We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ginger

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
+27 41 583 1229
Website
Today
11:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 413: English reviews
Cumbria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our food here was good rather than excellent, but the place was really nice and the service was the best we have ever had anywhere (our server was David), so based on that we would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Helvellyn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

As we were at the Boardwalk we ate at Ginger. The restaurant was buzzy with pleasant waiting staff. The main courses were distinctly average but the desserts and wine were very good. Worth a visit if in Summerstrand.

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

As I don't live here but I went on the recommendation of my guest house. The food was really very nice...tasty way above average..not that of a top Cordon Bleu master type restaurant but really good tasty food. It's a good upmarket dining experience but casual at the same time. Thanks I'll be back.

Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for you review and insight. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ginger fails to deliver on its reputation for fine dining. My wife ordered the seafood platter, which was especially disappointing. The dish was oily and lacking in flavour. My steak was tasty, but not good enough to make up for mediocre service, unavailability of items on the menu and inconsistent quality

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from Ginger. Thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. We pride ourselves on service delivery and consistency. Unfortunately it seems that this did not translate well on your experience. Hope to see you again in the future with a different opinion of the Restaurant. We will certainly... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There was a bit if a mix up as they couldn't find our reservation which we definately made however they fit us in anyway. The wine recomendations were spot in and we really enjoyed all of the food. The armosphere is really lovely and service spot on. A perfect night out!!

Helpful?
Thank CatherineHeatley
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review

Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you very much for the kind review. It is always such a treat to hear back from our guests and we are thrilled you enjoyed your experience here with us. Thank Again Jacques Lombard More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The service at Ginger is excellent. They have a great bar to have a drink before sitting down for diner. The starter we had was excellent, the main was OK, I didnt think it was excellent, bit to salty for my taste but on average this is a very nice restaurant, worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank dhrk
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued review. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future for the opportunity to deliver an excellent main course. All The Best Jacques Lombard More 

woodbridge
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not sure how this place rates so nightly. Service was poor on 19th Saturday night. Why do waiters try and remember orders rather than write them down, creates mistakes which we had. Lots of stuff off the menu which the waiter also was trying to remember. Slow service. Also fillet steak was tough. The waiters excuse was " chef said... More 

Helpful?
Thank robinWoodbridge
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your review. I do sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations and that you did not experience the "True Ginger Experience". We pride ourselves in attentive, personal service paired with great food and a strong wine list. Sadly it would seem that this was not the case with regards... More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really great food at not too high prices for fine dining. Wide selection of food options. Nice wine list. Lovely staff, really welcoming and friendly. Best out and out restaurant we went to in pe.

Helpful?
Thank stevegeneva
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thanks you for your kind review. We are absolutely thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience here with us. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had the trio carpaccio as a starter and the karoo lamb + queen prawns as the main course. The food was very tasty and the service excellent. Definitely a recommendation when in PE.

Helpful?
Thank Sa H
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review

Warm Greetings, Thank you for your review and insight. It is greatly appreciated. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We researched restaurants on line before we went to PE Ginger was one of the best recommended ......and rightly so. We popped in to have a quick look at lunch time and the waiter was very enthusiastic fully explaining the range of options available. We booked immediately for that night. Starters mains deserts and wines all of exceptional quality and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ronan M
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this review

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard More 

Travellers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, International, Contemporary, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Port Elizabeth
  • Phone Number: +27 41 583 1229
Description
Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ginger staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?