We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vovo Telo

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Parkhurst Cobbles Centre, 4th Avenue | Parkhurst,, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 78 627 2279
Today
07:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 07:00 - 17:00
Mon - Sat 07:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I was recently back at Vovo Telo in Parkhurst for lunch and was very disappointed with the quality of the food, it has gone downhill in the past few months,

Helpful?
Thank globalcitzen
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our food quality. I am very sorry you feel the quality has dropped, we are often inspected by Famous Brands regarding food quality, standards and presentation methods, and we always pass will very high marks, nevertheless I will share your feedback with our Chefs, to ensure they... More 

Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

If you want a lively restaurant area this is the place to come. All types of restaurants are here. We were here for breakfast and enjoyed scrambled eggs and tomatoes,on toast,Griddle stack breakfast excellent and Pulled Pork Egg Benedict which was very different. If you really like Egg Benedict stick with the standard dish. This adds a different dimension. Service... More 

Helpful?
Thank watchman2015
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
210 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We stopped there for coffee and a cake which wasnt good, coconut cake was very dry and plain. I think just a bad choice as the other cake mist probably were good

Helpful?
Thank EA_Oussov
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am quite surprised your cake was dry, as the volume of cakes we sell during the day, doesn't often allow time for them to dry out, however I do apologise we failed you on this instance. Please do pop in again, and ask for one of the managers and... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Before you enter the place, you are already drawn by the amazing smell of the breads baking in the oven! Nice quaint setting with a lovely menu.

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, I will be sure to share with our baking team, I'm sure they will be pleased to know their bread aromas bring you in from the street. Watch for our new fall/winter menu coming out in April, a lot of great new dishes heading your way - hope to see you back... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Just had a great meal at this restaurant. Chicken livers with tageteille was superb and the blondies divine. A small, relaxing restaurant with friendly service which I highly recommend. Thank you for a wonderful night.

Helpful?
Thank Africansi
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments, and thank you for your business. On 4th Avenue there are a lot of restaurants to choose from and we thank you for choosing Vovo Telo. Watch for our new fall / winter menu coming out in April, some amazing dishes are being added, plus we are re-inventing our entire dinner offering,... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Exasperating. Ordered Mediterranean burger. Three times what was presented was with ham, on a different bread, without olives. No basil pesto.

Helpful?
Thank Dusanka
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Sorry for our late response, just catching up on some Trip Advisor feedback. Oh my goodness, 3 times ordered and we still cannot get a simple Burger Trio right. I am embarrassed for the kitchen team and as an Owner. Our team is trained each time a new menu item is added to our menu, so how can we make... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The breakfast scrambled eggs option was delicious and the portion size was generous. The staff were friendly and attended to my requests diligently. Keep up the good service.

Helpful?
Thank peterjohndutoit
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Good Morning Peter, Thank you very much for your kind review, truly we appreciate the feedback. I will be sure to share with our team, it's always nice to hear some positive feedback, in this new cyber world of so many food critics, some positive news goes a long way to motivate our staff, whom try so hard. Thank you,... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Slow, unfriendly service. Ordered creamy scrambled eggs and received dry, overcooked eggs on undercooked rye bread. It was remade and equally as terrible. Won't be back.

Helpful?
Thank SonzWoolff
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your unfortunate breakfast experience, we are very sorry the eggs were not to your liking, I do hope you brought this to the managers attention, as we are all human and mistakes do happen. I am sure if you had spoken to one of our managers, they would have rectified the mistake... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

After being back in Joburg & SA after more than a year away, I had to have a stop off at Vovo Telo for old times sake! I always love it there, I love the pavement style cafe and to just sit and people watch whilst contributing to my daily calorie intake...! I had a cheese & ham pastry and... More 

Helpful?
Thank AmzJoseph
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Good Morning, I am thrilled to hear your "Vovo Telo fix" hit the spot. Thank you for remembering us after so long, nice to have you back and I hope you also enjoyed Jozi's great weather. Safe travels, Ian Jones More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This is a pleasant, very popular street-side cafe, which serves excellent light breakfasts and lunches, and sells "home-made" breads of a high quality. Reasonable prices, and efficient, pleasant service.

Helpful?
Thank John B
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Good Morning John, Thank you so much for your kind words, I will be sure to pass along to our team - some motivation through Social Media is a nice change, these days we get such negativity. Thanks again, and have a great week ahead, Ian Jones More 

Travellers who viewed Vovo Telo also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Vovo Telo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$20
Cuisine
Cafe, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Delivery, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 17:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 21:00
Saturday
07:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Parkhurst Cobbles Centre, 4th Avenue | Parkhurst,, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 78 627 2279
Description
Quaint bakery / cafe in the heart of Parkhurst. Family and dog friendly, a lovely airy cafe, with plenty of outdoor seating, in our cozy courtyard. Daily freshly baked breads, cakes and other sweet treats, be sure to consider us for birthdays, anniversaries or other special occasions, full facility is available to book for any special event.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Vovo Telo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?