We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fusion

Shop 4 Silvervause Centre | Cnr Silverton & Vause Roads, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 31 202 6182
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good28%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
1 Mar 2017
“Dissapointing!”
8 Apr 2016
“meh”
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
International, Fusion
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shop 4 Silvervause Centre | Cnr Silverton & Vause Roads, Durban 4001, South Africa
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2017

Trainee chef Kyle was on duty at lunchtime, a very pleasant young man but he should have been supervised. Asked if there was fresh line fish he disappeared for a few minutes & returned with the answer only one portion but he failed to find...More

Thank TnTdurbs
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

I am truly sorry that your dining experience was not up to standard. I have dealt with the parties concerned, and apologise for us seriously dropping the ball. Unfortunately Kyle is indeed a trainee, and I have not showed him this review for his own...More

Reviewed 8 April 2016

Its a little pricey for the quality of food. The chef was also drunk as a skunk when he came out to ask about the food. Not a problem to me, as i was packing away the drinks too, but its maybe not very professional...More

Thank Jessie_swan
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Hi Jessie Thank you for your review... However I am a bit concerned about this drunk chef that you mention that 'he came out', as all my chefs are female.... only my front of house manager is male. I would really appreciate you making contact...More

Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

My husband wanted to go somewhere a bit different for his birthday last night, and Fusion is really the only place in Durban that can't be categorized into any "standard" cuisine. The food is interesting and just a bit more exciting than the usual popular...More

Thank SAtraveller80
Reviewed 26 October 2015

I cannot understand why this place is not busier! Situated almost next to Durbans famous Cafe 99, I have had the occasion to eat there as well and decided to visit this restaurant for a special anniversary celebration.What a discovery- we had the restaurant literally...More

Thank Shivani S
Reviewed 14 October 2015

One-of-a-kind restaurant, wish there were more of them in Durban! Unusual dishes (dishwasher fillet / colour-changing soup / ice cream frozen at your table with liquid nitrogen), diverse flavour combinations, and all extremely delicious. An excellent restaurant and well worth a visit!

Thank roselee85
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Unfortunately was a disappointment . The dish washer fillet , although I insist on a well done , I was medium to rare , I ate it but very unpleasant I don't like raw meat. The nitrogen style ice cream was too hard I rather...More

Thank villavalencia
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015

Sorry to hear Fusion was not to your liking - we usually receive many rave reviews as we are well known for our friendly service, good wines and excellent food. With regards to the steak - although we would not recommend a WELL DONE steak,...More

Reviewed 30 September 2015

Wonderfull place to eat! An Enthuiastic selection of wines on hand and you are made to feel welcome !

Thank micim
Reviewed 14 September 2015

SO I tried the dishwasher steak! Yes you read that correctly. They slow cook a steak sealed in a bag, inside a dishwashing machine. It was amazing.

1  Thank BryanDaddy
Reviewed 2 July 2015 via mobile

We had a very wonderfully gratifying experience at Fusion. The service was impeccable. The food was exiting, creatively fusing different cuisines. The mussels where to die for. The wine list had some of our favourites. The nitrogen ice cream to the malva pudding was wonderful...More

Thank Gerrit R
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Many thanks for letting us know about your wonderful experience at Fusion. Glad you enjoyed :) kind regards Chef Shaun

Reviewed 23 June 2015

Nestled between Café 1999 and Unity in the Silvervause complex is a little gem that if you haven’t visited it is time you did. I had often heard and scoffed about the cooking being done in dishwashers, electric blankets and other strange devices but had...More

1  Thank russell a
Shaun S, Owner at Fusion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review - am so glad you so enjoyed. Particularly nice to hear since I have been away for the past 6 weeks - 5 in France teaching at a hotel school and working in...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
La Bella
56 reviews
.55 km away
The Little India Restaurant On Musgrave
313 reviews
.57 km away
Chez Nous
141 reviews
.87 km away
Unity
103 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby Attractions
Durban Botanic Gardens
854 reviews
1.14 km away
Giba Gorge Mountain Bike Park
90 reviews
.91 km away
St. Thomas' Church
21 reviews
.68 km away
The Campbell Collections
13 reviews
1.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fusion staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine
Open Hours
Monday
10:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 21:00
Thursday
10:00 - 21:00
Friday
10:00 - 21:00
Saturday
10:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 4 Silvervause Centre | Cnr Silverton & Vause Roads, Durban 4001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Durban
  • Phone Number: +27 31 202 6182
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing