We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ship & Anchor

$$ - $$$, European,
2 Moana Avenue, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
+64 9-426 1539
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“fish n chips” (4 reviews)
“steak” (10 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Moana Avenue, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 141 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Haven’t been here in years so was pleasantly surprised. Service was very good and the food quality and portion size was excellent. Will be back

1  Thank Steve P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The meal was simply excellent. This restaurant, located in the middle of Orewa, greets you typically with sounds of clinking glasses and lively conversation. A popular spot with locals, the friendly atmosphere is warm and inviting. My wife and i had the special of the...More

Thank Mark D
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Had been to Ship & Anchor several years ago and it wasn't memorable. This time however it was very good. We came in off the street with no booking and it was before 12 noon so plenty of tables to choose from, however these started...More

Thank jtww23
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

I had walked past this bar/restaurant a thousand times but never eaten here. Finally decided to try it with my mum and one year old son. Wow what a gem! The food was delicious and they even had a kiddies menu and were so sweet...More

Thank Bianca H
Reviewed 10 December 2017

You are spoilt for choice in Orewa - we spent a while checking venues we had sourced on Trip Advisor for a farewell family dinner one of which was here - we booked a good table in a quiet corner and returned that evening -...More

Thank GDay1044
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We received a nice welcome as soon as we stepped in the door and shown to a table. The table we first sat at was very low to the point our legs just managed to fit underneath but fortunately they had other tables at a...More

Thank Melissa T
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We had dinner at the Ship and Anchor on a Saturday night mid September Nice decor and friendly staff What I call a welcoming place The food was quite okay and the service was good There was plenty of parking outside and it was not...More

Thank stegeb
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Warm inviting restaurant and great service with delicious food catering to the whole family - thanks for a lovely night

Thank Lauren750907
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I enjoy the atmosphere for Friday night drinks. Absolutely love the service and the Pork Ribbs is amazing.

Thank Claudine A
Reviewed 17 July 2017

I took my Mum here for lunch on Sunday, as she felt like a roast dinner and they had a special Beef Scotch Fillet roast of the day which we both ordered and were not disappointed. The portions were generous, and cooked beautifully. Service was...More

Thank NZRochelle
PreviousNext
12345615
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Orewa
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
145 reviews
.17 km away
Orewa Motor Lodge
57 reviews
.24 km away
Four Seasons Motel
50 reviews
.28 km away
Golden Sands Beachfront Motel
1 review
.56 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Oliver's Cafe
131 reviews
.07 km away
Casablanca Meditteranean Cafe and Bar
386 reviews
.07 km away
Kuzina Mediterranean Cafe & Bar
74 reviews
.13 km away
Micks
139 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Orewa Beach
255 reviews
.44 km away
Red Beach
8 reviews
2.20 km away
Wenderholm Regional Park
52 reviews
5.94 km away
Snowplanet
190 reviews
6.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Neil D
26 May 2016|
Answer
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
Hi, Unfortunately we are not a BYO restaurant.
0
Votes
ngatirehia8
3 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
hi , sorry we don't do any live entertainment on a regular basis and our dress code is casual, Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$28
Cuisine
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Moana Avenue, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Orewa
  • Phone Number: +64 9-426 1539
  • E-mail
Description
Situated at the heart of Orewa Beach, We have a great variety of Food & Beverages, all cooked in our own unique style we specialize in fresh seafood and steak. Bring the family along and enjoy our hospitality.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing