We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Little Bistro

33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
+64 3-304 7314
Website
Save
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (158)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good20%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lamb” (59 reviews)
“scallops” (46 reviews)
“sole” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
French, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: The Little Bistro
1. A little piece of France in NZ
"The staff are friendly and helpful. The food was excellent! "
andyrabey
See reviews that mention A little piece of France in NZ
2. Great vibe, great food!
"This was such a cute spot for a reasonably priced dinner."
Lpackman18
See reviews that mention Great vibe, great food!
3. Making Love to Chocolate
" I found myself getting intimately involved "
Elizabeth G
See reviews that mention Making Love to Chocolate
Write a ReviewReviews (795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Our only night in Akaroa and we chose this delightful restaurant for our evening meal. Although a little cramped, the meal was outstanding and service superb. The location on the roadside was great for people watching and had a lovely view over the common and...More

Thank Dancca2011
TLB_Akaroa, Manager at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Dancca2011, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you had a wonderful time at our wee bistro. We hope to see you again when you come back to Akaroa! Regards, Mai

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Every course we had was 5* clams in sauce delicious. .whole sole yummm..bread the wine ...superb. ..friendly staff ....only downside was the hike back up the hill to van park...full of beautiful food and wine ...make sure u stop there

Thank Candy C
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Hi Candy C Thank you for your kind words. Its a hard hike back up the hill, but im glad it was worth it. regards richard

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked for Saturday night dinner, we received 2 emails and 2 phone calls to remind us of our booking. The wait staff all wore bright, differently coloured polyester sports tops which we thought odd as this is supposed to be a finer dinning place. Wine...More

2  Thank MissYummy
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi MissYummy Thank you for taking the time to review our little bistro. Normally i get quite offended and upset by low scoring reviews, but as a 3 star is one of your highest scoring reviews, ill take it as a complement. regards richard, the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good food and a nice atmosphere. The bistro is small but a nice atmosphere and the staff were friendly. Booking probably necessary, especially at peak times.

Thank SnowGremlin
TLB_Akaroa, Manager at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi SnowGremlin, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed our food and friendly service. I hope you had a wonderful time in Akaroa. Regards, Mai

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely dinner on arrival to Akaroa. Small friendly restaurant with quick service and nice good. On the pricier end of the spectrum.

Thank Mary D
TLB_Akaroa, Manager at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mary D, Thank you for taking time to review our wee bistro. I hope you enjoyed staying Akaroa. We look forward to seeing you again.. Regards, Mai

Reviewed 11 March 2018

My husband's choice of restaurant for his birthday dinner did not disappoint. The staff and owner went the extra mile to ensure we had a wonderful evening. From the great service and amazing food to the birthday candle in my husband's dessert, well done guys!...More

Thank MrsMHawkesBay
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We were so looking forward to our anniversary dinner. Ugh. Unfortunately it was so disappointing. 1. The wine list was a no go! The choice of wine was poor & to be honest who drinks a 2013 savingnon Blanc. 2. The choice of dishes was...More

8  Thank rachaelh869
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi rachaelh869 Thanks for taking the time to review our little bistro. its always disappointing to read a negative review. We however are very proud to support local wineries with our Canterbury wine list, out of the 121 wines we has on our wine list,...More

Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

An unfriendly welcome, even though we’d booked, led us to a very tightly squashed table. They certainly pack in as many as they can here, which means a waiter’s backside literally sitting on your postage stamp table when serving the tables either side. The menu...More

8  Thank Susan C
TLB_Akaroa, Owner at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Susan, Sorry you found your dining experience with us disappointing. we do not advertise ourselves as a french restaurant, that is something we have inherited from other tripadvisor users. The season however wouldn't be complete without someone complaining the "little" bistro is to small,...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

The Little Bistro is a busy and very small place. We shared an excellent venison carpaccio (should have ordered one each). The salmon cooked medium rare with saffron, peas, lamb and bok choy was light and very good but not necessarily a stand out. The...More

Thank Luzi3
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

As someone who’s been privileged to dine in some of the best restaurants in Australasia and internationally, including Michelin starred, it was great that this experience lived up to its growing reputation. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten Salmon cooked so perfectly, the terrine was...More

1  Thank FergusMc2
TLB_Akaroa, Manager at The Little Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hi FergusMc2, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at The Little Bistro. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Mai

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Akaroa
Tresori Motor Lodge
137 reviews
.14 km away
La Rochelle Motel
236 reviews
.18 km away
The Grand Hotel Akaroa
58 reviews
.26 km away
Akaroa Criterion Motel
325 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Murphy's On The Corner
115 reviews
.94 km away
La Rangis Pizzeria
71 reviews
.23 km away
Bully Hayes Restaurant & Bar
953 reviews
.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Little River Rail Station
16 reviews
.35 km away
The Giant's House
895 reviews
.72 km away
Akaroa Museum
166 reviews
.27 km away
Banks Peninsula War Memorial and Grounds
79 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Katers_gunna_kate
13 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TLB_Akaroa | Property representative |
Hi Katers_gunna_kate out of respect for other diners the little bistro doesn't except reservations with children under the age of 10 years
1
Vote
FallonA85
3 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Riffi_O | Reviewed this property |
Hello. I am not the restaurant. You probably can find out on their web site or by sending an email.
0
Votes
Carla0911
26 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TLB_Akaroa | Property representative |
Hi Carla0911, Sorry, but the little bistro will be closed from 25th to 27th December inclusive for our staff Christmas break.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Open Hours
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Rue Lavaud, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Akaroa
  • Phone Number: +64 3-304 7314
  • E-mail
Description
The Little Bistro focuses on providing sustainable, local and seasonal bistro cuisine, which highlights our connection to Akaroa and Banks Peninsula. Focusing on locally grown, organic produce.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing