We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Savannah Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
25 High Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 312 4259
Website
Today
08:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 15:00
Mon - Sat 08:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 203: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

This is was not my first visit to Savannah and once again I was happy that I chose the stick with a place that I know, although I had only previously had lunch there. The service was superb, I only wish I could remember the name of our young waiter. He was very friendly and thorough which is what I... More 

Helpful?
Thank tobes727
SavannahCafe, Owner at Savannah Cafe, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed our food, that you feel it was great and that the service was superb. We do strive to improve on all fronts and will do our utmost bet to keep it up. See you soon More 

Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

Sunday morning while waiting for a friend, decided to have coffee at Savannah Cafe, conveniently situated in the central CBD. Shady sidewalk to stop for a coffee break under trees. Service excellent.

Helpful?
Thank karenmU9177HQ
SavannahCafe, Owner at Savannah Cafe, responded to this review

We are very delighted that you had a great experience with us and that the coffee and service were both excellent. We strive to improve every day and service is of utmost importance to us. See you again!!! More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2016

We have breakfast almost every day at the Savannah and, when the weather is fine, which it usually is, we sit outside with our small dog who enjoys it as much as we do. The owner and staff are charming and the atmosphere is friendly and jolly. The food is varied and to a high standard. The restaurant is situated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger312659
SavannahCafe, Owner at Savannah Cafe, responded to this review

We are very delighted that you are satisfied with the food and service at Savannah Cafe. It is of the utmost importance to us to maintain as high as possible service levels, as well as good quality fare to our patrons. We hope to see you again soon and in many days to come!! More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

Just popped in for a light lunch. Food was good, as was the service. Plenty of tables for outdoor seating. a good place to stop.

Helpful?
Thank kellboy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

A nice venue to have a quick meal. We sat down to a good meal and drinks. There were beer on tap on the menu, but apparently the equipment were taken away, but I was still able to have my bottled craft beer. Coming from Gauteng to the coast for a few days, I wasn't very impressed when staff started... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rudolf B
SavannahCafe, Owner at Savannah Cafe, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed the food and drinks. We did away with the beer on tap because we had problems with the gas service provider and decided to rather go for the bottled beer instead. I will look into the complaint re the time problem as it is not accepted by the staff to be rude when 17h... More 

Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

We frequent this restaurant very often. The Whale breakfast is our favorite. The savory pancakes with mince and cheese sauce another speciality. Serves the best ice coffee in Hermanus. Waiters are extremely friendly and helpful. Beautiful setting with tables outside with umbrellas or inside. Dog friendly. You will not be disappointed

Helpful?
Thank Penel0pe1968
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
314 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

The Savannah cafe features prominently in a central square attracting a variety of regulars and passersby. Yet somehow in the lead up to the annual holidayfest, the edge has come off the normal efficient service. Why is that owners seem to capitulate in the pre-rush as the prospect of spinning money wheels appears before their eyes? The food and beverages... More 

Helpful?
Thank postscript65
SavannahCafe, Owner at Savannah Cafe, responded to this review

About the problems with the Wi-Fi we can not do anything as numerous entities in Hermanus experienced it during the past two weeks and we were not spared. But about the service levels and loud noise out of the kitchen we will immediately address it and return it back to the expected high levels. We hope to see you again... More 

Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2016

Spent a short time in the cafe and enjoyed drinks. Will certainly return. Sat outside viewing modern part of town with sea in the distance. Service was great and drinks really lovely and food on show and eaten by others looked and smelled great. Free Internet was quick although dependent on making a

Helpful?
Thank robina898
SavannahCafe, Owner at Savannah Cafe, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and drinks. We hope to see you soon for food as well and sorry about the free one hour internet that seems to have cut you off. Come back and enjoy yourself at Savannah but make sure you utilise your whole hour of wi-fi! More 

Kleinostheim
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016

Unfortunately we arrived in a really ugly weather in Hermanus: stormy and cold. So after chking into the hotel we really needed a hot coffee. The first cafe we saw said open until 5:30 ... it was not yet 4:30 but we were told coffee machine is alredy powered off :( So we went on and camot to Savannah -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mausi72
SavannahCafe, Owner at Savannah Cafe, responded to this review

We are glad that you enjoyed it at Savannah cafe and we always strive to serve our customers to the best or our ability. Glad that you enjoyed the coffee and but the music?? We'll change that to a bit more modern!!!! More 

Riviersonderend, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2016

Although you have no sea view, it is the ambience, food and friendly staff that always make us feel at home.

Helpful?
Thank Charl1973
SavannahCafe, Owner at Savannah Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you Charl for your positive response and we are glad that you are very satisfied with our food and service. We will strive to even improve on all levels and are looking forward to serve you again. More 

Travellers who viewed Savannah Cafe also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Savannah Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 15:00
Monday
08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 17:00
Thursday
08:00 - 17:00
Friday
08:00 - 17:00
Saturday
08:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 25 High Street, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 312 4259
Description
Fresh, healthy and sustainable is the emphasis at this sociable, casual rendezvous in Hermanus. Open for dinner, breakfast, lunch and coffee - the menu has been refreshed and modernised. The wine list offers a wide selection from the region. All cakes and pastries made in the pastry kitchen on the premises are also on sale in the Deli. Dining options: Breakfast, light meals, lunch and dinner.Ambience: Comfortable, contemporary and cool.OPEN MON - SAT: 8h00 - 21h00 SUN: 8h00 - 15h00

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Savannah Cafe and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Savannah Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?