We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cafe Cortado

Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 5630
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good35%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (49 reviews)
“pizza” (141 reviews)
“duck” (8 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Pizza, Cafe, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Two local couples We ordered off the tapas menu, we selected two each, The sauces weren't matched to any of the food, and the quantities were small at best, the special food competition offering could best be described as a soggy cracker covered in cheap...More

Thank Steve S
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We usually go to a different Picton cafe but this time chose Cortado. Why have we not been here before?? Delicious food and very attentive staff. Highly recommended. Try the eggs benedict!

Thank Melsun13
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Had the most amazing pizza's. Kids loved their meals and dessert too. Very family friendly atmosphere. Great pleace and superb location in a beautiful town.

Thank Chhaya s
Reviewed 6 days ago

This place was humming on the Saturday night. Two couples, last night of a weeks stay in Picton. I think we got the last table and very glad we did. We enjoyed such a memorable evening. Despite the crowd we had excellent service, really great...More

Thank MerlinBlaise
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Average is a good description for this place, average food and service. Seafood chowder was ok but definitely not packed with seafood as the menu says. Chicken wings were good, wedges just ok. If you are after a quick bite to eat with low expectations...More

Thank Sam W
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are sorry you felt it was all average during your visit. We often get loads of positive comments in regards to our seafood chowder, so that's a shame you had a lesser experience. Thanks for taking the time to review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Yummy food 🍽 Great service Eggs Benny.. .was the best ! Pizza was so good . The view was lovely looking at the sea and boats . Thank you 😊 Lovely place to relax ❤

Thank Itsaboutus
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

A great way to start the day, glad we could be of service to you. Thanks for the review!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fabulous evening with family and friends. Lovely waitress and staff. Great steins of beer with Pizzas and Tapas on the side. Beautiful evening overlooking the street an harbour.

Thank ian t
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad you had a fabulous evening. Thanks for taking the time to review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This restaurant was recommended by our hosts, and by fellow guests who had enjoyed lunch there that day. We went for dinner and order the Blue Cod. The meal consisted of coleslaw, shoe strings fries and two very small battered pieces of cod, for $32!...More

Thank karen c
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for taking the time to review and for allowing us to try rectify your experience at the time. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Picton and come back to try something else from the menu.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are here twice, for lunch and for dinner. The tapas is absolutely outstanding. We had 8 dishes and couldn't find a single fault with any of them. Also loved the carnivore pizza. Great service too.

Thank EmilieJayne
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are glad you enjoyed your meals enough to come back! The tapas are always a hit, thanks for taking the time to review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a great and massive surprise Cafe Cortado was tonight! The table with the fireplace in the middle was great, the tapas amazing and the pizza to die for! A must when visiting Picton!

Thank Enrique V
Jomacd2016, Owner at Cafe Cortado, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you enjoyed yourself. The fireplace really keeps it toasty during cooler weather. Thanks for the review.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Picton
Gateway Motel
1,045 reviews
.11 km away
High Street Living Motel
10 reviews
.16 km away
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
178 reviews
.17 km away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
319 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Picton Village Bakkerij
302 reviews
.22 km away
Gusto
452 reviews
.12 km away
DA's Barn Restaurant & Bar
369 reviews
.16 km away
Oxley's Bar & Kitchen
230 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby Attractions
Edwin Fox Maritime Museum
296 reviews
.23 km away
Picton Sound
216 reviews
.03 km away
Picton i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
93 reviews
.10 km away
The National Whale Centre
21 reviews
.01 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
randrvan
5 January 2018|
Answer
Response from j0j023 | Property representative |
That is no problem at all. Our voucher system allows you to use the voucher over multiple visits. We look forward to seeing you
0
Votes
george4209
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jomacd2016 | Property representative |
Unfortunately oysters are out of season at present. We do however have lovely local clams, green lipped mussels, king salmon etc
1
Vote
Jennifer O
20 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Steve J | Reviewed this property |
Yes, always pays to book.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$25
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr High St & London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Cafe Cortado Picton)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Picton
  • Phone Number: +64 3-573 5630
  • E-mail
Description
Cafe Cortado is located on the Picton waterfront with beautiful views over Queen Charlotte Sound and Picton marina. We have spacious outdoor and indoor dining areas. Our a-la-carte menus include fresh nz seafood including our delicious creamy seafood chowder and our very popular seafood platter. We use free range chicken and eggs in our menus and everything is cooked from scratch. We are the restaurant of choice for our local community for breakfast, lunch, dinner, pizzas, tapas as well as our wine and beer selection.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing