We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tavern Harewood

$$ - $$$, ,
333 Harewood Road | Bishopdale, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
+64 3-359 9075
Call
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (19)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good33%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“garlic loaf” (2 reviews)
“salmon” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
333 Harewood Road | Bishopdale, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Tavern Harewood
1. SERVICE
"Place was fairly busy but service was prompt and the food faultless"
Greg
See reviews that mention generous portions
2. ATMOSPHERE
"The atmosphere is delightful and a genuinely happy place to head"
Brian/Cheryl
See reviews that mention great atmosphere
3. FOOD
"A great place to eat with friends and family"
jpfisho
See reviews that mention great place to eat
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

You get a decent meal at this Tavern and the food is tasty. Highly recommend the Salmon and the Beef Wellington.

Thank Nigel Y
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the Tavern we really appreciate your custom.

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Came here tonight on a whim before flying out in the morning. The staff were nothing short of amazing - so kind, attentive and helpful! We were served promptly, the drinks were quick to come, and the meals were amazing! The garlic loaf - divine,...More

Thank Kate S
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for your recent visit to the Tavern for lunch, its so pleasing to know every thing was to your liking.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have visited the Tavern Harewood a number of times, mainly for work lunches and never been disappointed. Thought we would give it a try for an evening meal on a Sat night. As expected was busy but friendly staff soon had us seated and drinks...More

Thank peter_fussell
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you so much for your review and continuing support, really appreciated. from all the staff and management have a safe and happy christmas.

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a busy Friday night & the pub menu was at our B& B & close by so we went over. We were seated right away , most of the tables were reserved, we placed our order then waited & waited & when we...More

Thank BrendaG296
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your visit last Friday night as you mentioned the Tavern at this time of year is extremely busy with large christmas functions so wait times do tend to get pushed out a little more than we would like, however with a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are regular dining visitors to the Tavern Harewood.The meals are consistently great and reasonably priced for what one receives.The seafood Chowder is simply the best and full of hearty seafood no filler such as potato or carrot.In winter the shoulder of lamb to share...More

Thank Normanski_nz
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review tavern its so positive for staff to know they are really appreciated, regarding the pricing we are constantly reviewing our product the battle is supplying the most premium product we can source at a reasonable...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to this place as work and personal special occasion. The staff are super friendly and the food is amazing. I could say that they provides the best food in Bishopdale. The price is a little high but for that food, i don't...More

Thank YUI387
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Tavern your custom is much appreciated

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Tavern Harewood never disappoints. Great food, fantastic service and good value for money. I have been a few times and its always good and consistent.

Thank Gary M
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Called in to the tavern for a meal.. The food was fantastic.. Great service and a cosy atmosphere. This tavern has an outdoor area too for outdoor dinning and also an area for smokers.

Thank Pussycatmafia
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank-you for visiting the Tavern we really appreciate you calling in to see us..

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Having heard some friends mention the great value for money lunches, a bunch of us decided to try out the Harewood tavern on a recent weekday night. I suspect that this establishment is usually busy and this night was no exception. Even though it was...More

Thank ChChsurfer
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your recent visit,sorry to read your fish dish wasn't to the standard expected very frustrating.normally the fish receives rave reviews,obviously not in your case will speak to chefs and inform them of there slip up not good enough.

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Very busy, popular place and fab foods environment and have enjoy going there few times.staff know how to communicate with deaf people plus can sign thank you.good on them!

Thank Victoria G
fed w, General Manager at Tavern Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank-you for taking the time to visit the tavern we really appreciate your support

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kinji Japanese Restaurant
223 reviews
1.24 km away
Copenhagen Bakery
129 reviews
.72 km away
Abalone Thai Restaurant
89 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Willowbank Wildlife Reserve
801 reviews
2.78 km away
International Antarctic Centre
2,038 reviews
3.13 km away
Northlands Mall
27 reviews
2.01 km away
Styx Mill Conservation Reserve
14 reviews
3.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tavern Harewood staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$17
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 333 Harewood Road | Bishopdale, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-359 9075
  • E-mail
Description
Tavern Harewood is a local bar, Restaurant just down the road from Christchurch International Airport. We have live music on a Friday & Saturday night, live sports and great dining for around $20. Come on down, were sure you will have a great time...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing