We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mokolodi Restaurant

) #5 of 80 Restaurants in Gaborone $$ - $$$, German, African, Pizza
Mokolodi Nature Reserve, Gaborone, Botswana
+267 72 418 736
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Overview
  • Reviews
  • Location
  • Q&A
  • Details
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good43%
  • Average12%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (36 reviews)
“oxtail” (10 reviews)
“eisbein” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
German, African, Pizza, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Mokolodi Nature Reserve, Gaborone, Botswana
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Situated close to a small reserve, you are really sitting underneath the magic African sky and just enjoying. Food was great, service was great, and it was an unforgettable evening.

Thank Helena L
Lynette W, Owner at Mokolodi Restaurant, responded to this review

We are very happy that you enjoyed your evening.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was there with a friend of mine, to have lunch just before our game drive. We had an excellent food (chicken liver peri-peri and ox-tail), with good portions. We were few people, so servicing was rather easy. I would suggest the waitress to smile...More

Thank abbiati2016
Lynette W, Owner at Mokolodi Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit with us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before our game drive, we had rump steak and couple of pizzas, amazing atmosphere great tasty and recommended place for expats

Thank AskTheRazz
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice setting and a pleasant way to end the Game Reserve Tour. The menu is the bog standard international card with pizza, pasta and burgers predominating. A local dish may have tempted us. The drinks were fine and prices acceptable. The only disappointment came...More

Thank Goatshave
Lynette W, Owner at Mokolodi Restaurant, responded to this review

Our humble apologies with regards to the behaviour of our waitron. Please can you inform me as to when exactly this happened and if possible Table No. and waitron name. Do you perhaps have a copy of the receipt so that I may track who...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I dined at the Mokolodi restaurant on a Monday evening. When we arrived we were told that it was a limited menu that evening. Not sure why -- perhaps because it was a Monday evening. Yes, it was a disappointingly limited menu....More

Thank debushka1962
Lynette W, Owner at Mokolodi Restaurant, responded to this review

Only our bar is open on a Monday evening from 4pm. Pub meals are available in baskets with a selection of ribs, wings, meat balls, chips or salad as well as hamburgers and beef and chicken trinchado. We do not serve a chicken with beans...More

Reviewed 16 April 2017

The Mokolodi Restaurant is an open-air space near the entrance to the Mokolodi Nature Reserve. There is a large terrace with views out over the Nature Reserve. The Mokolodi Restaurant is a very pleasant place for a cold drink and a meal, and to talk...More

Thank AlchemyRider
Lynette W, Owner at Mokolodi Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Loved the food! Service excellent! Friendly and very helpful staff!! Good prices. Breath taking view. Would recommend to all!!

Thank jdeabreu1967
Lynette W, Owner at Mokolodi Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Much appreciated.

Reviewed 2 March 2017

Food is consistently good. Always enjoy the pizza. Staff is always pleasent. However if they are busy service can be on the slow side. But all in all a very pleasant way to spend a dinner or lunch.

Thank Michael F
Lynette W, Owner at Mokolodi Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Always a good experience! The location is outside of town on a busy road but worth the trip. Lovely ambience a mixed menu offering sufficient choice. Get there before subset and experience the bush feel. Booking recommended as it does get quite busy.

Thank marions535
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Such a nice restaurant just 10 km away from the capital! A bush experience in a typically Motswana place. No matter if you come with your partner, with your family or friends, you will be welcomed by a friendly staff and will enjoy good food...More

Thank MaroAmman
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Mokolodi Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mokolodi Nature Reserve, Gaborone, Botswana
  • Location: Africa  >  Botswana  >  South-East District  >  Gaborone
  • Phone Number: +267 72 418 736
  • E-mail