We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rooster

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
+61 2 4782 1206
Website
Today
09:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

340 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 329: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a great find!! We stopped in with a friend from overseas and were so impressed with the food and value for money. We had two courses for $35 plus a couple of glasses of wine, the food was absolutely delicious and the interior was nostalgic and adorable. I can't wait to go back again

Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came highly recommended and we were disappointed. Expensive, small portions, tough beef shank and nothing special

Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
jamisonhouse, Owner at The Rooster, responded to this review

Dear Anthony F I'm very sorry that the meal you had fell below expectation. We did have a simular issue on Sunday with the steak not being up to standard. Similarly I have passed on your comment in relation to the size of the portions which again is not normally an issue. It seems you "drew the short straw "... More 

Kootenay Rockies, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was pleasant, a bit cold in the atmosphere, and the food came so fast, it was if they wanted us out soon. Unfortunately, there was hair in my dish and the server did nothing but apologize. As it appeared she was going to do nothing, worked around it. My wife had the Coq o vin which was a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carnarvon50
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
890 reviews
509 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect views over the Valley on a sunny day seated at the window we chose from the 2 Course Menu ($35 quite expensive) having Entrees & Mains. Naturally the offerings were limited. The Grilled Vegetables & Caesar Salad were a good size serving as entrees. The Steak Meal tended to be on the tough side needing to be cut in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clio H
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

kids had traditional lemon and sugar crepes. parents had omelettes. coffee and all dishes were great. service maybe a little slow but it was raining outside so hanging out in nice old restaurant with good food and coffee was fine

Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This restaurant has really lovely food, in very pleasant surroundings. They have most dishes available in an entree and main course size, which covers all appetites. Because of this we decided to share several entrees between us which was a great way to try a number of dishes. All were delicious. We then all chose to have the entree size... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
Winmalee, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Lovely food and fantastic service. Views of the Jamison Valley. We had.the beef shank and smoked trout salad. Both were very good. I don't know much about wine and our waiter made suggestions based on my sweet taste and even brought to samples to the table to taste. Both good choices. I would not have had a wine with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank HJD52
Orange, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017

Lunch was great. We had 3 course lunch menu ($45). The choices for this option were more limited than the a la carte menu but still a good selection of delicious well crafted food. Service was good I'm told the view is also good but we had a rainiy misty day. Most enjoyable and highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank le0nie185
Greendale, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2017

My husband and I didn't actually eat here, but we want to recognize Monique, the owner for her kindness. After a day of hiking in the Blue Mountains, we were a little lost and very tired. Monique started to give us directions, but then decided to just take us to where we needed to be! What a Godsend she was... More 

Helpful?
Thank gneeaugi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for delicious French food in a quaint ambient environment, then The Rooster is for you. The menu choices were varied but there are limited options for vegetarians. I can highly recommend the duck and for dessert the lemon tart with a side of coconut ice cream. My husband loved the grilled vegetables. The wine is on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bu_Gede

Travellers who viewed The Rooster also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Rooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$19 - US$50
Cuisine
French, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Parking Available, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
09:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 22:00
Thursday
09:00 - 22:00
Friday
09:00 - 22:00
Saturday
09:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 48 Merriwa St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Blue Mountains  >  Katoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4782 1206
Description
Quality traditional french cuisine reasonably priced, wonderful location and ambiance with spectacular views of the jamison valley. Bar, extensive reasonably priced wine list, byo wine outside dining, beautifully restored edwardian building built 1895 guest house with four luxury guestrooms, dessert of the week. Musicians play 6 nights per week and on long weekends

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rooster and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Rooster staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?