We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sonny's BBQ

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3755 Atlanta Hwy, Athens, GA 30606-0837
+1 706-546-0385
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

29 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 29: English reviews
Jefferson, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Eight here for lunch with a friend of mine for the first time in a very long time. Our meal was excellent our service was excellent but this building has not been remodeled in over 20 years that I've been patronizing this particular Sonny's!!!

Helpful?
Thank tomhukfin
Cornelia, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

My family and I ate lunch here yesterday. The pulled pork and pulled chicken was very good and the service was very good as well. The waitress checked on us multiple times and refilled our classes frequently and brought us to go drinks. The sauces were delicious. We got our food quickly. The restaurant was busy, but we didn't have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stopped for early lunch. Restaurant was no busy. We were quickly seated and Amanda took our orders quickly, All of the BBQ is very good and served with a choice of sauces. Fries were hot. Slaw was cold. There is an interesting salad bar. Most people were ordering off the menu. Food came out quickly. We will go back.

Helpful?
Thank FredL757
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We're glad to hear this, Fred. Thanks for the great review and we look forward to your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We ended up at Sonny's only because Outback, Logan's, and other surrounding restaurants were packed on a Saturday night. Sonny's was not at all packed..... and, well, we found the reason. First problem- If you have more than 4-5 people, you can't fit in the booths, so you are directed to the rear of the restaurant where there are tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dragonfly1216
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We’re very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit, Dragonfly1216. We’d like to try to help—please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, including the location, and the best way to contact you. Your feedback is important to us. More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

After giving Sonny's on Atlanta Hwy a bad review last year, I decided to give them another try. I was pleased with the experience, and felt I needed to write an updated review. Our server was very busy, but still made sure we were taken care of. The food was good, although the pulled pork was a little dry. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank PizzaAndBeerLovr
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The staff was friendly but the food could improve. It's been years since we've eaten at a Sonny's but we had fond memories so we thought we'd try it again. I had the salad bar with smoked turkey. Hubby had the sampler. The cornbread is sweet. (Eww!) Overall the food wasn't as good as we remembered. The staff is friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carla M
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you weren't completely satisfied with your visit, Carla M. Can you email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with these details, location you visited, and your contact information so we can look into this for you and help? More 

Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We don't get out to Athens often. It was good to see a Sonny's there since we don't have one where we live we stopped. It was well worth it, the food was good and we had plenty to eat. Planning on coming back next time we are in Athens.

Helpful?
Thank JimPatrick
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We're happy to hear it, JimPatrick! Thanks for stoppin' by and we can't wait to see you again next time you're in Athens. More 

Athens, GA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We stopped by the drive thru to pickup a couple of pork BBQ sandwiches on our way home. I wasn't able to eat all of my sandwich because the pork tasted old. My husband ate his sandwich, but wasn't impressed with the pork or the garlic bread. We used to eat at Sonny's BBQ a good bit. We hadn't eaten... More 

Helpful?
Thank thebirdlady
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

We’re very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. We’d like to try to make things better—please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, your contact information, and the location you were at. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to ensure that you have a better experience during your next visit. More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

I usually love a chance to stop by Sonny's BBQ. Our last trip was unpleasant. The restrooms had an unbearable sewer odor, which unfortunately drifted into the dining room, creating a miserable dining experience. We ordered sliced pork, which is usually nicely sliced meat. This time there was more fat and scraps than slices. The only plus was a friendly... More 

Helpful?
Thank PizzaAndBeerLovr
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention, PizzaAndBeerLovr. We take these matters very seriously, and we're sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your visit. Please email Social@SonnysBBQ.com with the details of your experience, along with your contact information and the location you were at. We do appreciate your feedback, and we’d like to make sure your next visit is... More 

Albany, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

Had dinner with coworkers here. It was around 8 PM. There were a few things that was ordered that we were told that they were out of when the food came out. Server wasn't apologetic. No Mac and cheese for the ultimate sandwich so they sent it out without making it a regular sandwich

Helpful?
Thank Brian C
SonnysBBQ, Digital Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review

Sorry for any frustration you experienced, Brian. If you'd like to talk to us more about your visit, please email the details, location, and your contact information to Social@SonnysBBQ.com. More 

Travellers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Cuisine
American, Barbecue
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3755 Atlanta Hwy, Athens, GA 30606-0837
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Athens
  • Phone Number: +1 706-546-0385
Description
In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sonny's BBQ staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?