We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs

Shop 153 Lower Level V&A Waterfront | Shop 157 Lower Level V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
+27 87 357 3465
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“ribs” (124 reviews)
“burger” (456 reviews)
“onion blossom” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, American, Bar, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shop 153 Lower Level V&A Waterfront | Shop 157 Lower Level V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We knew we would only have 1 night out for dinner in Cape Town, so looked for somewhere that did good burgers with great reviews, and so chose Gibsons. We definitely weren't disappointed. The burgers themselves were huge and very tasty, with a great choice...More

Thank Adrian M
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had burgers and Milkshakes in fact we had more than one each haha and the burger were epic to say the least.

Thank MJ K
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear MJK, thank you for the great review. We look forward to having you join us again for another double round. Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 1 week ago

After hearing so much about Gibson's my family and I finally went to try it out last night. Unfortunately I was disappointed. Apart from the burgers being very average although not at the average price, one of the ingredients on my burger was left out...More

Thank Nicci F
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Nicci, my apologies that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Did the manager not see to your query? We hope that your next visit will be a more memorable one. Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In the mood for a burger and shake? Then you cannot go wrong with Gibsons. They have one of the biggest milkshake selections I have seen and the burgers are excellent, no matter which one you go for. The staff are friendly and it's always...More

Thank Matt d
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Matt, thank you for the Trip Advisor review. We appreciate it very much and look forward to you enjoying another dining occasion with us very soon. Kind Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gibson's has certainly deteriorated. Previously one had to queue to get in, not anymore. Poor service and a manager with a bad attitude and no product knowledge on what would be my last visit to Gibson's. I complained about the quality of my burger as...More

Thank Leon F
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Leon, my apologies for the experience. Please email me on support@slickrestaurants.com. Please attach a copy of your bill so I can investigate. If you do not have it, if you can let me know the time and date of your visit, as well as...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best Burger in Town. Very large, so you might want to share. A bit pricy - R150. Over 100 selection of milkshakes - awsome

Thank Ralph P
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ralph, thank you for the review. We look forward to you trying our 113 flavours and 40 burger options. Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Their burgers are to die for I was there for lunch and I enjoyed their burgers so so much juicy and yummy

Thank portiarabatshidi
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Portia, thank you for the nice review. We appreciate it and look forward to you enjoying another experience with us again soon. Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The service is good and fast, and the food came fast, yet fresh,we tried the beef ribs, they were so good. Would come again

Thank Ahmad D
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ahmed, thank you for the review. We appreciate it and also look forward to you coming here again. Regards, Andrew

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Cape Town from 6 to 9 July 2017 and went to Gibsons on the Saturday 8 July. We had been there before on a few occasions whenever we visit Cape Town and always enjoyed our meals and service but this time things had...More

Thank becky436
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Becky436, my apologies for this unfortunate dining experience. Please can you email me on support@slickrestaurants.com with a copy of you bill, or if not available, if you can let me know what you ordered, as i would like to investigate this with the managers...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Oh dear, what a disappointment this was. This is our third visit to Gibson's and I don't think we will go back. We have always enjoyed this burger and rib joint when in Cape Town, but after our last visit things seem to have gone...More

Thank SueFerreira
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sue, my sincerest apologies for this dining experience. This is not our standard. A warm milkshake? Please can you email me on support@slickrestaurants.com with a copy of you bill, or if not available, if you can let me know what you ordered, as I...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Willoughby & Co
2,939 reviews
.17 km away
Baia
2,171 reviews
.07 km away
Vovo Telo
559 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
7,945 reviews
.17 km away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
430 reviews
.24 km away
The Cape Wheel
629 reviews
.19 km away
Nobel Square
219 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Vap08
27 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Maggy1408 | Reviewed this property |
I am almost 100% sure that there is NO dairy free option at Gibson's.
1
Vote
Andrew H
12 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Andrew H | Property representative |
We are awaiting a reply from her.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$12
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Wifi, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 153 Lower Level V&A Waterfront | Shop 157 Lower Level V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8002, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 87 357 3465
  • E-mail
Description
After 2 years of perfecting the perfect burger, we have a range of Gourmet Burgers as well as amazing succulent fall-off-the-bone ribs (pork, beef & lamb). We have just launched another 17 shakes to our already 40 Gourmet Shake range, which include Chocolate Brownie shake, Cheesecake shake as well as a huge flavour of fruit shakes (Blueberry, Summerburst & Black Cherry to name a few) and now also Gingerbread, Malva&Custard and Orange Blossom
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing