We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 31/01
20:00

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2022
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, Asian, Singaporean, International, Street Food
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
407
116
41
9
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
407
116
41
9
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slipper lobster crab buffet chilli crab durian pengat sashimi sticky rice catfish cake mantou porridge laksa fries muah chee buffet dinner special thanks wide variety of food service provided
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

To begin with, this is my 4th review of this restaurant and we have been visiting this restaurant for many years (at least 15 years, and visited on average, 3-4 times a year) and over the years, we have witnessed it's transformation but it was...getting from bad to worst and that prompted me to write this review. It was during the Chinese New Year period and the restaurant offered the festive lunch ($60 nett per pax on weekend) when we visited the restaurant. Our last visit here was about 6 months ago and that experience was not that "fantastic" but still acceptable. Now worst! This recent visit was terrible. It was stated to be CNY festive lunch, there wasn't any CNY related dish offered (except the DIY Yusheng, but without salmon) and the fried Nian Gao with coconut. The other dishes were like some Prawns/Shells, Satay, Fried Rice, Roti Prata and some curry dishes, Chwee Kueh (very hard and tasteless) and Red Bean Pao, a few variety of fish/prawn crackers, Rojak, Lemongrass Chicken, Braised Belly and Ngoh Hiong, DIY Popiah and Kueh Pieti, some cut fruits (no ice cream) and almost all. They should not have named it "Festive". Misleading. (and they don't even have Mandarin Oranges unlike other restaurants that offer!) And almost towards the end of the buffet session (at around 2.10pm), a chef then came to the dessert station to prep crepe (which you can choose kaya or durian) for diners! What? Most diners had already left. Luckily we were still there and managed to try that and that was one of the better dish for the day. In fact, we were the only ones who managed to try that! And the food were just passable, a steep drop of food standard and quality from the past as they used to have live cooking stations. The food were truly not nice or fresh. Chefs were seen walking around and chitchatting among themselves. In fact, there were more staff and diners and that was weekend! Throughout our dinning, only 3 tables (including us) of diners having buffet, totaling 12 pax (and also another 2 tables of 4 diners ordering ala carte). While coffee were included in the buffet (via machine), they also had teh tarik (placed at another station near the entrance) and we only noticed it when leaving the restaurant. One of the female staff (in suit), did go over to one of the buffet table and asked if they would want that (but she didn't ask us and so we didn't know until we left and the other diners overheard us saying and told us they were asked if they would like to have that). Service in clearing used plates were ok but they had other service lapses. When we arrived, we showed the staff our booking on Makan+ (under Kris+ app by Singapore Airlines) on the app and email confirmation. But he told us he could not find our reservation despite us showing him the "confirmation proof" of our booking. Then at payment, the cashier told us the restaurant could not "validate" our booking on the Makan+ app and so we were not able to collect the points for booking/dinning at the restaurant. And of course, no discount too! (as on the app it stated 10% discount) The staff seemed like "stranger" to the app and were not able to explain and asked us to contact Singapore Airlines for "clarification"! What? And we paid as mentioned earlier, $60 per pax and it's very steep considering the poor spread and quality of food served, lousy service. With this price, we could dine comfortably over better quality/spread of food with bird eye's view at Seasonal Tastes (Westin) which we visited some days earlier. Given the continuous negative dinning experience at the restaurant, we will blacklist it for the time being as we can dine at other better restaurants at the same/lower price. Totally not worth it! (this is the first time I have given such a poor rating since I started reviewing in my walk around the world)More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Crabs were the highlight and they did not disappoint. Crayfish/ slipper lobsters were good too. The mantou was a tad over fried . It spoilt the taste when eating with the chilli crab. The local dishes were below average. Nothing much to shout at. This...is an area for improvement. They could have added local desserts like chendol .More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny C, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jay, Thank you for taking time to share your review. We are glad that you have an enjoyable dining experience with us, and the points you have brought up will be shared with the team for improvements. My Team and I will be looking...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent Christmas Day buffet spread. Dishes were tasty especially the Christmas special roasts and desserts. Very good pricing too!More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny C, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joshua, Thank you for taking time to share your review. We are glad that you have an enjoyable dining experience with us. We look forward sincerely to welcoming you back with us again, to extend upon our journey of many more memorable experiences together...More

Reviewed 23 December 2022

Went there to eat the Sin Ma buffet however, was being inform they are serving only festive buffet lunch. What the.... Should had let known earlier even before proceeding into dining area as there are few more queuing in front of us. They simply just...led everyone else in and inform when were at the table. Though i reserve at chope, I actually reserve another date from the restaurant or hotel web which also, did not mention about the change. Nothing to shout about for the price we paid for a festive buffet. Can't really understand where the festive comes into play, beside charging festive priceMore

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny C, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2022

Dear Cheong, Thank you for sharing your review on Spice Brasserie. As we consistently strive to deliver the signature PARKROYAL hospitality to all guests, we are saddened to know that your latest experience fell below expectations. Please be assured that this is certainly not the...More

Reviewed 12 December 2022

We like the spread of the breakfast. It caters to the local, Indian and international. The place is spacious so that we did not feel over crowded despite the stay rate is high during our time. There is slight change on the morning breakfast so...that we will not find it boring and repetitive.More

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny C, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2022

Dear Serin, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable breakfast with us at Spice Brasserie. We look forward sincerely to welcoming you back with us again, to extend upon our journey of many more memorable experiences...More

Reviewed 12 November 2022 via mobile

It was a Thursday night dinner for colleagues. We enjoyed the fresh selection of crabs especially the bak kut teh pepper crab!!!The thick flavourful gravy laksa (it's just the way we liked it), satay, roasted meat, soup, salad, durian pengat, sashimi, jackfruit cake, self prepared...muah chee was fun and the attentiveness of the servers to promptly clear our plates. We will be back again!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny C, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2022

Dear CinYap, Thank you for sharing this wonderful review of your recent dining experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the crabs at Spice Brasserie. Your kind words will definitely motivate our team members to welcome all guests with our signature...More

Reviewed 28 October 2022

Menu is always interesting and new each day. Great food. great service. Very conducive for families travelling together. Perfect holiday accomodation.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny Chung, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2022

Dear SkinDoc, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay experience. We are glad that you had a great dining experience at Spice Brasserie and we will continue to work hard to ensure every diner walk out with the same experience as...More

Reviewed 21 October 2022

Generally, I am not a fan of hotel buffets that serve pre-dominantly local cuisine. But I do love mud crabs, and this place definitely serves up plenty of crab in their dinner buffet. There seems to be a fair number of reviews here that say...their crabs are not fresh. For me, I am pretty sensitive to that ammonia smell that is associated with crabs that are not very fresh at all. Perhaps it was a good night when I dined there, because I did not detect any of that non-fresh situation that many others have cited here. Off my memory, I recall sampling chilli crabs, white pepper crabs, salted egg yolk crabs, and a dry curry powder one. Out of the lot, my favourite would still be the chilli crab style, as I love me an eggy gravy. You can have as many deep fried buns to complement the sauce. Whilst the crabs were pretty good, the one item in the buffet that I thought was really nice was the pig stomach soup. I really did not think that I would be having a good time slurping 2 very full bowls of their tasty and peppery pig stomach soup. If you are here for the buffet, please do not skip the soup, and have at least a bowl of it. They also have sashimi and a few kinds of sushi, but I really did not think the sashimi was very good at all. Not sure why - perhaps it was the way the sashimi were poorly sliced in very odd and uneven shapes. It came across to be as a tad sloppy. And it did not taste as fresh as sashimi can be. Not that it tasted stale - just not very fresh. The salad station was a yawn-fest. Did not even bother touching anything there. I had a lot of fun at the DIY muah-chee station making my own muah-chee like how they do it at the pasar malam. As it can take some time to snip yourself up a pile of muah chee, I would not advise it if there is a queue. You can always return to have some when there is no queue. As a whole, I feel that this buffet has some ups and downs. Luckily for me, the freshness of the crab was not an issue. The spread is so-so, and definitely could have more additions. For $68 nett per pax on weeknights, I was expecting a bigger spread.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny Chung, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2022

Dear Shawn, Thank you for sharing your review on Spice Brasserie. As we consistently strive to deliver the signature PARKROYAL hospitality to all guests, we are saddened to know that your latest experience fell below expectations. Please be assured that this is certainly not the...More

Reviewed 11 October 2022

My family wanted to have our very first buffet since C19 and decided on this. We were delighted with the variety and was especially looking forward to the sashimi and the crabs. We were disappointed to find that the crabs were not fresh and the...chilli crab was not at all spicy, more like tomato crab. The rest of the food was good. Overall, we enjoyed the buffet, it was good value.More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny Chung, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2022

Dear Sharon, Thank you for taking time to share your valuable review on Spice Brasserie. As we consistently endeavour to deliver the signature PARKROYAL hospitality to all guests, it is with regret to hear that your recent visit fell short of expectations. Your comments on...More

Reviewed 2 October 2022

There was not much items on the buffet table. Not even pastries. The hokkien noddle was very soft and wet. And there is porridge with few accompanying dishes. It's quite a wierd buffet spread and rather doo away the porridge! The refill of the braised...duck was like chicken which was not the usual dark brown color but whitish which showed that it's not cooked and marinated with braised sauce.... there were 4-5 types of crackers which does not make sense? Truly disappointing even for $25/nett per pax. I rather pay more for a better and more variety of buffet spread...More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny Chung, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2022

Dear Pamela, Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience at Spice Brasserie. As we consistently endeavour to deliver the signature PARKROYAL hospitality to all guests, it is with regret to hear that your recent visit fell short of expectations. Your comments on our culinary...More

Reviewed 2 October 2022

Just disappointed with the food. The crabs not fresh. Usually I don’t complain at all. The staffs were great.More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny Chung, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2022

Dear Xoxosheenz, Thank you for taking time to share your valuable review on Spice Brasserie. As we consistently endeavour to deliver the signature PARKROYAL hospitality to all guests, it is with regret to hear that your recent visit fell short of expectations. Your comments on...More

Reviewed 28 September 2022

Went there for a birthday dinner, not all food item listed on the menu was provided. Service were slow, so food items took a long time, their cooked crabs disappointed us the most, it wasn’t fresh at all, the taste also seemed a little off....Overall all I can say is that there’s way better option out there for the price paid.More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny Chung, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2022

Dear Jimmy, Thank you for choosing to dine with us. We sincerely regret the aspect of our product and services did not reflect the quality we strive for. Please be rest assured that your comments have been shared with the respective team for review and...More

Reviewed 25 September 2022 via mobile

We had dinner on 24 Sep Sat, was served by Subas for being helpful and nice. My mom wants to have the Nonya Kueh from the buffet however there was none left. Subas was observant and quickly when to the kitchen to take out and...placed it at the buffet. He informed to my mom about the top up.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny Chung, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2022

Dear Jinhyesan, It is greatly appreciated that you took the time to write such a positive review. Thank you for letting us know that you have enjoyed your meal with us. Our people are at the heart of everything we do and its great to...More

Reviewed 16 September 2022

Staff asked to see Chope voucher number, I bought 2 vouchers in one receipt so I only have 1 voucher number. She is obviously inexperienced and is inpatient and kept insisting I should have 2 voucher numbers. She then peeped over to my email and...asked rather rudely "you sure 2 vouchers? how much you paid". That is really rude. We thought things have settled after she took down the voucher number, but she came over again when we are almost done with the dinner. She questioned me the same exact thing - "you should have 2 voucher numbers, where is the other one?". I went through the email again and asked exactly how to claim as she wants us to claim. She took a glance at my phone and replied "I come back later". We ended up showing it to another staff and she had settled it in seconds. I am sure Chope vouchers should be quite commonly used, even if the staff does not know how it works and is unable to advise, her attitude is really bad.More

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny C, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Dear Oyeucn1, Thank you for your review, we greatly appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with this valuable feedback. We sincerely regret the several shortfalls you experienced, especially with regards to the service provided by our associates. We have shared this feedback...More

Reviewed 16 September 2022

Quite surprised that the variety of food they have are so limited i can even rmb each of it. The taste was normal, i can find better ones at any coffeeshop lol. but thumbs up to the chili crab but i cant be only eating...that right. Totally not worth the money. Staff there dont even smile alsoMore

Review collected in partnership with www.chope.co
Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Benny C, Owner at Spice Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2022

Dear Clsiying, Thank you for your review of Spice Brasserie at PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road. I will share your comments with our Kitchen team so that we can do better. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope we will be given a chance to...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Little India
With a strong local Indian community, this pocket of
Singapore can feel like another place and time. Wander
past traditional barbershops while local residents in
brightly coloured saris patronize retailers from
decades past. Peruse streets lined with colourful
shops as the aroma of curry tempts you to indulge.
Listen to the Bollywood music echoing from storefronts
and take in the stalls selling bright flowers,
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
PARKROYAL on Kitchener Road
5,367 reviews
.02 km away
Hotel 165
94 reviews
.07 km away
Tai Hoe Hotel
627 reviews
.09 km away
Claremont Hotel Singapore
370 reviews
.14 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Si Chuan Dou Hua Restaurant
201 reviews
.06 km away
Copper Chimney
399 reviews
.08 km away
Ananda Bhavan
256 reviews
.08 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
City Square Mall
329 reviews
.14 km away
Mustafa Centre
3,064 reviews
.07 km away
Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple
149 reviews
.33 km away
Thaipusam Festival
28 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Trà M
8 January 2020|
Answer
Response from Tourist34164231348 |
yes, indian food available
1
Vote
Stay17881573275
9 June 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ZfyEd | Reviewed this property |
The menu is rotated and no fix menu, and crabs come in various forms or cooking style as mentioned by the responses given below. But there will be crabs for sure!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Spice Brasserie, Singapore - Lavender - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Spice Brasserie

Yes, Spice Brasserie is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Spice Brasserie is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5