We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vasco's Restaurant

12 Walnut Road | Hilton Durban, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 31 336 8100
Website
Share
Save
All photos (81)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good10%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pasta station” (4 reviews)
“naan bread” (2 reviews)
“seafood” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Indian, African, International, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
12 Walnut Road | Hilton Durban, Durban 4001, South Africa
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Vasco's Restaurant
1. Live Cooking Stations
"This restaurant is by far one of the best restaurants in Durban."
Nairobi D
See reviews that mention great restaurant
2. Tandoori Oven
"I received great service and the food was excellent."
Jacqueline W
See reviews that mention great restaurant
3. Breakfast Buffet
"This restaurant is very warm and cozy with a relaxed atmosphere"
LindzBarrett
See reviews that mention great restaurant
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I'm a seafood lover I came to Vascos for the seafood night Friday I really enjoyed will be back soon.The service as well was on pointMore

Thank phumla m
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest Thanks so much for your wonderful review of Hilton Durban's Vasco's Restaurant - Off the Hook Seafood Buffet evening every Friday night. It has been a pleasure to have you with us and we certainly hope to welcome you back in the...More

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We had a celebration at this restaurant. Simply awesome. Staff members very friendly. Good food very good Indian food. Huge variety of vegetarian food. Food is very good will be back soonMore

Thank Lutchmee M
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Hilton Durban, Vasco's Restaurant experience and services to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Breakfast at Vasco's Hilton Dbn, Has been amazing, great staff. They were using my name while interacting with me even though I did not stay at the hotel. The ambiance is just great. The breakfast Supervisor Shey has been awesome, went the extra mile to...More

Thank shalaina30
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. I am truly glad you enjoyed your Breakfast buffet with us and would recommend us as a place to dine when visiting Durban. We appreciate your comments and look forward to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch with some friends yesterday, we absolutely loved the buffet. There was a Large variety of salads, mains and desserts to choose from!! Desserts looked absolutely incredible & were a real treat! Had a lovely afternoon 👌🏼More

Thank eftichiac2018
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Vasco's Restaurant at the Hilton Durban. Great to read that you enjoyed your lunch buffet with us and thank you for your review. I will be sure to share with the entire team. I hope to have the...More

Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Been here yesterday for a Sunday breakfast. Service and cleanliness was good. The breakfast variety for a 5 Star hotel was very poor. The lamb sausages and a few other items where literally shrivelled and cold, in fact none of the staff care taking this...More

Thank Nithesh_1
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for visiting the Hilton Durban's Vasco's Restaurant and taking a moment to share feedback. I can see through your review is a low review scoring. We did not have fully met your expectations and that we could have...More

Reviewed 23 April 2018

A friend and i recently came for breakfast at vasco and we were totally blown away by this amazing restaurant the food was excellent the service to the team was WOW. The minutes you walk in from the door big and welcoming smile from the...More

Thank Amanda Zyanda N
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Amanda Thank you for sharing this wonderful review! We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us! We appreciate your praise for our hotel as our team work very hard to ensure every guest feels right at home. We...More

Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Had dinner at this lovely restaurant over the weekend a beautiful setting, Buffet offers a good variety staff are friendly and attentive.More

Thank Rowena S
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the Vasco's Restaurant at the Hilton Durban experience and services to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to Vasco's in the not...More

Reviewed 17 April 2018

I had a wonderful time at Vascos Restaurant in Hilton Durban from beginning to end. I was warmly welcomed, service was excellent and food was delicious. Will be back.More

Thank Scott M
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for your post in regards to your recent visit to Vasco's Restaurant at the Hilton Durban. We value your feedback as it is integral to us in improving our product an services. We are looking forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 26 March 2018

I would love to share my excellent night I had at the VASCO restaurant… I won a competition and I spent my birthday with my family which was the 23/03/2018 Friday-Off the Hook Night ….All I can say is WOW,Wow,Wow…what an awesome place the staff...More

Thank kitty2303
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for choosing Vasco's Restaurant at Hilton Durban and congrats on winning the prize. Great to read that you enjoyed your visit with us and thank you for your review. I will be sure to share with the entire team. I...More

Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Must add that the flavours of the east buffet on saturday nights is a must to indulge on. Friendly and helpfull staff. Well done.More

Thank Avikz s
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Vasco's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit to Hilton Durban's Vasco's Restaurant. It’s a delight to hear that you had a nice experience and enjoyed our restaurant and service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Yours sincerely...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 hotels in Durban
Hilton Durban
1,625 reviews
.03 km away
SUN1 Durban
36 reviews
.26 km away
Road Lodge Durban
42 reviews
.37 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
143 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Grill Jichana
213 reviews
.85 km away
Big Easy Durban by Ernie Els
213 reviews
.03 km away
Daruma
220 reviews
.90 km away
Roma Revolving
503 reviews
.91 km away
Nearby Attractions
Golden Mile
743 reviews
.99 km away
Natural Science Museum
55 reviews
.68 km away
Mini Town
100 reviews
1.12 km away
Kwa Muhle Museum
42 reviews
.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
uphconnoisseur
7 October 2017|
Answer
Response from MarkusMFritz | Property representative |
Hi there, unfortunately we do not have a Halaal kitchen nor certified. We do offer our in-house guests a Halaal Certified menu that we can order into the hotel with at least 24 hours notice - additional charges apply.
0
Votes
loudlyphili
26 June 2017|
Answer
Response from MarkusMFritz | Property representative |
Breakfast Buffet is R195 pp and is opens Monday to Friday from 06:30am - 10:30am and Saturday, Sunday & Public holidays from 07:00am - 11:00 International Dinner Buffets Sunday to Thursday is R 310 pp and opens Monday to... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$14 - US$26
Meals
Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
7:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Tuesday
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Wednesday
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Thursday
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Friday
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
Saturday
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
7:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 12 Walnut Road | Hilton Durban, Durban 4001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Durban
  • Phone Number: +27 31 336 8100
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Hilton Durban
Description
Vasco's Restaurant has a look, feel and menu that is uniquely Durban. A buffet restaurant with an a la carte menu available, Vasco’s makes you feel at home in the comfort of an African influenced space. Choose delectable cuisine from dishes prepared in a tandoori oven, off the grill and an assortment of pasta, curries and stews. With dishes that are both visually appealing and easily distinguished by exceptional flavor, you will be left wanting more.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;