We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moyo

1 Bell Street | uShaka Marine World, Point, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 31 332 0606
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good36%
  • Average19%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“oxtail” (9 reviews)
“bunny chow” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
African, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1 Bell Street | uShaka Marine World, Point, Durban 4001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 598 reviews

Reviewed today

Although the decor and atmosphere of the place was amazing as well as the singing group that went around from table to table, the food was absolutely atrocious. I appreciated the fact that attention to detail was put into the cultural backgrounds of the food,...More

Thank rhysfataar
Reviewed 6 days ago

Gorgeous views, gorgeous cocktails and ever changing scenery. Beautiful location and so vibey. A must do!

1  Thank vanjays
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Food is grate. The location is superb. I enjoyed Moyo's traditional food. The staff is friendly. I would recommend to anyone

Thank Lugo B
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time. Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately this was not my favourite visit to moyo and I've had many more in the past. It is a good concept, but it slowly seems to be getting run down.

Thank cledelune
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Dear Guest We are terribly to sorry your visit was not up to expectations. Please could you email our general manager at ushaka@moyo.com so we can get in touch. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

We had dinner here and had a selection of four starters and four main courses. Many of the dishes were spicy but tasty. The butternut soup was sweet and delicious. The waitresses were polite and quite efficient. The restaurant was quite warm and stuffy but...More

1  Thank Leslie L
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank-you for the positive feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We went for drinks after dinner and really enjoyed the atmosphere. we had our faces painted and also tried dessert. Ice cream with Amarula was delicious

1  Thank PaulaDBell
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Thank-you for the positive feedback, we look forward to seeing you again soon! Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 5 October 2017

The food was okay - ordered a burger with the pumpkin rolls. Hated it. Different strokes for different folks I guess. But what I really liked about the place is that they held on to my MacBook when I left it behind. Honest staff. So...More

Thank Lindo X
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Guest We are terribly to sorry to hear about your exerience at our restaurant. Please could you urgently contact our general manager at ushaka@moyo.com so we can deal with your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 3 October 2017

The staff and food was out of this world , they had a special dance and sing along for us , the ethnic painting on the face added to the surrounding and view of the ocean .

Thank krispillay
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again next time. Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Service was average, the waiter was confused by our drinks order and it was only the two of us placing an order. The face paint is really cool!! Not very good value for money with the food at all which was disappointing. We had the...More

Thank micfranmf
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest We are terribly to sorry to hear about your exerience at our restaurant. Please could you urgently contact our general manager at ushaka@moyo.com so we can deal with your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Warm regards, The moyo team

Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Visited ushaka not so long ago and eas ignored by the waiter. Seated ourselves and for almost 30minutes nobody attended to us we eventually just walked off.

1  Thank cherelles2014
moyo2016, Guest Relations Manager at Moyo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Guest We are terribly to sorry to hear about your exerience at our restaurant. Please could you urgently contact our general manager at ushaka@moyo.com so we can deal with your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you soon. Warm regards, The moyo team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Afro's Chicken Shop
247 reviews
1.02 km away
Surf Riders Food Shack
162 reviews
.46 km away
Cargo Hold Restaurant
431 reviews
.05 km away
Ocean Basket
111 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
uShaka Marine World
2,650 reviews
.21 km away
uShaka Sea World Aquarium
900 reviews
.18 km away
uShaka Wet 'n Wild
288 reviews
.16 km away
uShaka Village Walk
16 reviews
.22 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Moyo staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$24
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, View, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Bell Street | uShaka Marine World, Point, Durban 4001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Durban
  • Phone Number: +27 31 332 0606
  • E-mail
Description
moyo uSshaka is a uniquely Durban destination offering the perfect place in which to relax and watch the world go by.Cocktails at the Beach Bar, exquisite views of the Indian Ocean, tropical weather, exotic flavours and soulful vibes - this is Africa at its laidback best.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing