We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ginger

Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
+27 41 583 1229
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“rack of lamb” (13 reviews)
“crepe suzette” (10 reviews)
“carpaccio” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Contemporary, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 554 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

What an excellent restaurant. The food was tasty, the portion very generous and the whole ambience, we sat at the window, was just superb. Eat the Chateaubriand for 2!

Thank Susanne412
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We have dined at this restaurant many times but recently I have noticed that standards are slipping. Previously we found that it was either wonderful or mediocre. The salmon starters were terrible and one of our party sent theirs back. It was tasteless. The others...More

Thank David H
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is sad to hear that you did not have a great experience with us, please accept our sincerest apologise. Please rest assured that our GM will personally follow up with the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We did expect a much higher standard after reading the reviews. There were 7 of us, I had a Mèze which was much too oily, my wife had the same but couldn’t eat hers, the prawns were good as was the calamari and the smoked...More

Thank Melvyn J
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Malvyn J Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sad to hear that you had a disappointing time with us, please accept our sincerest apologies. Please rest assured that we will follow up with the chef...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dropped in for later afternoon drinks at the Beach Hotel, pit our head at Ginger as we did not have booking, all good and we got table. Great menu and very proffeasional, food was excellent and the steak was done to perfection. Great spot for...More

Thank Springkaaner
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

It is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic experience here at Ginger. As a team, we continuously work on maintaining our standard of service to ensure each and every experience is a memorable one. It is something we constantly work towards and your...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant seems to be on a downward trend , a previous bad experience,now service was so bad and slow I really should not complain about it as how can one complain when the service is really non existent,food was ok ,nothing special ,basically disappointed...More

Thank madiesel
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Madiesel Thank you for your review and support. It is always great to hear back from our guests and get fresh perspective. It saddens u to received feedback like this, as this is not the type of service we pride ourselves on. Your points...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The dinner was ok nothing special and looked at all the other reviews not my experience .too expensive for what it wasMore

Thank daren B
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

It saddens us to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Please accept our sincerest apologise, sorry that we have let you down. Please rest assured that your points have been noted and will certainly be addressed. We hope that in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ginger was on the recommended list when we started looking for nearby restaurants. We had an earlier dinner at 18.30 an there were only a couple of other guests in the restaurant when we arrived. Our waiter for the evening was friendly and informative. He...More

Thank Pekka R
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your service with us and your interactions with our staff. We do pride ourselves in excellent customer services and it is fantastic to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice options and atmosphere for a place near to hotels. It was within walking distance from the beach and not too far from the airport.

Thank Mohammed Ameer W
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks very much for the kind words. We are really proud of our restaurant. Safe Travels and we hope to invite you back soon. Best wishes.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I have frequented Ginger on a few special occasions and each time we have been very happy with the service and the quality of the meals. It has a very peaceful ambiance. The waitrons are always there when you need them without...More

Thank eileenc484
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you kindly for sharing your great experience at Ginger. It is fantastic that you enjoyed our high standards of hospitality and service. Thank you for your recommendation. Kind Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fabulous dinner, start to finish. The butternut salad is filled with multiple tastes and textures. Excellent dish and large enough to share. The seasoning and tenderness of the Moroccan rack of lamb is truly extraordinary. If we lived in PE, this would be our favorite...More

Thank Donna M
PEHotelGroup, Online Marketer at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It is great to receive such fantastic feedback, thank you very much. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
De Kelder
632 reviews
.80 km away
The Coachman Restaurant
657 reviews
.90 km away
Blue Waters Cafe
709 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World
865 reviews
.16 km away
Nu Metro Boardwalk
13 reviews
.84 km away
Nu Metro Walmer Park
11 reviews
.84 km away
Bayworld
135 reviews
1.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ginger staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Port Elizabeth
  • Phone Number: +27 41 583 1229
  • E-mail
Description
Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing