We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shogun Japanese Restaurant

Omar Ibn EL Khattab St. Heliopolis | InterContinental Cairo Citystars, Cairo 11511, Egypt
+20 2 24800100
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good16%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (107 reviews)
“salmon” (9 reviews)
“rice” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Omar Ibn EL Khattab St. Heliopolis | InterContinental Cairo Citystars, Cairo 11511, Egypt
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went there New Years eve. They had a set menu. The food was terrible we paid 1000 EGP per person.More

Thank Lobna S
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ms. Lobna, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. It is only through our guests' feedback that we can improve our performance and ameliorate our services. Your comment about the food has been communicated to the Chef. Necessary actions were taken and corrective...More

Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

We were five and it was night time the way the food is cooked spiced and taste not so good. The sauces and dips you had to ask for them, slow service, small amount of food in accordance to the cost.More

1  Thank noha573
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. It is only through our guests' feedback that we can improve our performance and ameliorate our services. Your comment about the food has been communicated to the Chef. Necessary actions were taken and corrective...More

Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

I am a frequent visitor to Shogan, and they never fail to surprise me every time with there top noch food experience. Besides, I am a sushi/sashimi addicted and there is no other place in Egypt that serves sushi/sashimi that reaches the exquisute quality of...More

1  Thank Eslam_Haggag
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive review about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive good comments as such from our honored guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you soon to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

It was my first time fo try Japanese food, and Shogun was recommended by a friend, and it really was a great experience, quality of food was outstanding. And special thanks to Master Chef Komatsu for his friendly and professional attitude. Each dish had been...More

Thank Rami_Morsi
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive review about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive good comments as such from our honored guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you soon to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Totally recommended, value for money, excellent quality food, everything was just perfect, and the great chef Komatsu always present something special. I never eat sushi or sashimi like what I eat at Shogun. Adel ElbadawyMore

Thank Adel E
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive review about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive good comments as such from our honored guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you soon to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo...More

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

It was first day if Eid & I wanted I to do somthing different, it was my first sushi experience so I decided I need to do it in somewhere good . And Shogun didn't disappoint me it was awesome. I ordered sushi plus ramian...More

Thank Nisma899
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive review about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive good comments as such from our honored guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you soon to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo...More

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Excellent place, friendly and quick service, tasty meal and nice ambience. None smoking zone. EXCELLENTMore

Thank Andrew A
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive review about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive good comments as such from our honored guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you soon to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo...More

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Another "classic" restaurant that has kept its high standards. The Teppanyaki is cooked to perfection based on your preferences, and the sushi is equally impressiveMore

Thank sherifmak
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive review about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive good comments as such from our honored guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you soon to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo...More

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Always a great place to eat with my hubby and children ❤️ outstanding food and excellent staff 😀we dine here as often as we can, my hubby and also my son both celebrated their birthdays there and was surprised with yummy birthday cakes 🎂🍰More

Thank Iutita R
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive review about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive good comments as such from our honored guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you soon to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Best Jap in town!! There's nowhere in Cairo with such good quality food. 10/10 would recommend :) :)More

Thank Nevairig A
Trevor S, Executive Assistant Manager in charge of Food & Beverage at Shogun Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Valuable Guest, Thank you for sharing your positive review about "Shogun" on TripAdvisor. It is always very rewarding when we receive good comments as such from our honored guests. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you soon to "Shogun" at InterContinental Cairo...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 141 hotels in Cairo
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
1,380 reviews
.02 km away
Staybridge Suites Cairo-Citystars
162 reviews
.22 km away
Holiday Inn Cairo - Citystars
583 reviews
.32 km away
Tiab House Hotel
3 reviews
1.80 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fayruz Lebanese Restaurant
485 reviews
.01 km away
Indira Indian Restaurant
863 reviews
.28 km away
Maestro Italian Restaurant
282 reviews
.01 km away
Esplanade Cafe Restaurant
161 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
City Stars Mall
314 reviews
.10 km away
Ayman Ahmed - Tour Guide
167 reviews
1.31 km away
Tour Egypt - Day Tours
115 reviews
1.47 km away
Trip To Egypt - Day Tours
9 reviews
1.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Perihan E
12 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Ahmed A | Reviewed this property |
Hi dear, Yes there is like a U shape table around the chef who is cooking the Teppenyaki and it can hold up to i think 9 persons. Unfortunately i can't remember the exact price range but you can check their menu online.
1
Vote
RamiRizg
4 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Heba K | Reviewed this property |
Price per person will be around EGP 350 you can check elmenus website for more references
2
Votes
Mirna S
24 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Hala G | Reviewed this property |
Hi! The price depends on what you like to eat. So, if you are a Sushi lover, I guess the price will be more than if you will order Tepanyaki. I guess the range will be between L.E. 300-400 per person.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
4:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Omar Ibn EL Khattab St. Heliopolis | InterContinental Cairo Citystars, Cairo 11511, Egypt
  • Location: Africa  >  Egypt  >  Cairo Governorate  >  Cairo
  • Phone Number: +20 2 24800100
  • E-mail
Description
A cozy Japanese restaurant serving the best of sushi and teppanyaki cuisine. Enjoy true Japanese atmosphere with a fish tank in the center of the restaurant. Enjoy the tasty food at either the sushi bar or one of the Japanese live cooking tables. Pick your favorite dish from our menus that are created by our Japanese chef Komatsu using top-quality fresh ingredients.Available Services: Credit card accepted, parking or valet services, alcohol, wireless Internet
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing