We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Doppio Zero Greenside

Cnr Barry Hertzog & Gleneagles Road | Greenside, Johannesburg, South Africa
+27 11 646 8740
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good48%
  • Average10%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pasta” (14 reviews)
“cakes” (10 reviews)
“bread” (6 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Mediterranean, Italian, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Cnr Barry Hertzog & Gleneagles Road | Greenside, Johannesburg, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been plenty of times in the recent past and never had a bad experience. Love the outdoor seating and the willingness to accomodate us when the rain drove us from Emmarentia (even my puppy was welcome as long as we sat outside

Thank eloizem2017
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our waiter was very good and really helpful but the kitchen was very slow.We ordered Tapas which included hummus.We waited nearly 40 minutes for the food and the hummus arrived when the rest of the food was nearly finished.

Thank Wayne and Mari K
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I went with some friends to have dessert at Dopio's Greenside on Saturday afternoon, and was bitterly disappointed. Two of the ladies had to send their orders back because it was inedible. The rest of us experienced ours as barely average. We were very civilised...More

Thank Helena5731969
DoppioZero001, Public Relations Manager at Doppio Zero Greenside, responded to this review

HI Helena, While we appreciate that fact that the situation was very civilized - we are bitterly disappointed to hear that no manager came and addressed the situation with you and yours. We are also extremely disheartened to hear that the food was inedible. We...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

This DZ offers a good selection between indoor and outdoor seating options. This is my 4th visit in a year and the service and food have always been good.

Thank Stephen901
DoppioZero001, Public Relations Manager at Doppio Zero Greenside, responded to this review

We hope to have many many more consistently good experiences with you :) Thank you for the feedback Kind Regards Tarryn Nash

Reviewed 22 February 2017

This is my local diner whenever I am too lazy to cock.Great menu and good value for money.Unfortunately service as usual is not up to scratch.I believe if I have to look for a waiter for service or have to for ask for a sauce...More

Thank Samgaffor
DoppioZero001, Public Relations Manager at Doppio Zero Greenside, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are working hard on the issue of the vagrants and we hope our waiters - through our mentoring program will do more than just take orders and bring food. Kind Regards Tarryn Nash

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Had dinner here - a pasta and the Asian Prawn Bowl. The service was good, the food average. Great ice cream. Not amazing, not terrible.

Thank jphansen81
DoppioZero001, Public Relations Manager at Doppio Zero Greenside, responded to this review

We hope to knock your socks off with outstanding food on your next visit. Kind Regards Tarryn Nash

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We had a lovley visit to Doppio Zero on the 20th of January 2017. We had a lovely warm reception by the manager, Clare. Luka, our waiter, was extremely effecient and pleasant. The breakfasts that we had, Doppio and Pronto, were excellent. The flavours were...More

Thank AlwarP
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Went there for Sunday lunch with the family. Very nice environment. Amazing how you can take a car park andbturn it into a restaurant ambience. Whilst the food was good and the attitude of the staff fine, the delay in receiving the food was extraordinarily...More

Thank Aubrey S
DoppioZero001, Guest Relations Manager at Doppio Zero Greenside, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoy the atmosphere and the food, we are sorry to hear about the slow service! Service is a big focus of ours, we hope you give us another try! Kind Regards Nicola Buchner Retail Specialist Doppio Zero Famiglia

Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Tonight I did want a pizza&birra (pizza and beer), the oneandonly couple. And I wanted to find a new one, so tripadvised till this restaurant. The location is quite nice with some tables on the terrace too. But it is raining and so straight inside....More

Thank GiCo68
Reviewed 8 January 2017

It was my first time having dinner at this restaurant with my family. It was a lovely evening and we sat outside. The restaurant was quite busy however service was excellent despite this. Food was absolutely amazing - we ordered pizza, pasta and some starters....More

Thank Kim T
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Momo Baohaus
34 reviews
.24 km away
Duke's Burgers
114 reviews
.09 km away
Spiceburg
61 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Johannesburg Botanical Gardens and Emmarentia Dam
375 reviews
1.19 km away
Delta Park
63 reviews
1.76 km away
Everard Read Gallery
41 reviews
2.83 km away
Melville Koppies
75 reviews
2.55 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Doppio Zero Greenside staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$15
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 21:00
Monday
07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 21:00
Thursday
07:00 - 21:00
Friday
07:00 - 21:00
Saturday
07:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Barry Hertzog & Gleneagles Road | Greenside, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 646 8740
  • E-mail
Description
Doppio Zero started out in Greenside in March 2002 (dal 2002), as a corner street style bakery and cafe, serving breakfasts, thin-crust gourmet pizzas and cafe style Mediterranean food.

We believe in the goodness of quality, this attitude has shaped our hands-on approach. Every season we revisit our menu's with some fresh ideas and seasonal ingredients. We love entertaining and so we celebrate each season with fresh campaigns and specials on dishes or products that we love....