We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Boschendal restaurant

Route 310, Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 870 4274
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good39%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“cold meats” (5 reviews)
“preserves” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Route 310, Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We did their picnic lunch--incredible! The food was truly delicious and beyond plentiful. We had so much food we gave a huge bag of "leftovers" to our driver; there must have been 6 pounds of really good food left. Overall, an amazingly good deal!

Thank ChasinNJ
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Can’t speak highly enough of the food and restaurant! Food was incredible (we had squid pasta, chicken, steak strips). There is also a lovely garden. Recommend you sit outside on the terrace. Definitely book ahead.

Thank Alex R
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We went to the Wine Tasting at Boschendal today with Family from the USA. There was no one available to help us so we waited almost 20 minutes. We were 9 people but only 6 were going to taste. We were told that because we...More

3  Thank Antoinette Y
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We booked and paid for a picnic and needed to change the date as we would have missed our flight. We called three times, left two messages on voicemail as they never answer their phone. We then rang the main switchboard and spoke to two...More

1  Thank mcc0mbie
BoschendalFarmEstate, General Manager at Boschendal restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Dear Mccombie I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience with our reservations department. Trust that I will investigate this further and use this as a case study to better improve the experience for future customers. Furthermore we will expedite any refund owing. The...More

Reviewed 27 February 2018

We toured the winery and afterwards had lunch in the restaurant. The food was excellent as was the service. Our group of 25 were treated like royalty. Thank you!

Thank Man52
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

As we were staying in the cottages we decided one time to have a little lunch at the deli. Seated outside we had a burger we shares which was prettig good, had better but still good. Share it if you can as it is a...More

1  Thank ekholland27
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Third time around I booked the right place that we had enjoyed so much on our first visit, that’s the Werf with a real picnic in the gardens, rather than the one seated at a table. Unfortunately it was raining, which they had a plan...More

1  Thank sokriw
BoschendalFarmEstate, General Manager at Boschendal restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Dear Sokriw I was sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Boschendal. We process food from our Organic gardens and as you say your particular salad leaves were not rinsed properly. I will investigate our operating procedure here. With reference to the lack...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018

We had a lovely table on the balcony at De Werf overlooking the fantastic vegetable garden. Service was very good and efficient. The menu was explained in detail to us. It is a tapas type of menu but larger portions. It was recommended that we...More

Thank Sauvarin
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Three of us went for the picnic near the cellar door tasting area. Setting was very pretty and the food was good, and service was friendly. Would recommend if you’re in the area, but always book a day or two ahead as they get full!

Thank PV74
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Boschendal wine state features an array of tasting venues, bakery, butchery and 2 restaurants with in-and outside seating. The wine tasting can be scheduled according to you preferences, food in both restaurants is of a high standard (international). Relaxed atmosphere and good service makes Boschendal...More

Thank Horst S
Nearby HotelsSee all Groot Drakenstein Hotels
Simondium's Country Lodge
18 reviews
2.85 km away
The Hydro at Stellenbosch
103 reviews
7.82 km away
Sante Wellness Retreat and Spa
6 reviews
8.58 km away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
640 reviews
10.36 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Werf Restaurant
128 reviews
1.37 km away
La Paris Bistro
28 reviews
5.15 km away
Babel Restaurant
738 reviews
7.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Boschendal Manor & Winery
1,151 reviews
1.43 km away
Vrede en Lust Winery
381 reviews
4.59 km away
Lynx Wines
299 reviews
5.82 km away
Anthonij Rupert Wyne Estate & Terra del Capo Tasting Room
118 reviews
4.51 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Boschendal restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Route 310, Groot Drakenstein, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Franschhoek  >  Groot Drakenstein
  • Phone Number: +27 21 870 4274
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing