We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nagisa

N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4929 4122
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good37%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sashimi” (31 reviews)
“bento box” (18 reviews)
Open Now
11:30 AM - 9:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dinner here the day we returned from 9 days in Japan. The food is authentic, beautifully prepared and served and, of course, makes full use of Australia’s marvellous seafood Menu is not extensive which is a good thing but covers all options inc Gluten Free...More

Thank Howard D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This banquet is a decadent choice. Make sure you are hungry as the food keeps coming, and coming.....course after excellent course. A real highlight was the smoked carpaccio of salmon. But all the dishes were great, with the sashimi especially fresh and delicious. Another highlight...More

Thank Marcus B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I never thought I'd be eating raw fish let alone enjoy the experience yet that is just what happened when we ordered the banquet for four people. Lots of courses and yes raw fish. I recommend it.

Thank Neville S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've been here a few times with friends and every time we have found it enjoyable and delicious! Great Japanese style and flavours!

Thank Harroldinio
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

The food was very tasty and fresh. I’d recommend the banoffee gyozas for desert! They are incredible. I could have had about 5 plates of them! The staff were very nice and helpful too.

Thank Danny E
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the great review. We have to agree with you about the Banoffee gyoza - they're a little too 'more-ish'! :-)

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Speedy service and great menu selection. Everything tastes so good that your bill can add up quickly so head in for a bento box at lunch (approx $25 p/p). Delicious 😋

Thank MaryElizSparkles
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are very happy you love the food and service and we look forward to serving you again.

Reviewed 24 October 2017

Service was very good and quick. We did get there early for lunch so didn't have a problem getting a seat outside, even though a lot of tables had been reserved.

Thank Rexelle C
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed the Nagisa experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.

Reviewed 23 October 2017

This is the BEST. You will not find a better meal in The Hunter. Too hard to explain how good the meal is. Go and try it for yourself. Can't wait for our next visit.

Thank Aaliaust
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the kind words. We can't wait to have you back.

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Worst Japanese I’ve ever been served by far. Pathetic attempts at sushi. Fish nowhere near sashimi quality. Ordered $230 worth of dishes for lunch. Each was tasteless and unpleasant to consume. . No umami here at all. If there is a real Japanese person involved...More

3  Thank Getmeouta
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for the feedback. We're a little miffed by it, however. Our fish is 100% sashimi grade guaranteed. On the rare occasion that we are unable to obtain sashimi-grade, we will alert our customers before they dine with us. We're also a little incredulous...More

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

From the moment we walked in till the moment we left we were treated to a top class night. Service was second to none, with Staff going above and beyond to make sure we were ok. Even to the point where they felt the need...More

1  Thank Brad B
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

What can we say? This the kind of review every restaurant dreams of! Thank you so much. We are so happy the Nagisa experience pleased you. We can't wait to serve you again.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Meet
316 reviews
.08 km away
Blue Door Cafe
547 reviews
.25 km away
The Dockyard
236 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Newcastle Museum
307 reviews
.11 km away
Christ Church Cathedral
196 reviews
.93 km away
Maritime Centre
54 reviews
.01 km away
Queens Wharf Tower
65 reviews
.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Dan F
20 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from gkp2202 | Property representative |
Hello. I'm very sorry for the late reply. I presume you are referring to okonomiyaki? In which case, we do not have these on our menu, though I believe we have offered them on special at some point. I'll discuss the... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$85
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4929 4122
  • E-mail
Description
Here in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle, a modern take on a rich history of cuisine in a restaurant that also brings you the exotic mix of the teppanyaki bar, fresh sashimi and sushi, rare Japanese craft beers, whisky and sake, degustation menus, banquets and a venue for group functions.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing