We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hussar Grill Mouille Point

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
163 Beach Road | New Cumberland Building, Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 433 2081
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

785 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 601: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Visited last week on our last night in Cape Town, great food, friendly staff, very reasonable, will be back when we visit SA again

Helpful?
Thank John H
Cardiff
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a lovely meal here and have to say the staff looked after us very well and certainly knew their steaks. Nice varied menu and ate in a relaxed manner and nothing too much trouble for the staff. Definitely worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank CardiffMano
Management response:

Dear CardiffMano, Thank you for your kind review, I am so glad the staff looked after you so well. Meat is definitely our passion and I'm so happy that translated. I shall pass on your positive feedback and thank you for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again. kind regards, Tracy Huxley More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We tried to go one evening workout a booking and it was completely full, I would definitely recommend to book in advance. It's well worth it! The chateaubriand was especially good and the sides too. Great service and friendly staff made it even better. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
Management response:

Dear Ryan, Thank you for your positive review and kind words, I shall feed that back to the hard working crew, it's what they strive for. A booking on the day is usually a challenge, I suggest booking a day in advance so as to not be disappointed. Although we do try and help as much as we can. We... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great Service. When steak wasn't done as ordered, another was made to replace it. Restaurant is big and was full. Glad we booked - recommend that! Great meal. We were to full for dessert unfortunately.

Helpful?
Thank Lorikeets
Management response:

Dear Lorikeets, Amazing that you gave us the opportunity to right a wrong, I am so glad we managed to pull that back. Thank you for choosing us, we really do appreciate your custom. A pity you never got around to desserts as they are delicious. We do look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Tracy Huxley P.S. Thank... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Well worth a visit. Excellent food and good prompt service, a nice ambience - and not too expensive (£40 a head inc. wine about par for the course).

Helpful?
Thank robin k
Management response:

Dear Robin K, Thank you for coming to visit us, we have now been at this venue since December 2015. We love the venue and are honored to be their successor. We hope we do them justice. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Tracy Huxley More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

called in on the off chance of a table as the place looked full,the staff went out of their way to find us a place for four,..victor our waiter was friendly,informative,and attentive,,we booked again for six and asked if they could move the tables around to fit us all in the same place which they did with no fuss,on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank linbourn
Management response:

Dear Linbourn, We are so happy we managed to fit you in, we really enjoyed serving you. Thank you for the kind words, I shall let Victor know he made an impression. We do hope to see you next time you visit our gorgeous city, thank you for choosing us, we appreciate your custom. Kind regards, Tracy Huxley More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a table of 8 people. Service was excellent and waiter was knowledgeable. My fillet was perfectly prepared and presentation was excellent with the waiter flaming the brandy. We joked with the staff that we thought we were back in western Canada eating our best Alberta beef. South African beef was superb!

Helpful?
1 Thank SGC881
Management response:

Dear SGC881, Thank you for choosing us, we thoroughly enjoyed serving you. Thank you for your kind words, our waiters train hard to keep up the estandard nd I am happy that it was apparent. We do hope to see you again whilst on your travels. Kind regards, Tracy Huxley More 

L'Agulhas, South Africa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a superb salad starter, Caesar Salad, a Sirloin on the Bone with Pepper Sauce and Onion Rings! The steak was fabulous - one of the best in the last year, service was brilliant and overall a great evening!

Helpful?
Thank Weary_of_Work_Travel
Management response:

Dear Weary_of_Work_Travel, Thank you for the fabulous review and constant custom, we love having you. Great to see you enjoyed the service and had a good evening. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Tracy Huxley More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We ordered 3 filet, one on the bone, grilled medium. Two filets arrived rare but were ok while the filet on the bone was a bone on the filet and not even rare, not eatable. We complained to the waiter and he just said sorry. We asked about the manager and were told that there are 3 managers and non... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara Z
Management response:

Dear Barbara Z, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I would like to apologize for the bad experience you had. Our fillet on the bone is a bone on the fillet, so that you the customer do no have to pay for mostly bone. The bone is there to give it some flavor. I have spoken... More 

Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended to reserve here but turned up on spec and were found a table although the restaurant was very full. Good and friendly service was followed by a perfectly cooked medium rare fillet steak with a blue cheese sauce. Good selection of wines by the glass. Perfect.

Helpful?
Thank BazCranleigh
Management response:

Dear baxCranleigh, I am so glad we managed to help you with a table, we hate having to turn people away. Thank you for the fabulous review and kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Tracy More 

Travellers who viewed The Hussar Grill Mouille Point also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$20 - US$50
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 163 Beach Road | New Cumberland Building, Mouille Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 433 2081
Description
The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Hussar Grill Mouille Point staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?