We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gardeners Arms

Selsfield Road | Ardingly, Ardingly RH17 6TJ, England
+44 1444 892328
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (33 reviews)
“pea fritters” (5 reviews)
“sunday roast” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Selsfield Road | Ardingly, Ardingly RH17 6TJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned here with a party of 7 for dinner which was simply superb. Great service, great atmosphere and very helpful staff. Our starters were quickly produced and the mains were all a delight. The desserts were huge and delicious. A wonderful evening.More

Thank ChrisB090
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice looking pub with plenty of parking space and well patronised. I stayed locally and went to this one for a quick meal before checking in to the Inn I was staying. First disappointment after ordering a nice pint of IPA was that orders for...More

Thank Kaboskabouter
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Impromptu unbooked visit - but they managed to find us a table, welcomed the dogs. Ordered Roast dinners (Easter Sunday - and the winning part - the vegetable portions were proper and mixed variety. Delicious - and the horse radish sauce had a fair bit...More

Thank Mark B
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed visiting us. We hope you can visit again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Three roast beef meals were of mean amounts of poor quality beef served with veg that was not hot on just about room temperature plates where the added gravy had begun to congeal. Seems we were unlucky arriving late in the day. A disappointing experience...More

Thank barryrog
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As other reviewers have written, on the surface this looks like a charming English pub . nice fire going ... candles on tables .... pleasant waiter to take our order. But the FOOD!! Awful awful awful ..... dry, overcooked burgers without flavour of any kind....More

Thank headteacher10
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Please accept our apologies for giving you cause to post this review on Trip Advisor. We’d really like the chance to look into this matter further. We’d be very grateful if you could copy and paste your review, together with the Public House name and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rang on the day and had a very polite accommodating response. The bar area and restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and the staff could not be more friendly snd welcoming. The roast was excellent, all fresh tasting and nicely prepared. A really lovely experience and...More

Thank Helen C
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and thanks for your great feedback. I am so pleased you had a nice time and I look forward to sharing your review with the team. We look forward to seeing you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for an early evening drink with the idea of having a meal. Dog friendly. The pub itself is charming, clean and roomy. We sat by a log fire in comfy armchairs and got chatting with a friendly local. Everything perfect until it...More

Thank sue j
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We really appreciate your feedback; thank you for taking the trouble to post your review. We have taken your comments on board and do hope you will visit us again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hi Four of us, two couples (OAP’s) enjoyed a great lunch at the Gardener’s Arms last week. Excellent service, good menu, with the day’s specials on a blackboard. Fine and well cooked food, and not too expensive. Good value for money in fact. They do...More

Thank colinjohnsonipad
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased we delivered great hospitality and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Popped in on a friday for a spot of lunch as in the area with my wife. Good food, Good Friendly Service, Reasonably priced. Overall - very nice pub/restaurant and could not fault it.

Thank Jonathan B
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 12 March 2018

Excellent varied menu, lots of board specials. One of our party chose the cottage pie and was disappointed to find solid lumps of chewy beef rather than the expected mince. Reported to kitchen and apology made. Should have been stated on the menu. Venison terrine...More

Thank Geoff T
Hall W, Manager at The Gardeners Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Ardingly Hotels
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
753 reviews
3.82 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
2,350 reviews
5.51 km away
Europa Gatwick Hotel
2,984 reviews
6.56 km away
Ockenden Manor Hotel & Spa
827 reviews
7.23 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Peking Chef
19 reviews
1.33 km away
Stables Restaurant
7 reviews
.85 km away
The Oak Inn at Ardingly
27 reviews
1.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Ardingly Reservoir
14 reviews
2.20 km away
Priest House
30 reviews
2.86 km away
Tulleys Farm
1,354 reviews
5.04 km away
The Stand Up Inn
24 reviews
5.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gwladys89
22 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from FelbridgeFilly | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, but I really have no idea - give them a ring!
1
Vote
Karen T
22 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from nottmmike | Reviewed this property |
Sorry about the delayed response - l've only just seen your question. It's a very old building and in places narrow, with slightly uneven floors or steps. Therefore l can't guarantee that it would have what you require, but... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$35
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Selsfield Road | Ardingly, Ardingly RH17 6TJ, England (Formerly Gardeners Arms Bar & Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Ardingly
  • Phone Number: +44 1444 892328
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing