We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Picnic Point Toowoomba

164 Tourist Rd, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
+61 7 4631 5100
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good41%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (14 reviews)
“barramundi” (5 reviews)
“poached eggs” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
164 Tourist Rd, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We have visited this cafe numerous times in our 2 1/2 yrs in Toowoomba. I rang and booked a table by the windows yesterday. When we arrived today there had been a mix-up with the booking. But, nothing was a problem for any of the...More

Thank hartshornsmith
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've had several brunches here, but the most recent visit was with out-of-town friends for lunch. Aside from someone having put my booking on the wrong day, the experience was good, and the mis-booking was quickly corrected. We had a table by the window, as...More

Thank Susanne_Bellamy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well to say we are disappointed would be an understatement. $60 for breakfast and the only thing edible was the toast(only on one meal as the egg water drenched the other pieces). Staff didn’t seem to mind that our whole table didn’t eat or meals....More

Thank sophm87
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited here at least 4 times over the space of 2 weeks, having lunch here on all occasions. On every occasion we had a great lunch and were not disappointed. The first thing that greets you is the spectacular view from a beautiful garden...More

2  Thank Glentc
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We got a cheese plate for two and a couple of glasses of wine and sat outdoors to enjoy the view. What a decadent way to spend a Friday afternoon. Just delightful!

Thank Liz T
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Lovely spot for a restaurant, beautiful views. Food was good and service was good. Only thing I would say bad about the place is that you have to go to the counter to order your meals and drinks.

Thank 881HappyTraveller
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We had a pretty good night the food was above average but not great the most disappointing thing was they keep any of the bar tab not used although we only found out 20 minutes before they turned of the bar off and we put...More

Thank davidendres01
PicPoint, Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

David , we have no idea what you are talking about. If you had a pre paid TAB and didn't use it we would most certainly refund the difference. Please contact our office if you have any queries. The Management Team

Reviewed 22 October 2017

We have been to the Carnival of Flowers three times, and we always call in at this cafe on the way back to Brisbane. Every time we go there, we regret it. The first year, I had a flat white which was so hot it...More

Thank yukaqld
PicPoint, Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Hi Yukaqld We noticed that you have been unhappy 3 times and yet failed to bring it to our attention on any of your visits at the time. Upon receipt of your Trip Advisor review I gathered the whole team together to discuss the content...More

Reviewed 21 October 2017

Went here first when we arrived at Toowoomba. The spot is perfect beautiful views. Just wanted a light snack so ordered a sandwich. To be honest it wasn't great and very overpriced. Maybe the other food is better.

Thank Annette M
Reviewed 5 October 2017

With Picnic Point known as one of the "go to places" at Carnival of Flowers for visitors, was very disappointed to encourage visitors to enjoy Violet and Wattle Seed ice cream (a speciality to the cafe) but mid afternoon service was very poor. One attendant...More

Thank 54Barb2013
PicPoint, General Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi 54Barb2013, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us. Picnic Point always make it a point to deliver foods and services as best we can, but unfortunately sometimes things can go wrong. We value customer feedback on how...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Piccolo Papa
134 reviews
1.15 km away
Thai on High Street
150 reviews
1.16 km away
Aromas Cafe Toowoomba
103 reviews
1.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Queens Park
449 reviews
3.37 km away
Cobb+Co Museum
429 reviews
3.45 km away
Picnic Point
363 reviews
.04 km away
Empire Theatre
133 reviews
3.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ian A
1 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PicPoint | Property representative |
Hi Ian, Thanks for coming to Picnic Point, and while we do appreciate your feedback there are a couple of points in your review that are not correct we thought you might like to know. We use premium Tasmanian salmon as... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$27
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 5:00 AM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 5:00 AM
Friday
8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 164 Tourist Rd, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Toowoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4631 5100
  • E-mail
Description
Fully licensed Cafe perched on the Edge of The Great Dividing Range in Toowoomba. Picnic Point is Toowoomba's most visited iconic tourist location. We offer efficient counter service by day, seven days a week. Enjoy morning tea, an ice cream and or a full meal.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing