We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
+351 289 396 512
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good31%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (19 reviews)
“tiger prawns” (29 reviews)
“dover sole” (13 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Portuguese, International, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
$$ - $$$
Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,072)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 958 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The food was average, but the reason I'm rating it so badly is just the lack of effort from staff, I admit it was very busy when I was there but we sat there for half an hour before we were asked for drinks the...More

Thank CharlieChilcott
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded today

Fortunately we are not paying you to come back and especially from your attitude at the time , you aren't welcome back anyway.The sooner that a brexit pound stops a certain element of chav heading to the Algarve the better for us all here ....More

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Great view and sunset! We had amêijoas à bulhao pato and also caipirinha as a drink! We loved it! Great atmosphere and music. Fast service. A lot of Brits

Thank APC201
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Stunning setting overlooking the beach, with amazing sunsets. Very good food and drinks, perfect environment for families, friends, couples and even solo. Live music is always a good standard and the service is excellent, as is the food! An easy walk along the beach from...More

Thank Paul H
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Lunchtime at Ancao and I wanted a decent meal. I was going to a restaurant but it was closed. So I kept walking till I came to a group of restaurants. Júlia's had that beach vibe that I also wanted. The menu was interesting and...More

Thank Tiago Almeida Silva
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We booked a table here and while the food was good, it was all so rushed and the staff so busy we didn't really enjoy the experience. It was impossible to catch anyone's eye if you needed anything. We didn't go back because of this....More

Thank valcap18
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

A busy restaurant indeed and that is probably for a reason. Employing 30 full time staff which goes up to 60 in high season. Had the food been slow I'm sure we would have still heard of a "social media" review While we serve over...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Not sure I would bother really. Maria's nearby much nicer. Quite pricey but venue bit shabby, dirty loos always a dodgy sign. Limited menu including for children but high prices. Nice outlook and staff friendly enough.More

Thank londonent
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

The loos are probably the most modern at a beach restaurant anywhere around here. 4 for clients and just general public too Maintained by us and spoiled by people like you. Not sure what restaurant you were really at because if you thought the restaurant...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Fantastically wide selection of food. Fish dish was excellent. Very good portion size. Amazing views. Great service and very child friendly. Definitely returning.

Thank Arran F
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Am fan of this restaurant and the lower seating area for a sundowner drink. It's a favourite meeting place for a lot of tourists that spend their annual holidays in the area. During the previous week we had stopped off on the upper seating area...More

Thank Biztraveller947
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you or your comments The area of julias that you decided to drink/ dine in is an overflow area for the main restaurant where over 300 people were dining aside from the beach bar area. Rather than having staff sitting around for one table...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had heard so much about the place. Really friendly staff and good wine (if you went up the price scale). Only let down was the food (well that's what you go for!). Had the Tiger Prawns in chilli sauce, three prawns (they are big), but...More

Thank Duncan M
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments albeit quite funny in respect of your thoughts on how we produce a sauce unchanged over many many years and always made daily in house and not as stated by yourself. Had you mentioned your issue with the prawns at...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bad organized, we had a reservation but we waited for more than 2 hours until we were served, and other tables after us were served before us. Food good and tasty.

Thank Alfredo C
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Not bad organized at all. Yes it was slow but in respect of people arriving after you and being served before , if you order grilled cuisine, it takes time unlike salads. Apologies for a poor timing again

Nearby Restaurants
424 reviews
1.47 km away
Montys Restaurant Bar
261 reviews
1.46 km away
La Terrazza
116 reviews
1.48 km away
119 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Vale do Lobo
173 reviews
1.50 km away
San Lorenzo Golf Course
280 reviews
3.11 km away
7 reviews
2.01 km away
Laranjal Golf Course
132 reviews
5.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
2 August 2017|
Response from juliasalgarve | Property representative |
Antable booked days in advance was in a line of tables booked weeks if not months in advance. If you decide to take your opinion on some virtual media platform, I have the right to reply as if there is ever a situation to... More
12 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from juliasalgarve | Property representative |
The restaurant is and has always been geared for families and children. Whether dining in the lounge ,restaurant or beach bar your children will be fine. There is an extensive menu for all and a children's menu too
22 August 2015|
Response from juliasalgarve | Property representative |
Hi there We are 29-25 minutes walk up the beach heading east from the Dona Filipa
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$14 - US$35
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
10:00 - 23:30
10:00 - 23:00
10:00 - 23:30
10:00 - 23:30
10:00 - 23:30
10:00 - 23:30
10:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Praia Do Garrao Nascente, Almancil 8135, Portugal
  • Location: Europe  >  Portugal  >  Algarve  >  Faro District  >  Almancil
  • Phone Number: +351 289 396 512
  • E-mail
Julia's restaurant,beach barand lounge. The original beach restaurant. Beware of imitations.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing