We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Java Spice

14 Beveridge, Swan Hill, Victoria 3585, Australia
+61 3 5033 0511
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“thai food” (10 reviews)
“curry puffs” (7 reviews)
“roti bread” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Thai, Indonesian, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
14 Beveridge, Swan Hill, Victoria 3585, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great atmosphere. Would be lovely to sit outside in summer. Food was fresh and authentic. Staff were unobtrusive and did their task well. worth a visit.

Thank Jan M
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks for taking the time to review Java Spice. We appreciate your feedback & are glad you enjoyed your experience.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had dinner here on Saturday night,the service was very good. The food was nicely spiced,with a great flavour,unlike Neal Perrys spice temple blows your head of with chilli,not nice. We had Balinese sate kambimg,Thai & Kari ayam Bali. If you are up in sawn...More

Thank Wendy G
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Wendy G. Thanks for the visit & kind words. Glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Java Spice. Hope we see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was very impressed with the décor of the restaurant; puts city establishments to shame. If it is warm, try to get an outdoor table, you will think you are overseas. The food was good but not great. I am sure it is difficult to...More

Thank Tracy H
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tracy H. Thanks for taking the time to Review Java Spice. Please note that the dishes have a chilli rating & we mention that by alerting the waiter we can cater for any spice range on most dishes. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Loved the set up and atmosphere, would be nice to eat outdoors during a warmer time of year. Waitress was fairly curt and unfriendly but she got the job done! Order was taken quickly and food arrived in a short time despite the fact that...More

Thank Nairina
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thanks for you review & glad you enjoyed dining at Java Spice. Pretty stressful night with Races in town on Friday. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Have visited several years in a row. Standard remains high. Food beautiful, fresh and tasty. Staff friendly and helpful. Had an error with bill but this was dealt with efficiently and quickly.

Thank Marlene K
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

It was ok. Staff were attentive and accurate. But the food lacked a lot of spice and heat. Orange Squid a Chef special..no orange flavour. Duck dishes, great amount of duck, but lacking that true fish sauce, sweet and sour balance, plus where was the...More

Thank Rossdco
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

So sad us country folk could not satisfy your superior big city tastes! Sorry to shoot you down, but so many of your city counterparts commend Java Spice on the spectacular flavours found here. Imported Javanase buildings hence the name "Java Spice". Thai cuisine along...More

Reviewed 6 May 2017

Excellent flavours and good portion size. Service a little slow but there was a big party at the table next to us.

Thank OZ-LV
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thanks for dining at Java Spice. Sorry the service was slow. I'm guessing we were a chef down that night. We will investigate. Glad you enjoyed the food. Hope to see you again sometime soon. Cheers

Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting Swan Hill on our return to Adelaide and chose this restaurant based on the ratings on Trip Advisor. Our experience was a very favourable one. We loved the feeling of stepping into a little bit of Thailand when we...More

Thank Julie W
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Glad to hear you enjoyed Java Spice. Hope to see you again sometime soon. Cheers

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We visited here for dinner over the Easter long weekend. We love spicy Thai/ Asian/ Indian foods and they are our preferred cuisine when dining in Melbourne, so we were looking forward to this very much. The restaurant was very busy but we dined late,...More

1  Thank Zilhills
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Sad to hear you did not enjoy. Seems out of character for us. Can assure you we NEVER use a microwave to heat up food. All curries & stir frys are cooked fresh. We pride ourselves on this. 2 out of 5 a bit rough...More

Reviewed 14 April 2017

Two of us were up here for work and thoroughly enjoyed our dinner here. it was recommended as the place to eat by all the people we worked with and we could see why. Lovely food, efficient and friendly service and great ambience. I would...More

Thank BendigoRobin
Peter M, Owner at Java Spice, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Glad you enjoyed your dining experience. Please come again. Thanks for the positive feedback. I will pass it on to all staff. Cheers

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Boo's Place cafe & provedore
93 reviews
.69 km away
Niko Niko
94 reviews
.50 km away
Swan Hill Club
100 reviews
.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pioneer Settlement
353 reviews
1.52 km away
Big4 riverside
22 reviews
1.31 km away
Swan Hill Visitor Information Centre
6 reviews
.71 km away
Riverside Park
6 reviews
.94 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
edm430
3 June 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from PhilT292014 | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is an indoor room would hold about 20 to 30 people.
0
Votes
edm430
3 June 2015|
Answer
Response from JavaSpiceSwanHill | Property representative |
We have Balinese Thatched Huts that hold up to 14 ppl, a function room than can hold up to 35 & the main room can cater for around 55. Cheers
0
Votes
stsc
22 May 2015|
Answer
Response from JavaSpiceSwanHill | Property representative |
Hi there. We are only 10mins from the local airport but are you talking about Melbourne Airport? If so, realise that we are 3.5 hours from Melbourne. Swan Hill is located on the border of NSW on the Murray river. There is a... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$31
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:30
Thursday
10:00 - 23:30
Friday
10:00 - 23:30
Saturday
10:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 14 Beveridge, Swan Hill, Victoria 3585, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Swan Hill
  • Phone Number: +61 3 5033 0511
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing