We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar

8 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-546 4421
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good23%
  • Average10%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (126 reviews)
“tiramisu” (7 reviews)
Opens in 7 min
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My friend and I had a lovely diner here! Pizza was good. Wine was good and the lady who works there was very friendly. And gave some tips for our next day in Nelson as wel!!

Thank Marielle B
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review Marielle. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Nelson and that you visit us again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wood fired pizza, local craft beer and the beach around the corner. Trust me, it's a good match. I enjoyed my visit so much I went back the following night for more. I had a traditional Italian pizza the first night which was probably the...More

Thank Darren R
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Our pleasure and thank you for your kind review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We turned up Easter Sunday when not much else was open and while Kerri and Tyler were rushed off their feet, they were cheerful, upbeat and were operating like an A Team. I heard several customers compliment the food and service as they paid the...More

Thank missliz2015
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm really proud of our hard-working team. Your review means such a lot to them and we're delighted you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We had a large Southern Man pizza (upgraded from a small after seeing the box size!) and a bowl of mussels. The pizza was not as spicey as anticipated but the mussels were excellant. Good local draught beer available at normal restaurant prices and very...More

Thank Tony M
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Hi Tony. We appreciate your review and hope we see you back soon.

Reviewed 11 March 2018

Sorry to say the takeaway large pizza we paid $32 dollars for was tiny and tasteless with very little topping. I would advise not to order a pizza from this place.More

Thank Jenn S
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

We are really at a loss to understand your comments as we endeavour to provide a consistent top quality product. For $31.50 you would have purchased a half and half 12" gourmet pizza. Had you returned to show us and discuss your disapproval we would...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

On Thursday of last week we were staying in Nelson overnight because of hospital appointments on Thursday and Friday. We stayed at a really nice motel at Tahuna. We decided to get a pizza for dinner. We were very disappointed when we opened the box....More

Thank Felicity F
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

We're sorry to learn you were not happy with your takeaway meal. It was unfortunate that your fries were ready before the pizza you ordered and yes they were placed on a clean tea towel on top of our espresso machine where they would have...More

Reviewed 5 March 2018

As we were staying in the area, we were not sure what to get for dinner. We wanted something quick (and hopefully delicious) as we had been running around all day, so decided on Hot Rocks in Tahuna Beach for a pizza as it was...More

Thank foodlover27264
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

We're sorry to learn you were not totally satisfied with your meal as we marinate our lamb to ensure it is tender. I will discuss your review with our Head Chef and ask him to undertake a review of our portioning to ensure it is...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018

A very personable service from one of the owners and the quality and flavours of the local seafood was to die for. Enormous mussels with tastes that had me wanting more. Just couldn't fit it. And learned about just the right drop of local brewed...More

Thank Vincent B
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

We appreciate your review Vincent and we hope to see you back soon.

Reviewed 2 March 2018

Bought takeaway pizza, salad and wedges. Pizza was tasty but the salad ($7) and wedges ($9) were over priced. Definitely not good value for money. of the salad and wedges was

Thank Cumbers
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We both tried a salad but partner had difficulty finding the chicken in hers and both salads looked as if they had been dead for some time. Others appeared to be enjoying their pizzas but no-one enjoyed the road noise on a hot night with...More

Thank c00kn
Ray W, Owner at The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for your review, however, I do wish you had been honest with me when asked how your meal (salad) was to which you replied great! If you felt there wasn't enough chicken then that would have been very easy to put right there...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 hotels in Nelson
Aloha Lodge
252 reviews
.10 km away
The Beachcomber
8 reviews
.15 km away
Apex Motor Lodge
18 reviews
.21 km away
Ocean Lodge
4 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Restaurants
My Thai Restaurant
16 reviews
.09 km away
Beach Cafe & Bar
5 reviews
.46 km away
Raglan Roast
13 reviews
.16 km away
Smugglers Pub and Cafe
557 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tahunanui Beach
188 reviews
.31 km away
Natureland Zoo
126 reviews
.44 km away
Bay Tours Nelson
240 reviews
.56 km away
Pro Karts
155 reviews
.56 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Hot Rock Gourmet Pizza Pasta Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$21
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
4:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
4:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
4:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
4:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
4:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
4:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-546 4421
  • E-mail
Description
Welcome to the home of award-winning gourmet pizza in Nelson. Excite your tastebuds with our special wood-fired pizzas, be entertained by our lively atmosphere and treat yourself to a great night at The Hot Rock! Perfect for sharing with friends, or the whole family - we look forward to hosting you...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing