We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pernel Kitchen

$$ - $$$Cafe,
1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
+64 6-878 3383
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good31%
  • Average11%
  • Poor16%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (2 reviews)
“ice cream” (5 reviews)
“gift shop” (3 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 15:30All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, New Zealand
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a second lunch of the day here, outside under the umbrellas in this popular semi-rural eatery. Formerly Pernels, now it is branded Serendipity. We both chose GF dishes from the cabinet - she, a salmon roulade and I had an excellent frittata of...More

Thank Local_Diner840
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

This is now the new Serendipity cafe - it still offers the same quality food and service with much better surroundings! Worth a visit!

Thank MrsDock
Reviewed 26 October 2016

This place was so nice but unfortunately, it has shut down. It had really good ice creams made with fresh picked berries.

Thank Sarah_Star19
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

I found the food here average. Not well presented. Service was not great. However the prices were reasonable. I went with my family and none of us have chosen to return to eat here.

Thank Josie G
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Lovely food at great price. Easy parking and wide choice of seating inside or out. An interest place as you can visit their gift shop, have lunch and finish off with fresh fruit icecream

Thank Bern476
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

This is a fabulous spot - a great cafe style restaurant situated on an orchard, tractor orchard tours ( popular with cruises and school/ preschool visits), gift shop, fruit and veg shop and real fruit ice creams (really popular in summer) all set on an...More

Thank Wendy G
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We came in for lunch for mothers day, about 14 of us, we waited a long time for drinks and a long time for food orders to be taken...but being busy we were happy to wait, just would have been nice for some one to...More

Thank Jaydee273
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Found the atmosphere very cold in winter months especially if taking an elderly person for lunch. Food good, service slow, good tourist shop, and fruit to buyMore

Thank Bernadette M
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Its really disappointing that you have posted a review relating to an experience in October 15. So much has changed since then..... We have an outstanding Chef who cooks all his food to order. We now have table service, tailored to the customer so that...More

Reviewed 6 March 2016 via mobile

How difficult is it to make breakfast ? The answer it would seem is very. I had the All day breakfast , the sausages were poor quality and deep fried , my eggs were over cooked on the bottom and a transparent filmy layer on...More

Thank Bbqboy007
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Thank you for your feedback. With a very committed Head Chef and very experienced Front of House Manager complaints are very rare these days. We are disappointed that you didn't give us a chance to fix anything you were unhappy with on the day. We...More

Reviewed 25 February 2016

This little cafe, adjacent to their fruit + various and sundries shop is a good little spot to enjoy a light brekkie and a morning coffee while perusing the nation's NZ Herald, DomPost or Hawke's Bay Today.

Thank HaljoHal
Pernel2013, Public Relations Manager at Pernel Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2016

Thanks for visiting us and taking the time to post a review.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ten Twenty Four
279 reviews
.52 km away
Serendipity Cafe
8 reviews
.00 km away
Ten Twenty Four Nz
18 reviews
.58 km away
Youldes Neighbourhood Bar & Restaurant
6 reviews
1.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hawkes Bay Farmers Market
171 reviews
1.72 km away
Askerne Vineyards
36 reviews
5.91 km away
Splash Planet
274 reviews
3.23 km away
Pekapeka Wetlands
26 reviews
2.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Pernel Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$14
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Reservations, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 15:30
20:30 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1412 Pakowhai Road, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +64 6-878 3383
Description
Pernel Kitchen is set amidst a working orchard where high quality produce is lovingly grown. The Chef seeks inspiration from his surroundings and produces affordable, unfussy, beautifully presented cafe style food truly bursting with flavour. Our own produce as well as those of other local growers is showcased in his dishes. Pernel Kitchen has indoor and outdoor seating (with shade in summer) as well as a small children's playground including beanbags and teepees. Menus change regularly to reflect seasonal produce. Private functions and out-catering are also welcome. Our experienced staff are able to work closely with you to exceed your expectations. Tours of our orchard are available (bookings required) which give a fun and informative trip aboard our apple wagon towed by a vintage Fergie tractor. The curiosity of all ages will be ignited when you follow the journey from seed to store. Fruit ice creams, fresh fruit and vegetables, local artisan products are all available at our Fresh Produce Shop on site. Souviners and Gifts are available in our Gift Shop.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing