We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moby Dick's

Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 3682
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good39%
  • Average20%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (35 reviews)
“bunny chow” (5 reviews)
“steak” (16 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Yes it is a little tired in appearance, but we sat on the upstairs deck with a view of the sun setting over the Indian Ocean. It quite took my breath away! I had chicken livers with peri peri sauce. Not for everyone, but I...More

Thank Mary C
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your frank comments

Reviewed 1 week ago

Place is right on the beach but seems very tired and touristy - which is sad as it has the potential due its location to be so much more. Standard dishes on menu - no imagination - food seems to be cooked by a very...More

1  Thank Roger L
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lot of confusion with regards to your pricing. On your boards in the restaurant hake and chips is R75 but we were billed R99. We ordered 2 calamari baskets which showed R85. When we asked the difference between the basket and plate the waitress...More

1  Thank Richard S
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments I have investigated this matter with Gail,my General Manager who confirmed that she was aware of the misunderstanding it had been resolved In this case the error was directly the responsibility of the waitress and the necessary procedures have been...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok, I know it was off season when the 3 of us went for supper, and it was dark, so we couldn't see the view. But, location does not make up for bad food and service. I've eaten plenty of prawns in my life, good...More

1  Thank m0zchick
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review We are gutted by the poor Standard of your meal We take feedback such as this extremely seriously We will follow up on your comments without delay We apologize sincerely for this poor experience

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very tasty fish and chips. Oysters were fresh and reasonably prices. Great view of the bay from the balcony.

Thank Kimberley P
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive comments The Mobys team

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

What an amazing meal. We were pleasantly surprised when we picked this restaurant on a whim. Great food with amazing service.

Thank Ivan B
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback The Mobys team

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise. We didn't expect too much but the service was good and the fish was prepared to perfection. Great meal and a good evening.

Thank Eugene S
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you for your positive comments

Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

Nice looking place, right next to the beach. Had starters and mains recommended by the owner. Compared to the high quality food we got everywhere else in South Africa this was our first disappointing meal. Soggy fries and bland flavours.

Thank MarijnHG
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback The standard of your meal did no justice to the setting I apologize for this

A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We were 4 finicky adult diners, joined by one even more finicky toddler. The ambience is charmingly beachy, the views the best money can buy and the service faultless. The calamari was tender and tasty, the steak perfectly cooked and the kiddies fishbites had the...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for your positive comments This is so motivating for the staff

Reviewed 24 May 2017

I have long hesitated to write this piece, but a few of our guests, we run a B&B in Plett, came also back and were sick. I myself received twice oysters, which were warm and distinctly tasted off, such that I spitt them out again....More

1  Thank Rainer H
Dianne V, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2017

We are absolutely devestated with the shocking review we have received from you and your establishment We are doing an intense investigation of this matter which includes staff from all relevant departments as well as the oyster tanks As owners we were not made aware...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fat Fish
1,637 reviews
.14 km away
The Table Restaurant and Bar
579 reviews
.68 km away
LM in Plett
280 reviews
.78 km away
Clare's Cakes & Deli
153 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
1,523 reviews
.59 km away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
6 reviews
.29 km away
Newstead Wines Restaurant
52 reviews
.57 km away
Plettenberg Beach
137 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Moby Dick's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$50 - US$450
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks
Restaurant features
Television, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only
Good for
Kids, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Hopwood Street | Central Beach, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 3682
  • E-mail
Description
Casual dining,on Central Beach
Overlooking the Tsttsikama mountains
Relax and enjoy the schools of dolphins whilst enjoying a meal from a vast menu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing