks available but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Megan C
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Megan C Thank you for your review and I am so pleased we ticked all the right boxes for you and your guest/s. We do love that once inside you easily forget the restaurant is on one of the cities busiest roads. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit for Breakfast, Lunch/Brunch, Dinner, or just... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful meal early in the week. Booked earlier in the day. We were greeted by a smiling host, this service continued throughout the evening. Pretty busy for a Tuesday evening. Peaceful decor. Looked out on to tidy courtyard. Extensive menu choices. Uncomfortable seats though. Could not have sat for long. Looked like there were padded seats at other tables. Definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn6262
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello LeeAnn6262 Thank you for posting your review of your Dux Dine experience. I am so pleased you enjoyed our service and fare. We do have some tables with banquet style seating so next time you book please request one of these. Depending on your guest numbers we have tables, with the padded banquet seating, suitable for two and up... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Take four work colleagues that have just finished all their business meetings and are looking for a late afternoon lunch / early dinner, ideally outdoors in a nice setting because it's one of those gorgeous days in Christchurch... TripAdvisor helped us find Dux Dine and we all thought it was downright awesome: - Sat in their courtyard and debated over... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dive_Girl_BK
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Dive_Girl_BK Thank you for finding us and visiting recently. I certainly sounds like we managed to put on an fantastic day/afternoon for you and that we provided all your needs after a long day at work. Thank you for your review and we all look forward to seeing you again some time very soon. Best regards Ross Herrick General... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Dux Dine failed to live up to expectations. The meal we had had earlier in the day at Dimitris (in the box park), which was simple, yet a delicious take away, was far better value and tastier than what we were served at Dux Dine. The maitre d' failed to recognise our booking, despite the fact we had booked 3... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexis H
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello Alexis H Thank you for posting your review and, as mentioned in my private message, I am appalled at reading of your experience. I look forward to your response and to working with the management and kitchen team to improve in these areas. As you will appreciate this is not our usual standard and we have clearly failed in... More 

Oxford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose to sit in the garden as it was a warm and sunny day. Unfortunately there was a coldish wind blowing which made it a bit chilly for us as we hadn't taken a jacket. The food was good and service adequate, though a bit slow.

Helpful?
Thank Kezzie K
Ross H, General Manager at Dux Dine, responded to this review

Hello kezziekat Thank you for your review of your recent Dux Dine experience. I am leased with your four star rating however disappointed our service was slow. I tried to message you to inquire regarding the day and time of your visit however your settings don't allow. If you are able to I would greatly appreciate it if you could... More 

Travellers who viewed Dux Dine also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Dux Dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$24
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 28 Riccarton Road | Riccarton, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-348 1436
Description
Dux Dine is a reflection of the past but a move into the future. A contemporary feeling, with fresh local seafood and vegetarian delights, Dux Dine has plenty to offer. Our delicious New Zealand wines and Dux craft beers are certainly a crowd pleaser. Dux Dine is situated in a historic turn-of-the-century Villa that was originally the Station Masters House for the Riccarton Railway. The villa has been extensively but sympathetically reworked to provide a variety of spaces to be enjoyed whether it be an intimate candlelit dinner for two, a large group celebration at one of the huge Kauri tables, grabbing a morning coffee at the breakfast bar, enjoyi Dux Dine has many reminiscences of the iconic Dux de Lux yet new and fresh while remaining comfortably familiar. Many of the old favourites can be seen on the menu as well as exciting fresh new foods and ideas. Dux Dine offers many setting options, from relaxing in a lounge, formal table setting to sitting in our sun drenched court yard. Whether it be a small group, special lunch or dinner, corporate event, product launch or company celebration we can cater for your needs. As a company we are passionate about supporting the local businesses around us. The seafood served in the restaurant is frequently sourced from Akaroa, Stuart Island and the West and East Coast including Southern Glory Oysters. With the ever changing environment, Dux Dine is pleased to say that we are environmentally friendly. Coffee cups, take away containers, and menus are all recycled.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dux Dine and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dux Dine staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?