We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceano

$$ - $$$, Seafood, European
27 Nile Street West | Trafalgar Square, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64 3-548 2299
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good42%
  • Average15%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“salad” (4 reviews)
“lamb” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Seafood, European
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Nile Street West | Trafalgar Square, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an evening meal about 6pm, I thought service was a little slow considering there was only a few tables occupied. The meal I ordered was OK, I enjoyed the fresh vegetables, but the meat portion was a little dry and overcooked for my palate,...More

Thank markshepherd2014
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Oceano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear markshepherd2014, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am disappointed to learn that your experience wasn't up to our usual standards for some parts of your meal. Your comments have been passed on to our teams and I am...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The seafood chowder tasted good but not great, the shrimp needed to be peeled and the broth was lacking mussel jus, too much cream. The accompanying toast was only cooked in one side. The scallop dumplings were tasteless! The pate tasted good, but had been...More

1  Thank classicchch
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Oceano, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear classicchch, thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Naturally I am disappointed to learn that your experience wasn't up to our usual standards. We frequently receive very positive feedback about our food presentation and flavours. However I have passed on...More

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

A party of 7 decided to celebrate New Years with a meal at what we were hoping to be a great restaurant in central Nelson, as it's in our beautiful Rutherford hotel we presumed it would a fancy way to see in the new year......More

3  Thank Vicki R
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Oceano, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Vicki R, thank you for your feedback. Naturally we are disappointed to hear that your evening was not an enjoyable one. I can assure you that this is not our usual standard as most of our guests comment positively on food and service. I...More

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

We‘ve enjoyed a great Christmas dinner at the Heritage Hotel Rutherford in Nelson. The service has been attentive and friendly. The food has been savoury (mostly a buffet) and to our liking. Top were the salads and the Triffle as dessert. The selection of drinks...More

Thank BURGWIN
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Oceano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear BURGWIN, thank you very much for choosing to dine with us on Christmas Day and for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our traditional "Kiwi-Christmas" Dinner buffet. I will gladly share your comments with...More

Reviewed 25 October 2017

Our party of four enjoyed dinner in The Oceano Restaurant. The food and service from the very friendly staff was first class. My lamb was perhaps the best I have ever tasted and my wife enjoyed her salmon. Just two small points. My son in...More

Thank silverhead2016
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Oceano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear silverhead2016, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. At the same time I am sorry to hear that some of your meals have not been to...More

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We only had breakfast here on a tour but the selection was very good, everywhere clean and sparkling, and staff friendly and approachableMore

Thank Linda S
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Oceano, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Linda S, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your experience with us. I will gladly share your comments among the team. We hope to welcome you back again...More

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Was here with a group on a Sunday night and we were staying in the hotel so decided to eat in. Was surprised we were the only ones here. However, the service was superb, very knowledgable a dn friendly staff. All of us had differnet...More

Thank Rob S
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I attended Oceano Restaurant for family occasions. There was quite a large group of us. The restaurant is spacious, so it looked like a good choice for so many people. The food is expensive, so we expect it to be very good. I chose the...More

1  Thank TirelessWorker
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Amazing food. A great menu with something for everyone. This is a formal restaurant, yet with a friendly and casual approach. Good wine list and willing staff.More

Thank nigeltrewhitt
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Oceano, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear nigeltrewhitt, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at Oceano Panorama Restaurant. Much thought has gone into selected predominately local ingredients for our chefs to prepare....More

Reviewed 7 August 2016

Rushed service, lack of knowledge of wine and menu. Very over priced for seafood that was not fresh. Presentation left a lot to be desired, we sat at a table that was not secured properly. We decided to leave before the main which we cancelled...More

2  Thank gandgbohm
AlexanderSiebentritt, Manager at Oceano, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear gandgbohm, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your review. I am sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your evening. We do believe that our prices are set to reflect the quality of food and we...More

PreviousNext
1234
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 42 hotels in Nelson
Rutherford Hotel Nelson
415 reviews
.04 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
573 reviews
.15 km away
Lynton Lodge Motel
2 reviews
.23 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
693 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hopgoods
1,082 reviews
.18 km away
Cod & Lobster Brasserie
605 reviews
.16 km away
East Street Vegetarian Cafe and Bar
273 reviews
.14 km away
FORD'S Restaurant & Bar
814 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson Saturday Market
268 reviews
.33 km away
Christ Church Cathedral
258 reviews
.13 km away
Nelson Provincial Museum
122 reviews
.21 km away
Nelson Farmers' Market
30 reviews
.30 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Oceano staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
New Zealand, Seafood, European
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Nile Street West | Trafalgar Square, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-548 2299
  • This restaurant is at Rutherford Hotel Nelson
Description
Whether you're looking to fuel up with a delicious breakfast at our Oceano Restaurant or wanting to quench your thirst at the Port o' Call Bar after a big day exploring New Zealand's sunshine capital, we'll have something to suit your needs. For dinner Rutherford Hotel Nelson has two highly regarded restaurants onsite, with Oceano offering an a la carte dinner menu, and Miyazu serving Japanese cuisine created using the freshest New Zealand produce. Before heading out for the day enjoy a relaxed breakfast soaking up the early morning sun at Oceano Restaurant. For evening dining, Oceano truly captures the essence of Nelson offering the freshest produce cooked to perfection, when in season select a crayfish from our live tank and have it cooked to your liking, the theatre kitchen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing