We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
European
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
420
150
34
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
420
150
34
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood prawns karen waiters garden
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago

Make sure you have a meal at Tamarind for the service and the food. It is nice location and provides a nice spot for lunch or dinner. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 August 2022

We were a large group (around 15) of us. They set a lovely table in a perfect location. We were surrounded by gorgeous flowers and bushes, with a little creek running by our table. The staff couldn't have been nicer and or more efficient. Delicious,...fresh food. All and all, a wonderful lunch.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 April 2022

Seagfood was delious, we lvoed the nature taste from the sea. No spcies or strong sauces were added! It was fantastic!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2022

Dear Guest thank you for your great review about Tamarind Nairobi. We are delighted you enjoyed the seafood. Please note that Tamarind and Tamambo will be moving to a new location on Karen Road in June so please stay tuned for the update, as we...More

Reviewed 23 February 2022

The Tamarind is one of those upscale places that truly deserves its level, with an incredibly friendly and professional staff, tasty dishes that are beautifully presented as well, and an incredible decor in a well-maintained historic building. I don't have much to add other than...that I will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2022

Dear Gogy, , thank you so much for checking us out and giving us a wonderful 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that your visit met with your expectations and you found the staff friendly and professional, the dishes tasty and well presented...More

Reviewed 11 November 2021

best food and service We enjoyed thew food With view of karen blixxen meseum Home of out of africa BravoMore

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2021

Dear Onesmus, thank you for taking the time post a 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that your visit to Tamarind Nairobi met with your expectations and you enjoyed the food and service and the general ambiance.. It's definitely a boost for us...More

Reviewed 5 October 2021

I've visited Tamarind restaurant somehow forced due to the fact that I wouldn't go outside the hotel and honestly I didn't expect such a delightful experience. The staff was very friendly and professional, everything was served fast and in a manner worthy of a more...expensive restaurant. Don't get me wrong, Tamarind is not quite cheap however it deserve every penny. The food was delicious and the general atmosphere very warm. If you have a way through Nairobi do not hesitate to choose this restaurant. It is far better than expected.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful 5 star review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Tamarind experience and found the food delicious and the staff friendly and professional. Its definitely a boost for us every...More

Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

Excellent service for the food and drinks.Everything I ordered came to the table promptly as ordered.The waiters are amazing and always ready to assist.We enjoyed the ambience and I was able to take afew photos around the hotel.Their grounds is well manicured.Will always come back.Add...more shades on the garden.More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2021

Dear Angeline, thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are delighted you enjoyed your meal at Tamarind and found the food, service and ambiance met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Geraldine

Reviewed 2 August 2021 via mobile

Lovely ambience! Amazing food, so flavorful and delicious We got the mambrui oysters to start off with Piriprir prawns, coconut seafood curry with rice & cheese burger. Everything was delicious Tamarind has to be one of my favorite restaurants of all times. The food is...always fresh and delicious The staff are extremely friendly and courteous So professional and polite Overall 10/10More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Dear Isra, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. We are delighted that your visit to Tamarind met with your expectations and you found the food fresh and delicious, and the staff extremely friendly and courteous.. It's definitely a boost for us every time...More

Reviewed 28 July 2021

This restaurant is bomb! The juiciest burgers ever. Most flavorful piri piri prawns and seafood in coconut sauce. Sheila served us. Her customer service was splendid. Her attention to detail was on point. We never had to ask for anything twice. Georgina was sweet enough...to take her rounds and check up on all her guests to ensure all was going well. In general staff are very attentive. Lovely aura altogether.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Dear Nelsha, Thank you for taking the time to post such a complimentary 5 star review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch experience and found the piri piri prawns and seafood flavourful, and the customer service from Sheila and Georgina on...More

Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

We came for a family lunch. The restaurant has tables spread throughout the extensive gardens with a heritage house in the centre (converted into a gastro pub). The vibe is relaxed but professional and super friendly. The food was wonderful. Lovely lunch. Do sit outside.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2021

Dear Sandy, Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit and found the food wonderful, and the service relaxed butt professional and friendly.These are some of the things for which...More

Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

What a wonderful experience to be served by one of the most professional and enthusiastic staff in Charity and Kennedy 🔥🔥🔥

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Dear Jason, Thank you for checking us out and giving us such a nice 5 star review. We are delighted you had a wonderful experience and we shall definitely share your positive feedback with Charity and Kennedy. Kind regards Geraldine

Reviewed 6 February 2021

its a beautiful restaurant...i love your setup and the environment its very clean with amazing food..you guys u are my favouriteMore

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Dear Anita, Thank you for your fabulous 5 star review. We are delighted to hear that you thought the environment of the restaurant beautiful and clean and the food amazing. Your positive feedback has been passed on to the team who are totally energised by...More

Reviewed 4 February 2021

If one needs a perfect business meeting place then Tamarind Restaurant is the place to be. The hotel has an impressive chef with a variety of delicacies. The conference facilities are ideally meant for business occasions.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2021

Dear Venture, Thank you for checking us out and posting such a great 5 star review. We are delighted you find the restaurant such a perfect business meeting place and the food impressive. Your feedback is very much appreciated and has been shared with the...More

Reviewed 25 December 2020

My experience at this cafe was good am still plannig to go back after a short period of time because the environment was good and the meals were served on timeMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2021

Dear Trail, Thank you for checking us out and giving us such a great five star review. We are very happy to hear that your experience was good. Your positive feedback has been shared with the team and is a boost to their efforts. Looking...More

Reviewed 15 October 2020 via mobile

We’d heard Tamarind described as an institution, and were extremely disappointed to have been met with sub-par food and the worst server we’ve ever had. We ordered the calamari and octopus salad, the meat platter, the chili crab and two deserts. I ended up just...eating fries and some bread as the meat platter and salad were not appetizing, and the dessert was equally mediocre. The beef rib and the crabs were better, but overall not worth the price. Our server did not follow COVID protocol - his mask was below his nose at all times and he pulled it down past his mouth to speak multiple times. Once we were seated, we were rushed through every aspect of the meal - including repeatedly asking us for our order before we had opened the difficult to use online menu, the waiter pulling a bib off my friends neck, and dessert arriving while we still had mains on our table. When we arrived no one had mentioned that the restaurant would be closing early. The whole terrible experience was capped off by the very dated decor and cheesy smooth jazz music. It seems Tamarind used to be a stellar spot but his gone completely downhill - the two men at the table next to us asked to see the manager, and we overheard them telling him that they had been to Tamarind 30 years ago and were very disappointed at their experience tonight. They said their fish and service was terrible quality, and it was no longer the institution they knew 30 years ago.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Geraldine D, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2020

Dear Sandy, Thank you for your feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent dining experience at Tamarind. It is It is most unfortunate that you found the food quality sub par and the server the worst you have...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Acacia Tree Lodge
260 reviews
.94 km away
Karen Gables
24 reviews
.96 km away
Hemingways Nairobi
1,059 reviews
.97 km away
House of Waine
316 reviews
1.51 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Tamambo Karen Blixen
1,294 reviews
.01 km away
Hemingway's Brasserie Nairobi
184 reviews
1.02 km away
Kengele's
9 reviews
1.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages
579 reviews
.04 km away
Karen Blixen Museum
2,206 reviews
.78 km away
Maji Magic
10 reviews
1.58 km away
African Horizons
45 reviews
.83 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mabelscotland
30 November 2020|
Answer
Response from mabelscotland |
hi, what is the travelling distance departing from Ibis hotel, nairobi gong to sentrim hotel in nairobi. thanks
0
Votes
BNCB2018
29 July 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Geraldine D | Property representative |
the Restaurant opens for dinner at 6.30pm
0
Votes
ElifSonmez
31 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Favour Wildlife S | Reviewed this property |
It is about 30 minutes depending with the traffic. When it is busy with traffic, you may take almost an hour since the restaurant is outside the city centre. Thanks.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Tamarind Restaurant, Nairobi - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4