We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House

$$ - $$$Asian, , Chinese
33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
+94 81 2 384082
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good28%
  • Average14%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“rice” (19 reviews)
“club sandwich” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Sri Lankan, Chinese, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered the standard chicken curry and rice. Love it, various things served with it. Ask for spicy, not medium. About 850r for the lot. Would be back again

Thank WilliamCH88
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had been to the Royal Botanical Gardens and the Kandy War Cemetery, so our driver suggested this as a nearby place for lunch. We ate here for the first time the famous dish of Sri Lanka – ‘rice and curry’ (we had only been...More

Thank Bontaks
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were recommended this place. Has a reasonable choice but the large size is too big for us. Had to wait some time for an order to be taken and again sometime before it arrived. Tasty but not the best. Good value

Thank Clarky57
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

This is the place where your driver drops you off. Sat here for an hour, all visitors arriving were tourists. Had spring rolls, the chicken dish and some chop suey. Spring rolls were ok, chicken also ok but with dry and old chicken pieces and...More

Thank Seime
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Went here because of the good recommendations on TripAdvisor. Sadly the place is rated mostly because drivers bringing their guests here. Total crowded. Way to expensive. Food.... Well ok but as soon as you know Sri Lanka food it is highly disappointing.

Thank Reddragonfly77
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We had vegetarian curry and seafood rice . Restaurant is in the river bank and very good view with running water

Thank Balajee V
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

The food is very pricey and very mediocre. For a gastronomic vegetarian Asian family, options are very less. Usually it is frequented by westerners and so probably caters to their palette. What was appalling was the wastage of food that each table sent back. It's...More

Thank rcm497
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

We are very sorry that you were not happy with the selection of vegetarian dishes. We have a large selection of curries and and others. I'm trying to work out what you had. Whatever it is we will look into your comments and see what...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

This is typically a restaurant where tour guides and drivers take their customers. The chicken curry was excellent. The chicken fried rice was very bland. Unfortunately the toilets did not flush and there was no toilet paper. Unacceptable !More

Thank WorldNavigator57
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry about the issues you had faced. Unfortunately we were inundated with guests coming at the same time that day. As you can appreciate only a lady cleaner would be able to attend to what you had raised....More

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Food is average. They have a lot to choose from. The view is amazing, you see a rumbling river in the mountains.

Thank Eliza K
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Good choices and large portions. Shared the curry with my teenage monster and we still left some. Great view and really handy for the war graves cemetery. Can't go wrong here.

Thank Adrian W
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your recent visit. We appreciate your custom.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Peradeniya Rest House
67 reviews
.39 km away
Barista - Peradeniya
19 reviews
1.37 km away
Kandyan Arts Restaurant
172 reviews
1.03 km away
Tavern 29 Rooftop Bar
16 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Oak Ray Creations Batik
11 reviews
.67 km away
Royal Botanical Gardens
2,807 reviews
1.26 km away
Commonwealth War Cemetery
380 reviews
.62 km away
New Ranweli Spice Garden
321 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ageely
13 September 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 33honeypotbear | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. Yes we have a halal menu, but I am unable to attach it to this post as trip advisor does not permit any attachments on this. Perhaps if you send me a mail I can send you the menu and or pictures... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$2 - US$5
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Delivery, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Central Province  >  Kandy District  >  Kandy
  • Phone Number: +94 81 2 384082
  • E-mail
Description
The Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House is an Eighty seater family Restaurant located 1.5Km from the Kandy town centre.(About 5-8 minutes from the central Town Clock Tower by TukTuk). It is a great place to enjoy a meal overlooking the river and mountain range and indeed away from the pollution and noise of the town centre, yet not far from all the sight seeing places and attractions of the historical City. We offer a child and family friendly atmosphere. We serve hot and cold food from authentic Srilankan curries to fish&chips,Seafood dishes,fried rice, noodles, snacks, sandwiches, Halal dishes and many more. We also serve a selection of fresh tropical fruit juices along with hot drinks too. All our dishes are prepared to a very high standard. Our Prices are very low, whilst the service we offer is like no other. We also provide a free WiFi service to all our guests. The Honeypot also has four Guest Rooms which are clean, simple and competitively priced. All rooms are en-suite with a/c and fans. All rooms have a private balcony overlooking the river. The Honeypot prides itself for its simple original building design & deco, constructed utilising local material.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing