We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Founding Farmers

1924 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3607
+1 202-822-8783
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (463 reviews)
“beignets” (293 reviews)
Open Now
07:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1924 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3607
Write a Review
Reviews (5,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 950 of 5,390 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Went here for lunch on a whim based on reviews. Very good! A lot of fun foods and drinks. Go for something different- we had the chicken and waffles and cornbread- which was delicious. Good service as well.More

Thank laurilie513
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am thrilled to hear that you gave us a try and had a great time. We love to surprise and delight our guests, and our service team are prepared to find something...More

Reviewed 30 August 2016

Great atmosphere for DC, not too loud at happy hour though it can get busy. Good choice of beer on tap, cocktails, wine. Both bar food and dinners are excellent. Try the slow-simmered pork chop, chicken and waffles, honey cornbread, watermelon & mint. Great place...More

Thank Nancy Q
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hi there Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am so happy to hear you had a nice birthday dinner with your guests. We strive to offer the total package- food and drink that surprise and delight you in a...More

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

The good at Founding Farmers is reliably good, but the service recently has become consistently poor.More

Thank Julian W
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hello there Julian, Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback. We strive to offer great food and warm, attentive service every time. Anything less is unacceptable. Julian, we read each comment and take all feedback very seriously. I'd love to know more...More

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Nice decor. Kept theme throughout. Burger was good. Sweet tea was very refreshing with mint and lemon slice. Some staff were very helpful. Some less so. Service was slow.More

Thank Lauren P
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hi there Lauren, Thank you for taking a moment to write a review. While I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the dishes, drinks and atmosphere, I am sorry to hear that the service was spotty. Anything less than warm, attentive service from our...More

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Great service wonderful food. Price is not too Bad. There were. 12 of us and we dumped a 600 dollar bill. Everyone enjoyed themselves. A little noisy.again a busy place. Well with itMore

Thank December2043
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant! We are thrilled to hear that your group had a great time with us. We strive to offer attentive service and delicious food at a great value. I am happy to see this...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016

The good food and service were detracted from by the crowded and noisy atmosphere. A middle aged diner will have trouble hearing someone across the table from them. The hostesses are reminiscent of DMV examiners, they need a bit of training, they need to understand...More

Thank DM10468
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am so sincerely sorry to hear about your disappointment from recent times dining with us. Each guest should be greeted with a warm welcome- anything less in unacceptable. While some of our...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016

Had a 3 PM reservation for a late lunch here on Sunday. Very busy restaurant, so make a reservation in advance. We were seated right on time (upstairs), where the atmosphere was a little 'loud' (we were also sitting right under a speaker in the...More

Thank GreanLeaf
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Hello there, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience! I am delighted to read what a lovely lunch you had. We strive to deliver the total package- mission accomplished! We can't wait to see you the next time you are in DC!...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016

Was at a business conference in DC, when we asked a local cabby about a good place to eat. He suggested we try Founding Farmers, so we decided to give it a try the next evening. It was a fair walk from our hotel, we...More

Thank Pamby082
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hello there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to hear that you were able to dine with us! We definitely recommend making reservations on our website, to avoid long wait times, but I am happy to see it...More

Reviewed 29 August 2016

Given how packed the restaurant was, and how long the wait was despite a reservation, you'd think you were dining somewhere special. The food was good, but it's nothing you can't order at any of these mid to high end brunch joints. The service was...More

Thank Zach S
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hello there Zach, Thank you for taking the time to write. From the delayed seating to the slow service, it sounds like we completely let you down, and I completely understand your frustration and disappointment. I am so sorry to hear that you had a...More

Reviewed 28 August 2016

Disappointing is a polite way to describe my experience. This place needs a complete make-over. If I owned the restaurant, I would fire the staff and re open putting a seasoned restaurant manager/leader in charge. He or she would train the staff complete with assigned...More

Thank Linda V
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Hi there Linda, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback. I am deeply sorry to have disappointed you during your recent trip to Founding Farmers. I assure you with the up most confidence that what you described does not match...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kaz Sushi Bistro
163 reviews
.10 km away
El Chalan Restaurant
225 reviews
.09 km away
Captain Cookie and the Milk Man
37 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby Attractions
Renwick Gallery
725 reviews
.49 km away
Eisenhower Executive Office Building
84 reviews
.57 km away
The Textile Museum in the George Washington University Museum
67 reviews
.29 km away
Octagon Museum
22 reviews
.54 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Irishloper
Is this a good place for to have dinner before a show at the Kennedy Center?
9 May 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Dasha J | Reviewed this property |
yes, definitely.
1
Vote
jemma40
When is brunch served?
16 April 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from Deanne G | Reviewed this property |
9-2. Make a reservation even on a weekday. I made one the night before for a Friday morning & was very glad I did. The wait would have been 45 min. Without the reservation.
1
Vote
Teawalton
What gluten free options do you offer?
20 February 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from DL B | Reviewed this property |
I did not check the gluten free menu. They probably did have those selections.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$15 - US$50
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 22:00
Monday
07:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 23:00
Thursday
07:00 - 23:00
Friday
07:00 - 00:00
Saturday
09:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1924 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3607
    (20th St. / Pennsylvania Ave. (Foggy Bottom))
  • Public Transportation: There are two Metro stops within 3 blocks of the restaurant, Orange/Blue lines at Farragut West or Foggy Bottom/GWU. The red DC Circulator bus Georgetown/Union Station line stops on Pennsylvania Ave. at 21st street, as well as on K Street and on 19th, all just one block away.
  • Location: United States  >  District of Columbia (DC)  >  Washington DC>  > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
  • Neighbourhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
  • Phone Number: +1 202-822-8783
  • E-mail
Description
Founding Farmers, the Greenest Restaurant in DC, is owned by the more than 40,000 family farmers of the NDFU, serving American inspired real food and drink with an emphasis and focus on cooking from scratch. While our restaurant is supplied by hundreds of family farms everywhere, that doesn't mean we know every farm, and that doesn't mean we never have to buy product from the traditional (corporate) supply chain, but it does mean we're working hard to direct our purchasing dollars where it aligns with our values. We're serving the best food we can, made from scratch in our kitchens every day. Our innovative, American dishes are made primarily with pure ingredients honoring the farmers and their hard-earned bounty.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing