We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ginger

Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
+27 41 583 1229
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“rack of lamb” (12 reviews)
“carpaccio” (17 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Contemporary, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 110 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

Ate here a couple of times , one evening and one Sunday lunch. Both times the food and service were excellent. The location is lovely looking out over the sea and the staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly go back again when in the...More

1  Thank Roy22851
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your kind review and support. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 9 December 2016

The restaurant is well layed out with nice see views and the food is of an exellent standard , all the normal items are there , for a different experience order the chateaubriand and experience them making it at your table , food with a...More

Thank madiesel
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you kindly for your review. The Chateaubriand is a firm favourite of ours here and we are thrilled you enjoyed the experience. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 9 December 2016

We stopped in here with 4 friends (6 of us total). We didn't have a reservation and we were able to be seated right away. We had a choice of indoor or outdoor dining. We chose indoor. The menu offered many familiar dishes, such as...More

Thank Susan B
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Thank you for your review and support. We are so glad that your enjoyed your experience here with us and your friends. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 8 December 2016

Had dinner here and this is truly one of the city's gems. Very good food and wonderful staff, will be back for more soonest

Thank MelanieDF
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your insight and review. Your support is greatly appreciated and we are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your experience here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Our family decided to visit Ginger for a birthday celebration. Best possible choice! I had the smoked salmon as a starter and it was sublime. My family also complimented the chef on the blue cheese tartlet and risotto starters. I had the pork belly as...More

Thank Suedany
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for your kind review and support. We are so thrilled that everyone enjoyed the special occasion here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 2 December 2016

Our food here was good rather than excellent, but the place was really nice and the service was the best we have ever had anywhere (our server was David), so based on that we would definitely return.

Thank Helvellyn
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We are absolutely thrilled you enjoyed your time here with us at Ginger and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques

Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

As we were at the Boardwalk we ate at Ginger. The restaurant was buzzy with pleasant waiting staff. The main courses were distinctly average but the desserts and wine were very good. Worth a visit if in Summerstrand.

Thank Michael K
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2016

Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for you review and support. It is greatly appreciated. We will be launching some superb main dishes early in the new year which we are certain will be fantastic. Hope to see you again. Kind Regards Jacques

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

As I don't live here but I went on the recommendation of my guest house. The food was really very nice...tasty way above average..not that of a top Cordon Bleu master type restaurant but really good tasty food. It's a good upmarket dining experience but...More

Thank Katherine M
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Warm Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you for you review and insight. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience here with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Jacques Lombard

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Ginger fails to deliver on its reputation for fine dining. My wife ordered the seafood platter, which was especially disappointing. The dish was oily and lacking in flavour. My steak was tasty, but not good enough to make up for mediocre service, unavailability of items...More

Thank Andrew D
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Warm Greetings from Ginger. Thank you for your review. I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. We pride ourselves on service delivery and consistency. Unfortunately it seems that this did not translate well on your experience. Hope to see...More

Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

There was a bit if a mix up as they couldn't find our reservation which we definately made however they fit us in anyway. The wine recomendations were spot in and we really enjoyed all of the food. The armosphere is really lovely and service...More

Thank CatherineHeatley
jlombardsa, General Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Greetings from The Ginger Team, Thank you very much for the kind review. It is always such a treat to hear back from our guests and we are thrilled you enjoyed your experience here with us. Thank Again Jacques Lombard

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
De Kelder
595 reviews
.80 km away
The Coachman Restaurant
622 reviews
.90 km away
Blue Waters Cafe
666 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Boardwalk Casino & Entertainment World
822 reviews
.16 km away
Nu Metro Boardwalk
13 reviews
.84 km away
Nu Metro Walmer Park
11 reviews
.84 km away
Bayworld
129 reviews
1.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ginger staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking
Good for
Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Marine Drive | Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth 6000, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Port Elizabeth
  • Phone Number: +27 41 583 1229
  • E-mail
Description
Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing