We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Cortado

Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 5630
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (120 reviews)
“tapas” (34 reviews)
“ceviche” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 662 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Great service, very attentive staff. The food was delicious, as were the cocktails. Enjoyed the atmosphere, right on the water front so has a great view.

Thank Belinda M
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

A nice setting on the water front and the food was ok while the staff were pleasant and friendly enough their detail to service was poor, we had to wait a bit for staff to attend to us to be seated you can of course...More

Thank Q8926NWchrist
Reviewed 6 days ago

We saw Cortado listed as one of the top 10 restaurants in Marlborough region in an article at the place we were staying. Of course we wanted to try it. Unfortunately, it was the only disappointing meals that we had while we were in town....More

Thank skrawiecki
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited during the day and had lovely coffee, and returned for dinner later. Dinner was good, but not great, as was the service. Would definitely return for coffees, not so sure I’d return for a meal though.

Thank Sally T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ordered the lamb, pesto and feta pizza to take-away and ate it by the water front, just a few hundred metres away, with my girlfriend. Not only was the staff very friendly and the waiting time quite short, I sincerely believe this was one...More

Thank Baptiste R
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to give a positive review. We hope you are staying in Picton long enough to dine with us again. Happy travels

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Worst service I’ve ever had. Had to wait 30 minutes before going up the counter to order myself. Three times we were told they would be back to ‘take our order soon’. When we ordered we were told that they would come deliver our cutlery...More

Thank Emma M
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very very sorry that your experience with us was substandard. Unfortunately we had a senior staff member go home sick and we were left exposed with staff who were being trained. While they did their best they were unable to meet our usual...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We popped into here for a light lunch. Coffee, tea and a panini. Our order was taken fairly quickly by a young guy and the tea and coffee arrived quite quickly. They weren't busy which helped. My chicken, cranberry and Brie panini took an eternity...More

Thank gfsc5
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended to us by a local. Good pizzas Good beer. Reasonable wine list. Pleasant Outlook. Friendly service.

Thank Trudy R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we have eaten here and once again was not disappointed. Service was professional and efficient and the food was lovely, little twists on traditional items made it more interesting. Prices were fair for the quality of food and presentation.

Thank pennyt675
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always looks attractive from the street so wondered if the experience matched. Gotta say the food was actually really nice. Saw some other meals being served looking nice too. Kids entertained, felt full and left happy.

Thank blackbattler
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Gusto
406 reviews
.12 km away
Picton Village Bakkerij
277 reviews
.22 km away
Seabreeze Cafe & Bar
509 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
261 reviews
.23 km away
Picton Sound
177 reviews
.03 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
79 reviews
.10 km away
EcoWorld Picton Aquarium
250 reviews
.15 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
george4209
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
Jennifer O
20 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steve J | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$34
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Cafe Cortado Picton)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-573 5630
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing