We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Verandah Restaurant

151 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
+61 2 4998 7231
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good23%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (179 reviews)
“baby calamari” (10 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
151 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 587 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an awesome restaurant! Cheerful friendly staff all dropping past to see if we needed anything. Lovely setting overlooking the vineyard. Food fantastic!

Thank Shootingstars R
Verandah B, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Shootingstars R We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!! Regards Verandah Management

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a really relaxing lunch. Food was great, really yum churros. The waittress was lovely. My one tiny gripe was the chairs were quite uncomfortable inside the restaurant and perhaps need updating. Would definitely return.More

Thank Affy68
Verandah B, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Affy68 Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted you enjoyed the food and service. We do agree that the furniture does need updating. We are in the process of updating the restaurant where we can and the chairs...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We dined hear some 3 years ago and the food was excellent. Unfortunately, we did not have the same experience last week. The Szechuan calamari was soggy and luke warm . Some serves with way too much pepper on them and some with no pepper,...More

Thank 137henrikc
mpsasstmgr, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Henrikc We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your dining experience this time round. We take all feedback on board to impove our service. We just hoped that you would have mentioned something while you were dining so we could have compensated with fresh...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a great tapas selection with friends. Unrushed, chilled, courteous and friendly waiting staff. Sitting, chatting and enjoying the sublime vibe of this gem.

Thank PeterTWSW
mpsasstmgr, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Peter Thank you for your amazing review. We are thrilled you enjoyed dining at Verandah. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Verandah Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have dined here on many special occasions. You'll never be let down absolutely the best tapas ever. Service is 10/10. Can't wait to go back next time we visit.

Thank Nicky G
mpsasstmgr, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Nicky We were honoured to have you spend such a special occasion with us!! Congratulations again on an amazing mile stone. Regards Verandah Management

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful outlook from the top veranda over a small dam. Delicious tapas with a good selection on the menu. Calamari was a huge portion and quite delicious. Scallops were small and a little disappointing! Risotto balls were moorish would have happily eaten another one!! Loved...More

Thank Gletwyn
mpsasstmgr, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Gletwyn Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are glad you found our food delicious. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy the scallops. We look forward to you visiting us again. Kind regards Verandah Management

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Happy to say that the change of ownership hasn’t affected the quality of food or service here. Each dish was utterly delicious & our waiter was super friendly and efficient. Would happily recommend!

Thank Jacielee
mpsasstmgr, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for taking time to review the restaurant. We are glad that you have continued to enjoy the food and service we have an offer. We look forward to seeing you when you dine again. Kind regards Verandah management

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Booked this restaurant based on TripAdvisor reviews. We sat outside on the verandah and had magnificent views across the vineyards. Casey, our waitress was friendly and helpful, we chose 6 tapas to share with our group of friends. Each selection had enough for the 6...More

Thank Lynette S
mpsasstmgr, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Lynette Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate your allergy. We do try and cater for all dietary requirements. We glad you enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Food was nice it is a tapas style menu. Highly recommend the Soufflé . Staff were friendly. Lovely view and the Sunset was amazing from the verandah 🌅

Thank Melinda N
mpsasstmgr, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Melinda It sounds like you had a fabulous time dining at the verandah restaurant!! We're glad you were able to enjoy the sunset. Thank you for taking time to review the verandah. Kind regards Verandah Management

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

I have been here twice now and both times have loved the food and happy service. I had the gf tapas options and shared with my partner. They catered very well with lots of gf options. My daughter found good food on the kids menu....More

Thank AliGlutenFree
mpsasstmgr, Manager at Verandah Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Aliglutenfree Thank you for taking time to review the restaurant. We pride our menu on offering a wide range of meals catering for a vast ray of dietary requirements. We are always happy to create meals suitable to our customers needs. Regards Verandah Management

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Muse Restaurant
1,035 reviews
2.54 km away
The Legends Grill
337 reviews
1.95 km away
Ogishi Art Chocolate
5 reviews
1.91 km away
Circa 1876 Restaurant
472 reviews
2.80 km away
Nearby Attractions
Waverley Estate
200 reviews
.58 km away
Calais Estate
108 reviews
.01 km away
Moorebank Vineyard
74 reviews
.47 km away
First Creek Wines
79 reviews
1.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Selina C
5 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from TrekCarrie | Reviewed this property |
I choose to stay on a no carb eating plan and I found heaps of veggie options - the veg was really amazing especially the pumpkin dish and also the innovatively prepared Brussel sprouts) and my husband really loved the... More
1
Vote
arnie007
31 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from chamboNsw | Reviewed this property |
Only guidedogs are allowed on the verandah. But they have grounds around where you could tie your dog to a tree
0
Votes
MikeStry
24 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Travelwise49 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry can not answer. But nowhere can open before 1 pm. And with the recent weather in the area maybe they are not open.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 151 Palmers Lane, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Pokolbin
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4998 7231
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing