We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Haul Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 425 0551
Website
Today
12:00 - 17:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 17:00
Tue - Sat 12:00 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 476: English reviews
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We attended a stunning birthday party at this chic restaurant. It is a perfect setting for a beautiful summer day in Cape Town. Chilling on the big outside couches ,watching the catamarans sail past make you feel like a celebrity. The staff are friendly and eager to please. The food was yummy and the cocktails sublime. A must visit in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

Lynne thank you for reviewing us and your kind words, we hope to see you again soon at Grand Beach where everyone should feel like a celebrity. More 

Quinta do Lago, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

A perfect setting for an afternoon drink. What could go wrong ? Everything !! We arrived at about 5pm, and went to the bar and snack area on the beach. We are locals but had some Austrian tourist sharing our table. We felt embarrassed by complaining about the poor service as we had tourists sitting so close to us, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank MurrayPortugal
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

Hi Murray, we are very sorry that you did not receive the quality of food and service deserving the venue. Please would you email beach@grandafrica.com so that we can touch base with you on the details of your experience. More 

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited on an early Friday evening. Really struggled to get served after going to 3 different bars and speaking to multiple staff. We eventually got a table, and still waited 30 minutes in total for our drinks despite dozens of staff around us - and us chasing the drinks. Noone really seemed to know what was going on. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank LauraH250
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

Hi Laura, it has been busy and no excuse for the service you received. We will address these concerns with urgency and hope you will return sometime for a much improved experience. More 

Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Grand is a beautiful spot. Great view nice vibe. The food is quite good but with so much staff one could expect more. Anyhow offering massage service is a great idea. I will definitely return soon.

Helpful?
Thank Adrianahani
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

Hi Adrianahani, thanks for your review. Very happy to hear that you will return and we will be doing our utmost to ensure all of our staff are working hard on improving the experience. More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This Place is a very nice Place, if you are in for a drink or a glas of wines. We are not from Cape Town, but we got the feeling that this is a Place to go to, if you want to be seen or to see others! We where here in January 2016 and by then it was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank christerb851
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

Hi Christer & Gunilla, we want to extend our apologies to you for not making your second visit to Grand Beach even better than the first. Please could you email us on beach@grandafrica.com as we would really love to follow up on this with you and ensure that we are improving every day and not regressing. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We wanted to experience a different birthday meal and it exceeded our expectations. The weather was great and it made the experience even better. The starters was exceptional. The only concern was that the corkage was high and the wine is pricey. The view is brilliant and the service was Great. We would return for more and would love to... More 

Helpful?
Thank GSAUNDERS1958
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

Hi GSaunders1958, thanks for posting. Would be wonderful if you could email us details of which wines you found pricey and how much you were charged for corkage just out of interest and so that we can consider. We are very price conscious and want to always be fair. beach@grandafrica.com More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Cool beach bar and restaurant close to the V&A Waterfront. Mix of beach club, bar, restaurant. Very interesting place to hang out that gets very busy before sunset. The food is basic but OK. Try the huge Pizza plates to share. At peak times difficult to get a parking space (cost: 20 Rand). Prices are very reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank BigMan66
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

BigMan66 thank you for taking the time to post your review of our humble beach. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed yourself and hope you will return very soon. FYI: V&A Waterfront is about to open another 700 parking bays on the top of the hill next to us which will really help with parking and should be... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I invited 14 guests for lunch. We were all seated by 1.15pm. We had placed our orders by 1.35pm. The waitresses were very nice albeit a little unsure of themselves, not very well trained. By 2.45pm we had not received our food. When we complained about this, a manager accused us of lying, told us we had only just placed... More 

Helpful?
Thank leah01155
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

Hi Leah01155, please would you drop us an email too beach@grandafrica.com as we would really like to get more details on your experience so that we can rectify and ensure we improve on all the aspects you mentioned in your review. Thank you for sharing with everyone and us, if you keep quite we never know. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner his evening with my wife at GA, food choice was good, actual food we ordered was great. The attentive service was first class and the drinks list was extensive and appropriately priced. Would go again, maybe start in early evening or late afternoon to really appreciate the setting.

Helpful?
Thank GM3000
RadleyDijkers, Manager at Grand Africa Cafe & Beach, responded to this review

Hi GM3000, we tend to agree with the idea of starting earlier and enjoying that sunset moment at GA. Thank you for sharing your experience. More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had end of year party for third time so obviously like it BUT in 2015 drew it to the managers attention that no provision was made for less abled to get down steps to the beach. That was a year ago and promises were made and even a free bottle of champagne (not Moët I am afraid). A year later... More 

Helpful?
Thank occasionalfoodie2016

Travellers who viewed Grand Africa Cafe & Beach also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Clifton, Camps Bay
 

Been to Grand Africa Cafe & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$75
Cuisine
Pizza, Seafood, European, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Haul Road | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 425 0551
Description
Cape Town's most desirable destination restaurant, Grand Africa Café & Beach embraces a free-spirited beach Cafe culture - the only one of its kind in Cape Town. Offering a unique experience the tactile decadence completes the trendsetting design offering a cafe style dining experience on the deck or beach with magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean and Robben Island.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Grand Africa Cafe & Beach and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Africa Cafe & Beach staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?