We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Toko Baru

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1a Avenida sur Nr. 17 "A" | Next to Cafe Sky, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
+502 4079 2092
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

223 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

I ate here several times now and it is always good and tasty. Not only tourists comes also lots of local people. You get a good meal here for a cheap price.

Helpful?
Thank Helen K
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly the satay chicken was so burnt there was zero taste. There was 3 people and they brought 2 curries out and forgot mine. How does that even happen. The madras was so average. The garlic sauce looked as if it been there for a while. Chicken had zero taste. It is cheap but you get what you pay for... More 

Helpful?
Thank joe b
Toko Baru B, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this review

Dear Joe, We're really sorry to hear that we didn't live up to expectations on your recent visit. You are right that our prices are very low, but the truth is that quality is also very important to us. We simply wouldn't survive if we served mediocre food to our clients, and as such we are saddened to learn that... More 

Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We came here thanks to the reviews and we're highly disappointed by the lack of quality of the food. We ate the blandest korma ever. And I mean bland: no salt, no coconut milk, no spices. The falafel was average, but again no salt, and minimum flavour. I suppose if you are drunk and come from a country where herbs... More 

Helpful?
Thank raquelcoelho
Toko Baru B, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this review

Dear Raquel Thank you so much for your review. We love to get feedback, which keeps us on our toes and helps us to improve. We of course are sad to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of our food, and that the korma and falafel were too bland for your taste buds. We do try our best,... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2016

it doesnt look much from the outside but we were recommended toko baru by a local and were really glad we came. the prices are some of the best value we saw in Antigua and they do really nice curries as well as falafel and other middle eastern dishes. would come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank emily_scorer
Toko Baru B, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this review

thanks very much for your review! we hope to be able to welcome you again soon! toko baru crew More 

Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This is a great find for the somewhat budget traveler. The food is delicious without a doubt, the staff is friendly and the atmosphere is cozy. The place has no WiFi and states it proudly. You focus more on the food and your company that way. Definitely recommended for anyone. I'd be very surprised if anyone left unsatisfied.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sh-mack
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Really good value food and big portions. Staff were super friendly and efficient too.. Can't really go wrong with this place.

Helpful?
1 Thank johnnymc17
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2016

Toko Baru was a regular haunt of mine whilst living in Antigua. Have been there many times and always have great food. My favourite has got to be the falafel but the currys and specials are fantastic too! It is great quality for money, quick service and a very relaxed place. Portion sizes are great and the accompanying salad is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

went with high expectations ,slightly disappointed. Both ordered Indian dishes my madras curry had a decent flavor but chicken was a bit overcooked. The other dish we ordered was the special of the day, dahl. It was chickpea and it just lacked any real flavor. Based on their interesting menu we would try again.

Helpful?
Thank Dwayne W
Toko Baru B, Owner at Toko Baru, responded to this review

Dear Dwayne W Thank you for your feedback! We of course are sorry that you were slightly disappointed with your choice of Dahl and Madras when you visited us! We very much hope you will give us another chance with a second visit soon. As you observed, we do have quite a diverse menu! I'd recommend you try our Falafel... More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2016

We love Toko for a lunch or quick dinner. The owner Edwardo is such a character! I always get the falafel on pita. But my absolute favorite are the sweet potato fries! I dip them in the yogurt herby garlicy sauce - yum! The tables are simple and the atmosphere is rustic, quirky, but it's great for what it is!

Helpful?
Thank jamss22
Vancouver
Level Contributor
93 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2016

Local favorite for cheap eats, but also good food. Good prices, very casual setting, good prices on drinks.

Helpful?
Thank Tanya1111

Travellers who viewed Toko Baru also viewed

Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
Antigua, Sacatepequez Department
 

Been to Toko Baru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$6
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1a Avenida sur Nr. 17 "A" | Next to Cafe Sky, Antigua 03001, Guatemala
  • Location: Central America  >  Guatemala  >  Sacatepequez Department  >  Antigua
  • Phone Number: +502 4079 2092

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Toko Baru staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?