We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Under The Red Verandah

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
502 Worcester St | Corner of Worcester and Tancred Streets, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
+64 3-381 1109
Website
Today
07:30 - 16:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 07:30 - 16:00
Sat - Sun 08:30 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner & I love it here - beautiful old villa & garden area, fantastic service from friendly staff and of course wonderful food! It's a bit hard to find particularly for visitors but it's worth the effort, booking advised but they always manage to find you a table.

Helpful?
Thank 2units
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Such a cool atmosphere! Went there for breaky! Portions were generous! Had mushrooms on toast, only thing what I didn't like was that bread got bit creasy more I ate it! Friendly service! They have a cat! They have blankets for outside! Def recommend and def will be back :)!

Helpful?
Thank Siggypop
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I decided to try this place out for Sunday brunch and it was fantastic! Being a lovely sunny day, they were very busy but still were happy to find us a table. We were very well looked after by all the wonderful staff who made sure we knew of wait times, apologised for delays and were super... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannah P
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Probably the best service I have had in a long time!! I went with my partner, but unfortunately was on the phone for the first 25 minutes of being there. The waitress was very polite and understand, and I felt so bad for my own lack of interaction with her when she came to our table (It was a quite... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hailznz
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Located in a run down street but do not let that fool you - their foods were delicious and the yard was very original. Enjoyed the freshly baked tiny breads and savories. A little hidden gem.

Helpful?
Thank RichardEvan
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Our friends who live in Christchurch took us here for brunch. It was a nice day and it was good to see enough outdoor seating. I don't eat bread but they make their own so thought I'd try it. My friend and I had eggs benedict and my husband had a big breakfast. Initially I thought t was overpriced but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Legna00
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Brilliant food, eat here on two occasions on a trip to ChCh and it was great both times. Really good coffee and cracking brunch. The staff were always really friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank StevieGrif
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Came for a family breakfast and they were all soooo nice. They also catered really well for gluten-free and our two toddler sizes grand children. Coffees were excellent and my bowl sized hot chocolate was excellent. Only point to improve would be more high chairs for weeks ones. We nabbed the two they had and others missed out. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
heasleymandy, Owner at Under The Red Verandah, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your last visit. We have 4 high chairs for babies and 5 for toddlers, but maybe they were tucked out of view, or in the cottage dining rooms, our apologies about that we should have noticed you needed more. Look forwarded to seeing you again. Regards Mandy More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

We have been before and loved it but this time we were a little disappointed - they seemed to have plenty of staff but the food took almost an hour and then wasn't as good as we hoped for. Staff were very friendly but I wondered who was in charge - maybe more staff in the kitchen than outside delivering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave J
heasleymandy, Owner at Under The Red Verandah, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to review your experience on your last visit to our cafe. It's always great disappointment when we have unhappy customers, especially when you were not happy with the quality of your meals (it would be good to know what you ordered so I can have a chat with the chefs around quality). Our weekends are... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Always good - service and food- love ❤️ it - nothing is ever a problem - the staff help make this a great little local cafe

Helpful?
Thank MrsJimE
heasleymandy, Owner at Under The Red Verandah, responded to this review

Thank you sooo much for such a kind review. This is why we love what we do so much great customers like you. This year Under the Red Verandah turns 20, yeeha, so it's so great to know that we're still doing a good job. Big thanks Mandy More 

Travellers who viewed Under The Red Verandah also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Under The Red Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$22
Cuisine
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 16:00
Monday
07:30 - 16:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 16:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 16:00
Thursday
07:30 - 16:00
Friday
07:30 - 16:00
Saturday
08:30 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 502 Worcester St | Corner of Worcester and Tancred Streets, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-381 1109

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Under The Red Verandah staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?