We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Original Oyster House

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
701 Gulf Shores Pkwy, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6471
+1 251-948-2445
Website
Today
11:00 - 21:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,870 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,868: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice place to eat seafood that is actually good and not fast food type. Can eat inside or outside. Service is always good.

Helpful?
Thank Diana T
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We eat at the causeway Oyster House a lot and let's just say the Gulf Shores location doesn't hold up to their other restaurant. The menu isn't the same and they don't offer nearly as much as the other Oyster House. The grilled oysters were so small there was barley anything to eat. The manager seemed less than interested when... More 

Helpful?
Thank Myboyzroc
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was seated immediately, waitress was very patient while my fiancée and I looked over the menu. The oysters were awesome (in a half shell). They even had my seldom stocked Diet Mountain Dew.

Helpful?
Thank thedoctor1989
Springdale, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Great view, char broiled oysters with parmesan and garlic to die for , fried green tomatoes good the ya ya sauce salty a little. Jayne the server has the credit for the 5th star, very professional, friendly and funny she can sell ice in Alaska. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Ernesto L
Clio, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This is a wonderful place for sea food. Great. Salad bar lots to chose from Seating by the window is awesome Sunset is the best time to go

Helpful?
Thank ritanhugo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Supposedly a long wait indicates a popular place, and I guess this is a popular place, but that's not the same as saying it's good!! The salad bar is pitiful. I only go there when the people I'm with whine! And if you want anything other than fish, forget it.

Helpful?
Thank Anna C
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi Anna! We apologize for your less than positive experience at our restaurant. We try to create a menu that offers something for everyone, including our salad bar that includes Romaine & Iceberg salad mix, homemade pasta salad, homemade potato salad, crunchy green peas, shredded sharp cheddar cheese, grape tomatoes, sliced fresh mushrooms, sliced cucumbers, pickled okra, diced ham, bacon... More 

Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is perfection. The view of the water is amazing, the staff is super friendly. They have a great salad bar. We got the platter with fried oysters, shrimp, fish, crab cake, stuffed crab, and gumbo. Everything was cooked perfectly. The gumbo is AWESOME. I also love you can make your own seafood sauce with the ketchup, Worcestershire, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank ebjones85
Marion, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the Fish of the Month and enjoyed the flounder! The kids loved the kids options, and we all loved the pickles. I thought the salad bar was a bit weak, and they seemed to be in a hurry to get us out. All in all, I recommend!

Helpful?
Thank StLouisCachers
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We're happy to see that you enjoyed the flounder and the kids love their meals as well. We're sorry you didn't enjoy the salad bar as much and felt that you were rushed out - you should never feel that way! Please know we take our customers’ feedback seriously and are looking into your... More 

Bastrop, Louisiana
Level Contributor
166 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love raw oysters!!!! I got a dozen and they were wonderful!!! The fried shrimp and oysters were average. The shrimp alfredo was terrible!! The crab cakes and stuffed crab you can get in the frozen section at the grocery store. My sons crab legs were not properly cooked and hard to get the meat out. Overall if you want... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brenolan
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi Brenolan, We apologize for your less than positive experience at our restaurant. While we're happy to see that you enjoyed the oysters, we're just as disappointed that you didn't enjoy your other meals. We locally source our seafood to ensure freshness and quality and we're sorry that was not what you experienced. Please know we take our customers’ feedback... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We always go here when we are in Gulf Shores! We have yet to find anythkng on the menu that we don't like. You must try the house salad dressing and the peanut butter chocolate chip cheese cake! We love this place!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

Travellers who viewed Original Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Original Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 21:00
Monday
11:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 21:00
Thursday
11:00 - 21:00
Friday
11:00 - 21:00
Saturday
11:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 701 Gulf Shores Pkwy, Gulf Shores, AL 36542-6471
  • Location: United States  >  Alabama (AL)  >  Gulf Shores
  • Phone Number: +1 251-948-2445

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Original Oyster House and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
Pinckneyville, United States
3 months ago
Jacksonville, Alabama
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Original Oyster House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?