We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Villa Mahana

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
B.P. 941 Amanahune | Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
+689 40 67 50 63
Website
Today
18:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 18:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

936 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 836: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A couple at our resort suggested this place. We were very luck to get in, they'd had reservations since December. The hotel contacted the restaurant and whalla ❗️The food was excellent. My husband had the tasting with wine and I choose the risotto as my main course. Fabulous ambiance and service. Can't wait to return on our next trip to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bbycakesssss
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) Thank you very much for that beautiful comment .Appreciate it Hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future Wish you all the best Damien :) More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had been recommended this by friends who had travelled to Bora Bora a few years ago. We were looking forward to this and accepting of the high price tag approx $150 per person for 5 courses excl wine. From start to finish we found the experience disappointing. We understand the charm of feeling like we are eating inside someone's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dani F
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) I deaply regret to read that you had such a bad experience without letting us know during your dinner to give a chance to repair or at least at the end offering you the bill before you've left the restaurant . I appologize for your dinner and please contact me to refund the money you have spend... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here on the last night of our honeymoon and it was hands down the best dinning of our trip. We had the tasting menu without the wine pairing. The food was exquisite, the portions were extremely generous, and the service was outstanding. Be prepared for a pricey dinner (it's Bora Bora afterall) but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MeMe T
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) Thank you very much for that beautiful comment .Appreciate it Hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future Wish you all the best Damien :) More 

California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was expecting a lot more and wasn't all that impressed. Service was nothing great and I had to constantly ask for drinks. The place is odd inside at best and the music they played was very strange. Food was just ok and nothing all that special. Very overpriced for what it was. They bury everything in Truffle Oil and it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank samuraitraveler
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) I deaply regret to read that you've had a "so so" experience without letting us know during your dinner to give a chance to repair or at least at the end offering you something . I appologize for your dinner and please contact me to refund some part of the money you have spend for it .... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2017

This place is truly a gem, and was possibly the hi-light of our week in Bora-Bora, though watching sunset from an over-water bungalow is tough competition. This was certainly the best we had as far as restaurants, and was one of my top 5 favorite dining experiences of my life. The entire experience was as wonderful as could be -... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy M
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) Thank you very much for that beautiful comment .Appreciate it Hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future Wish you all the best Damien :) More 

Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Go for the food! Select 4 courses or 5! With or without wine pairings. I chose the 4 with wine and it was Devine. Can't describe how wonderfully prepared the fish atop a potato mix and the beef tenderloin were. Environment was cozy and a bit warm but who cares with this kind of Gourmet in the middle of no... More 

Helpful?
Thank scottsfarm
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) Thank you very much for that beautiful comment .Appreciate it Hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future Wish you all the best Damien :) More 

Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
255 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

3.6 so less than a four but above a 3 due to Quality of items. Excellent New Zealand beef and Parisian foie gras. Good tuna appetiser for its quality and preparation Even a decent bandol rose to accompany my Lagoon fish. Served a simple salad with perfect vinaigrette even though I didn't get a starter. Nice touch. Beautiful outdoor VIP... More 

Helpful?
Thank lajolla1
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) I deaply regret to read that you've judge "Over hyped " experience without letting us know during your dinner to give a chance to repair or at least at the end offering you something . I appologize for your dinner and please contact me to refund some part of the money you have spend for it .... More 

Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2017

My girlfriend and I visited for a birthday dinner and were overwhelmed at how good the food was. We both did the price fixed menu with the wine pairing. If you are a foodie that appreciates an excellent chef then this is the place for you. My only caution is that this restaurant is very, very pricey. You can expect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Clint H
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) Thank you very much for that beautiful comment .Appreciate it Hope to see you back with us in Paradise in a near future Wish you all the best Damien :) More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Very expensive for what you get. Good food but not outstanding. Eg salad with shrimp & a few slices of lobster (farmed on nearby island) with dollop of (real) caviar for 58 euro! Tasted good but ! Seafood tasty with good sources, but not at well above regular fine dinning prices - not exceptional. Service good, but too fast for... More 

Helpful?
Thank David270443
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) I deaply regret to read that you've had a bad experience without letting us know during your dinner to give a chance to repair or at least at the end offering you something . I appologize for your dinner and please contact me to refund some part of the money you have spend for it . Wish... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I looked up the best restaurant on the island and found La Villa Mahana. I booked it as a suprise for my husband as he loves fine dining and the best food anywhere. Maybe our expectations were too high, but we thought it was just OK. We had better food at our resort and with the locals on excursions. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
Chefdamien, Propriétaire at La Villa Mahana, responded to this review

Ia Orana :) I deaply regret to read that you've had a not fully enjoyed your experience without letting us know during your dinner to give a chance to repair or at least at the end offering you something . I appologize for your dinner and please contact me to refund some part of the money you have spend for... More 

Travellers who viewed La Villa Mahana also viewed

 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to La Villa Mahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$101 - US$251
Cuisine
French, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Wine and Beer
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Monday
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: B.P. 941 Amanahune | Vaitape, 98730, French Polynesia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  French Polynesia  >  Society Islands  >  Bora Bora
  • Phone Number: +689 40 67 50 63
Description
The World Famous 7 table restaurant located in Paradise

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of La Villa Mahana and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from La Villa Mahana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?