We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Whippet

34 7th Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
+27 11 782 7310
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good45%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“milk tart” (13 reviews)
“french toast” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
34 7th Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 130 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

It's always great to come back to a nice little restaurant. The food has always been good. Have before complain about service and over pricing, but the menu is great. Well done to Management for keeping a high standard.

Thank andries_steyn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an amazing find in Linden. Situated on a corner, it is frequently abuzz with numerous patrons jostling for a place in the calm and trendy interior - where barista coffees and delightful sweet eats await. I have not tried the savoury menu but...More

Thank CarolineBCapeTown
Reviewed 15 June 2017

A very clean, cozy, well-run environment. A treat with food that tickled the palate. The coffee was well brewed and the food was well presented. Carrot Cake was delish... All in all a worthwhile visit, which I will travel to get to again and again....More

Thank CountrysidePH
Management response:Responded 4 weeks ago

Hey - Thx so much for an awesome review - we hope to see you again soon. Divan and The Whippet team

Reviewed 2 June 2017

Popped in for a quick breakfast between appointments on a Friday morning. Ordered a Cafe latte grande and the Haddock Breakfast Chowder. I am a fan of the smoked fish and also love a New England-style chowder. After waiting for 15 minutes, I inquired if...More

Thank 11Globetrotter11
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We came into your establishment for a travel meeting there where about 18 of us we sat on the outside next to the road ,We only had the cappuccino never ate so cant comment on this . Service was a average ,not really the best...More

Thank graham a
Management response:Responded 29 May 2017

Hey. So sorry that you did not have the best Whippet experience- I agree the store does get noisy. But there is good news - are store will be expanding in the next 2 months, giving bigger groups more space and a dedicated area for...More

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Tried to come one morning and found it closed (maybe a Sunday) but came back during the week for lunch. The waitress was great, and the drinks were delicious and the food was amazing.

Thank Wonderbra_Star
Management response:Responded 22 May 2017

Hey. So so much for the awesome review - we really do appreciate it - I will communicate this to my team. Divan Botha - Owner

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Arrived for lunch on Easter Monday and service was chaotic. My pulled chicken sandwich was disappointing because the bread roll was stale.My wife had a burger and the burger patty was cold because it was standing in the kitchen while the chicken sandwich was made....More

Thank mpbaden
Management response:Responded 20 April 2017

Hi - I am terribly sorry about the service you experienced - this is by no means The Whippet way - all I ca say is we will take every comment into account and fix what needs to be fixed in order for you to...More

Reviewed 11 April 2017

The whippet is a popular stop for coffee and other refreshments in Linden. Its a great place to visit with friends - open and inviting. Coffee was good too.

Thank Andrew J
Management response:Responded 20 April 2017

Thx for an amazing review - we really do hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 10 April 2017

This is a great place in the centre of Linden and has a great vibe however, the tables are a bit cramped as they are trying to get maximum people in a small space and when it rains it is very noisy and no space...More

Thank southafricajane
Management response:Responded 20 April 2017

Thx for a great review - hope to see you again soon?

Reviewed 6 April 2017

I had brunch/lunch on a Saturday. Not sure if they take reservations but we didn't make any and had to wait for half an hour... it was really busy. Because it was really busy, service wasn't very attentive. We order a mixture of breakfast and...More

Thank kimchixo
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Fat Zebra
99 reviews
.41 km away
Fish Hook
12 reviews
1.25 km away
Olivia's Coffee Bake
70 reviews
1.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Northcliff Ridge Ecopark
26 reviews
2.39 km away
Johannesburg Botanical Gardens and Emmarentia Dam
382 reviews
2.05 km away
Inkosi Africa Tours and Safaris- Day Tours
10 reviews
3.03 km away
Delta Park
64 reviews
2.25 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Whippet staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$20
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Monday
06:30 - 16:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 16:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 16:00
Thursday
06:30 - 16:00
Friday
06:30 - 16:30
Saturday
07:00 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 34 7th Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 782 7310
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing