We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Muri Main Road, Muri Village | Muri, 682, Cook Islands
+682 22 232
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Mon - Sat 17:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The food is tasty and plentiful but the alcohol is expensive. Two rounds of drinks were more costly then the meals. The food is great and there is plenty of it but the cost of the drinks was disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Found this place by chance, really cute little restaurant tucked away, lovely food and great service

Helpful?
Thank cfoley27
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

having visited thailand and cambodia we felt this restaurant provided great tasty satisfying food with good service and excellent cocktails. having had a disappointing meal in the next door restaurant we were really happy with this place!

Helpful?
1 Thank mimsimmo
Pasha, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this review

Love that you compare our humble Asian style street cafe positively to your experiences in the countries of the flavours origins, and found our cocktails excellent and food both tasty and satisfying. Thank you for your review. Our sister restaurant next door will hopefully be able to address the issue they had and in future visits you will be able... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rickshaws is great if you feel like some delicious Asian food! Service is friendly, and the fish cakes are a highlight!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren S
Pasha, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this review

Will let the chefs know about the kudos to their fish cakes and the rest of the food. Thanks for your review More 

Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good restaurant with a good play on Vietnamese and other Asian cuisines. Very flavorful takes on many traditional dishes with a great mix of island and other Asian cooking styles. Overall a very enjoyable meal. Staff are very friendly with great service. Will come back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Linh T
Pasha, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this review

Looking forward to seeing you again, and thank you for your lovely review on the food, friendly staff and great staff. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We dined there three years ago and it was exceptional, yesterday is was a big disappointment. The dishes are strange, lemon chicken had puffy thick batter, Pad Thai had mushroom, diced carrots and mint - weird. They did serve us promptly and were turning the crowds away without a booking. Plenty of room for improvement.

Helpful?
Thank Q5958IBchriss
Pasha, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this review

Thank you for your return visit and glad you got good service inspite of the busy night. Sorry that the food was a disappointment, we do hope you will give us another chance if you visit Rarotonga again. Please do bring up any concerns to your server on the night so we can address it on the spot if possible. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great range of food-Chinese,Vietnamese and Thai great menu all well priced. A busy place next to La Cassita not open for lunch. Nice atmosphere food was served efficiently and it was tasty and filling. We didn't book but it was quite full. Hint-spray a bit of mosquito spray on your legs when eating outside at any restaurant you do... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
Pasha, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this review

Thanks very much Michelle N, good to hear that on a busy night you still got efficient service and tasty filling food. Just a tip that we usually have personal repellent spray at the bar for those who forget its a good idea for any open-air dining like ours. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went here a couple of times on our recent trip to Raro. We found all food tasty, particularly the beef rendang. Cocktails were also good. Service is good but the restaurant does appear to run on "island time", but if you're on holiday does it really matter... Overall we found it good value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbane_Catlady
Pasha, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this review

Very much appreciate the recommendation, we love the rendang too! glad you had the patience for our island time, and still found the service good. If you were dining with us during the last week of December and first week of January it was our busiest time ever (most other places closed on the public holidays) so we were a... More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Seriously? The worst meal on the Island, and service not much better. The main, a Satay chicken -$22. Out came 2 skewers on 2 tsp of rice, and 2 tsp of satay sauce. No vege, no salad, no service ( forgot the drinks ). No way coming back! My partners meals on a par with the above. Go next door... More 

Helpful?
Thank bakerv
Pasha, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this review

Hello bakerv, very glad you enjoyed your meal and found good value next door at La Casita as we are the same company and staff. Even though you had eaten it all, you neglect to mention you actually were refunded the entire cost of your satay dish, and were asked what else could be done to have improved your meal?... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
482 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2016

More like their slant, possibly due to availability of herbs etc. Would think it's a long time since visiting Vietnam. However, I did enjoy their version of ginger chicken. Outrageous drink prices.......repeat.......outrageous! Will do BYO but charge $10 corkage, plus $1 per bottle of beer. A lot of money for we 4 for very little and no view.

Helpful?
Thank Lyrebird6
Pasha, Manager at The Rickshaw, responded to this review

Kia Orana Lyrebird, Glad you enjoyed the ginger chicken, so much. We don't claim to be traditional anything, only an Asian style street cafe. However, we do strive to use authentic and fresh locally available spices and herbs like tamarind, coriander, mint and chilli. You might want to try our happy hour from 5:30-6:30 when many drinks are half-off. We... More 

Travellers who viewed The Rickshaw also viewed

 
Muri, Rarotonga
 

Been to The Rickshaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$16
Cuisine
Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Indonesian, Malaysian
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Highchairs Available
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Muri Main Road, Muri Village | Muri, 682, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga
  • Phone Number: +682 22 232
Description
Cosy Asian Street Style Cafe in Muri, serving Vietnamese, Indonesian, Chinese, Malasian and Thai dishes with a range of vegetarian choices and gluten free items on request.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rickshaw and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Rickshaw staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?