We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Papagayo Seafood

Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
+506 2670 0298
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good32%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (141 reviews)
“swordfish” (26 reviews)
“shrimp cocktail” (12 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Costa Rican, Cajun & Creole, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great shrimp and corn bisque. Had the best red snapper of my life there! A little on higher end of price for the town but worth it!

Thank sam t
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a spicy calimari dish that was tasty. Not cheap but not outrageous either. Nice setting on balcony.

1  Thank jay t
Reviewed 1 week ago

Four of us went to this restaurant based on recommendations but we were disappointed in the food, service and price. The meals were OK but two of us didn't get the meal that we ordered.

Thank Tom G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The food is so tasteless that not even salt does the trick. I can't get over how such a large restaurant doesn't have a better chef. How bad can one restaurant be that only their mashed posted taste any good? I gave this restaurant a...More

Thank lovecrusing
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Last night of our 8 day visit to Costa Rica. I had the swordfish, and only ate 3 bites. Seasoning was horrible! My husband ordered the steak. He offered me a bite, and I had to spit it out. I wouldn't let him finish the...More

Thank KelleyACE
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best meal I had in Costa Rica by far. Make the stop here. Shrimp cocktail was fabulous. Margaritas were yummy too!

Thank MissouriCandi
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing Grandmother's corn chowder and salads. We weren't too hungry, so these choices were perfect.

Thank gmer2006
Reviewed 30 August 2017

Took a break from our all inclusive hotel and ate out... glad we did. Food was all good for a party of 12!

Thank David L
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

We had the calamari for an appetizer and it was good. I had the red supper with pineapple and it was delicious. Great lunch option.

Thank tonbrad
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We ate here midweek and enjoyed the balcony seating. The combination appetizer of Cajun fried Clamari, Fish and Shrimp was overcooked and pretty crunchy. For main course we have the mixed seafood with pasta and white sauce. which was ok but not being frequent seafood...More

Thank 639russellp
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Le COQ Lebanese Health Food
616 reviews
.09 km away
Zi Lounge Restaurant
743 reviews
.13 km away
Citron Restaurante
371 reviews
.38 km away
Coconutz Sports Bar & Angry Goats Brew House
985 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Playas del coco
142 reviews
.33 km away
Rojas Bros Boruca Indigenous Arts
45 reviews
.18 km away
Sea Star CR
9 reviews
.31 km away
Sea Bird Sailing Excursions
310 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Denise B
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from tennisplayerbbb | Reviewed this property |
I only saw outdoor dining. It was very comfortable.
1
Vote
Myrth J
I would like to ask the owners of Papagayos Seafood about their staff and management. Mainly about customer service. Handling of unsatisfactory food served to client. We spent 234.00 on 4 meals and 5 cocktails and a Coke. 2 of our stuffed Lobsters the tail were mushy and grainy. We told your staff and they gave us s whopping 2300 colones off our entire ticket. Should have just slapped me and told me to leave! Our server never came to see how our food was for 30 minutes. Not good. I've owned 2 restaurants for 25 years and if my staff pulled that kinda crap with my customers they would be finding a different job. Also your Chef on the evening of feb 25 needs training. Presentation of stuffed lobster was terrible. I've seen dozens of pics from there and were beautiful. I'd be glad to send you my pic. Thanks Joe
22 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Myrth J | Reviewed this property |
Your partially right on Tico time and i was nice and cordial to all involved. Glad your food was acceptable, mine was not my wife's was. BUT I never heard a word from the owners (who aren't Ticos) or management and that's... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$40
Meals
Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street/Bulevar Principal, Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
  • Location: Central America  >  Costa Rica  >  Province of Guanacaste  >  Playas del Coco
  • Phone Number: +506 2670 0298
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing