We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Walnut Cottage Cafe'

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
498 | Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
+64 9-427 5570
Website
Today
08:00 - 15:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 08:00 - 15:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Friendly service but the environment was very noisey. The coffee was good. The food was presented well, and tasted okay but was nothing extraordinary.

Helpful?
Thank Flintette
Orewa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Have been here a few times when the old owners and the new ones It took the new owners a while to get up to speed but they are just about there The fish and chips are divine Will be going back

Helpful?
Thank Sydnee123
John S, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe', responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It has been 12 months since we reopened the Walnut Cottage cafe on the 1st of June. We are pleased you enjoyed the fresh snapper ,rustic friies and geen salad. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2017

This is a regular place for us to go to for breakfast. It has a great outdoor area for children and dogs and do is nice and quiet being off the main road.

Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
John S, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe', responded to this review

Thank you Lenny fo.r taking the time a write a positive review More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Hidden at the north end of Orewa before the hill, this cottage is quaint and relaxing to enjoy a meal or even just a coffee at. In summer you will be sitting at tables on the grass if you wish, while the kids can play in the sandpit or playground area. Ducks wander around, and well behaved dogs are welcome.

Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
John S, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe', responded to this review

Thank you Shannon for taking the time to write a review.It is such a loverly spot and a real pleasure to come to work each day. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely lunch here today. Second time I've been here for a birthday lunch and not disappointed. Lovely staff and management. Particularly lovely waitress looked after us and took nice photos of us thankyou. Will be back 😊😊

Helpful?
Thank Deb C
John S, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe', responded to this review

Thank you Deb for your positive review.I apologose for being so long in responding to your review.Hope to see you again some time. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

If I could rate the service from the manager lower then I would. I ordered 2 eggs on (GF) toast with 3 sides and it cost $38. When i questioned only receiving 2 rashers of bacon for $5 the manager came out and argued with me. She was aggressive and rude. My point being that the money wasn't the issue... More 

Helpful?
Thank elvenah
John S, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe', responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Next time you write a review stop and think of what you are about to write before you write it. Please remember to state the facts only. I was present when you ordered your meal and am not surprised at your reaction to what you ordered. I am not about... More 

Frankfurt , Germany
Level Contributor
159 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We travelled 6 weeks on the North Island with an average of 3-4 Latte togo per day. We had wonderfull examples . May be 10% exceptionall, 40 % very good, 45%good.From the remaining 5% bad the walnut cottage brewed definitely the worst. UNDRINKABLE!!! The best we got from a coffee stand in the center road of Whanganui using Ozone brand.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank madbo0
John S, Owner at Walnut Cottage Cafe', responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very sorry for your experience at our cafe'.Could you please confirm the day and date you were at the cafe.If it was 11 or 12 February you were the only negative feedback we received from serving over 100 coffees each day.Such a shame you did not feel confident... More 

Royston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Very quaint café, lovely setting, especially when the sun is shining and you can sit outside. Great coffee and food, excellent service from lovely friendly staff and would always go back.

Helpful?
Thank itservice
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

If good food and superb surroundings make you happy then this place is a must to visit. The Lemon meringue pie is spectacular with lashings of whipped cream and the fruit smoothie was excellent. An experience not to miss with very friendly and helpful owners.

Helpful?
Thank Rick100222
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Friendly service, lovely location with indoor and outdoor seating options. Plenty of toys and space for the children (and dogs) outside. Compared to other cafes we felt the food was overpriced for the portion size and quality.

Helpful?
1 Thank NZJaxC

Travellers who viewed Walnut Cottage Cafe' also viewed

Orewa, Auckland Region
Orewa, Auckland Region
 

Been to Walnut Cottage Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$19
Cuisine
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:30
Wednesday
08:00 - 15:30
Thursday
08:00 - 15:30
Friday
08:00 - 15:30
Saturday
08:00 - 15:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 498 | Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Orewa
  • Phone Number: +64 9-427 5570
Description
Set in the parklike grounds of Orewa House under the backdrop of eaves Bush.Insde seating for 50 plus outside weather permitting another 50.Resevations reccommended

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Walnut Cottage Cafe' and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Walnut Cottage Cafe' staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?