We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Indian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
7 results
Traveller rating
3
1
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
3
1
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 11 January 2020 via mobile

We ordered our meal but the portions were small. The Thali we ordered was ok. The curds was not fresh and had a stale smell. The food in the little bowls were halfway, the curries were not full in the little bowls. Then the cheese/garlic...naan took over 25 mins, then the waiter said they needed to make the dough. The curries got cold and then they offered bread. We will never go there again. Portions are small and service poor.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
IndianGNoumea, Responsable relations clients at Indian Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2020

Hello, We are sorry to read your feedback. We have never had this type of comment, our products are fresh, cooked in the morning and the proportions balanced. For gourmets, we never hesitate to refill on demand. However, never hesitate to send us your comments...More

Reviewed 4 August 2019

Yesterday’s lunch may not have been the cheapest thali I’ve had but is probably the best. The waiter ensured the non-vegan bowls were replaced with vegetable ones, resulting in a very tasty range of flavours and heats. Service was friendly and efficient in a clean,...breezy environment. A great place to relax in after visiting the nearby cathedral.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
IndianGNoumea, Responsable relations clients at Indian Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2019

Hello, thanks a lot for your feedback! We hope to see you again ;) Indian Gourmet's Team

Reviewed 22 November 2018 via mobile

Has to have been the best service and most helpful host that I've ever come across in all my travels, food was authentic and fresh, having the menu changed daily with fresh and in season ingrediants. If I'm ever back in Noumea, this will be...the one restaurant that I will definately visit again. Merci BeaucoupMore

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
IndianGNoumea, Responsable relations publiques at Indian Gourmet, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Thanks a lot!! I wish to see you again! The Indian Gourmet team

Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We love Indian food- cook it and eat it multiple times weekly, have eaten it all over the world (including in India of course :) ). We were happy to find an Indian restaurant in New Caledonia. We walked over 1 hour over from the...meridien to grab dinner here, arriving at 6- the time listed on google maps. We arrived to find a closed door, with dinner: “18:00-“ on it. At 6:15 the door opened, but the woman there told us they didn’t open until 7. We were really hungry, but we’d walked so far to get there we figured we’d wait it out. 45 minutes later we returned, and were told by a different woman the kitchen didn’t open until 7:30. No apologies, no explanations. Just an annoyed shoulder shrug when we politely pointed out THEIR OWN DOOR said 6pm and we had been told 7 by one of their own employees. Not a strong start. The food was ok. Exorbitant, but at $90 for two entrees, two drinks and an order of naan, fairly standard for New Caledonia. The portion sizes were generous. We had the trio- pork lamb and chicken as well as a veg thali. The butter chicken was good, lamb was ok- over seasoned. pork was very over cooked and not spicy at all (we were told it was very spicy, which we like). Actually nothing was spicy at all, which is disappoint for Indian food especially a full thali. The naan was very good. The thali was a mixed bag; excellent eggplant and daal. The veg curry was bad- peas tasted stale or freezer burned, very bland. Overall it was a decent meal and reasonable value for New Caledonia. I’d give it 4 stars except for the 1.5 hours we waited for unclear reasons.More

Date of visit: January 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 July 2017

I've eaten Indian food many times, including on a recent trip a couple of months back to India. In my opinion this restaurant is in no way gourmet, the spices were not correctly prepared, the curry not cooked for long enough, and there is more...chilli in a burger with peri peri sauce from Hungry Jacks than there is in their vindaloo.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 May 2017

After I came back from the Lyvai Train Tour I asked our tour guide for a good Indian Curry joint and he suggested the Indian Gourmet Restaurant 10 minutes walk from the ship's terminal. The staff are very friendly, I got very warm welcome and...the whole place is pretty vibrant, the dish I took was simply delicious. The Naan was a bit soft. The only downside was that the prices are pretty dear, but it's typical to New Caledonia.More

Date of visit: April 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We are curry lovers. There are two curry houses in New Caledonia so naturally we had to try both. First La Taj at Anse Vata. On the poor side of woeful. We may write a review when we get home but it was truly awful....Then we looked at the Indian Gourmet on Trip Advisor. Noticed 24 reviews, all in French!! What? No English speaking curry lovers found and reviewed the place? Why? So we set off to find the place. Phoned to make certain they were open. Went to where the Trip Advisor map showed them to be, in Centre Ville, near Place Cocotiers, on the junction of Verdun and Austerlitz. Could not find them. No street numbers. Nearly gave up but finally found them at Verdun and Sebastapol. Way up Rue Verdun near the Cathedral. That could account for so few English language reviews. Not keen on that part of town and can't find the place. So was it worth the effort? YES. Nice modern fitout. Welcoming staff. Imaginative, unusual menu with an emphasis on thalis. Food was well prepared, authentic and tasty. We plan to go back for more, nowthat we know where it is. Well worth the effortMore

Date of visit: August 2016
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Le Paris
172 reviews
.07 km away
Hotel Gondwana
166 reviews
.45 km away
Kuendu Beach Resort
34 reviews
1.35 km away
Marina Beach Hotel
48 reviews
2.60 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Best Cafe
151 reviews
.10 km away
La Chaumiere
259 reviews
.39 km away
Zanzibar
149 reviews
.22 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Musee de Nouvelle Caledonie
271 reviews
.40 km away
Cathedrale St Joseph de Noumea
161 reviews
.07 km away
Noumea Morning Market
371 reviews
.46 km away
Place des Cocotiers
570 reviews
.26 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Indian Gourmet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Indian Gourmet, Noumea - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Indian Gourmet

Yes, Indian Gourmet offers takeaway services.

Indian Gourmet is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4