We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Roundhouse Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
European, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 438 4347
Website
Today
18:00 - 21:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 585: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The venue cannot be faulted... the food and wine neither.... what is lacking is service and training. I find if service is not up to par with the venue, there is lack of training or no management. No one present to welcome and seat us, it was a struggle to find a waitress that didn't appear to be run off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bugslb
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We managed to get a table for two due to a last minute cancellation. We had the eight course tasting menu with wine pairing. There were a couple of things on the menu I wasn't too keen on but I decided to try everything. I wasn't disappointed - the food was delicious and the wines were well matched. My favourite... More 

Helpful?
Thank CMcG29
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Exquisite food in beautiful surroundings. The service was absolutely faultless and we had a wonderful and romantic evening. Thank you very much to all of the restaurant team who made this such a special experience.

Helpful?
Thank LadySophie
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous setting for drinks in the garden. When taken inside I was a bit disappointed that it seemed a bit drab. It is a set tasting menu but you are asked if there is anything you don't like and able to swop dishes. The food was more than disappointing. Staff and service was good but I couldn't recommend it

Helpful?
Thank Cathyt1961
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were at Roundhouse a couple of times for lunch. The "good" seating up the hill needs to be reservied in particular. Then you have an amazing view over Camps Bay with a decent lunch menue and good wine choices. Try the rotisserie chicken for two which is great to share.

Helpful?
Thank MarkusMuenchen
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Markus, thank you for your email and positive feedback on your experience at The Rumbullion, our outdoor picnic restaurant. Perhaps on your next visit you might like to try The Roundhouse, our fine dining dinner restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the in future. Regards, The Rumbulllion Team, More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have been here once before....many years ago. So our expectations were high this time...but we were not disappointed, on the contrary! Fantastic food and wine.....not to speak of the service! A must for visitors, but book in advance!

Helpful?
1 Thank MaritandPer
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful setting to finish out time in SA. The service was perfect, the food was delicious. We had the 8 course tasting menu with wine pairings, everything was perfection.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pooki80
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are frequent guests since a few years and usually go to the Roundhouse for lunch. The Food was always good and the Service was always VERY good. No need to talk about the spectacular views! The last view times the Food was still OK and Service was good, but today it was our worst experience at the roundhouse... The... More 

Helpful?
Thank RolandHupfer
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Roland, thank you for visiting with us and also your for your mail and feedback. The quality of your experience is certainly not what we intend for our guests. Please accept our apology in this regard. We can assure that on your next visit you will receive the hospitality that you have become accustomed to in the past. To... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Initially we were told the restaurant was full but then the manager found a table for us. We had the 5 course tasting menu. Each course was explained to us by the waiter/waitress and it was very enjoyable. An expensive meal but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Milly1_23860
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are currently sitting at the roundhouse at a table of 20 friends. We have all ordered breakfast and the manager has just informed us that the kitchen is unable to scramble an egg instead of fry one. When we pushed he was resolute. Does anyone else see the logic in this? Zero flexibility and poor service!

Helpful?
Thank Tazkc
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Good Day Tazkc and thanks for your mail and your visit with us. We appreciate your feedback whether positive or negative - although I believe that in your haste to share your experience on TripAdvisor whilst still on the property, you have inadvertently confused yourself and the issue you wish to raise. As correctly pointed out to you by our... More 

Travellers who viewed The Roundhouse Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Roundhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
European, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Tuesday
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 438 4347
Description
Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room, hotel and the hunting lodge of Lord Charles Somerset has been elegantly restored with the charm and sophistication of the Grand Old Cape. The style of cuisine at The Roundhouse is uncomplicated, contemporary French, inspired by seasonal ingredients and paired with one of the finest boutique wine collections in South Africa.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Roundhouse Restaurant and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Roundhouse Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?