We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Pentola

87 Marine Drive | Shop no 4, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
+27 28 313 1685
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good25%
  • Average9%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“abalone” (25 reviews)
“snails” (26 reviews)
“ostrich steak” (14 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 22:30All hours
CUISINES
International, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
87 Marine Drive | Shop no 4, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 70 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017

We had a near perfect evening out until my special treat (perlemon) was served. I haven't had it for almost 20 years so I was feeling very excited to experience it's unique flavour again, buy when I bit into it, it was absolutely tasteless. Maybe...More

Thank Cherylleigh R
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017

Thank you for your review.I am afraid that there is a difference between cultivated & fresh out the sea but We are only licensed to sell cultivated & if I sold you the latter I would be writing this response from Jail ! :-)

Reviewed 25 March 2017

WHen you call yourself Italian, you must deliver Italian. The food is good for an average restaurant - not so for a "special" Italian experience.More

Thank Alberto D
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

My dearest Alberto I am very sorry to inform that we are an international Fusion Cuisine restaurant no where do we say we specialize in Italian .My wife is Italian & I will happily make you the Italian dinner of a life time Please feel...More

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

Chef Shane Sauvage and his team met our highest expectations. Delightful 5 course food and wine pairing. Difficult to choose a favourite course. The Mussels won the all round favourite award in the end! Surely a gastronomic feast.

Thank Gert V
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

I must agree nothing beats Fresh Black whole shell local mussels YUMMY!!!! Thank you It was our great pleasure...

Reviewed 23 March 2017

Went for dinner and had a great time. Menu was extensive and very interesting; unusual dishes alongside well known, food was fresh and the service was excellent. Wine was great, advice on this and the menu was impartial and well informed. Unfortunately the sun had...More

Thank Jonathan L
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

I love it when people have fun & that is exactly why I opened my restaurants .Thank you for your comments :-)

Reviewed 21 March 2017

We went for dinner quite late so didnt get to enjoy the views but it was a great experience. Everything on the specials board sounded divine and the dishes we chose were lovely. The service was also very good. Saw the (well known) chef come...More

Thank Daksha001
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you for your review you made my day!

Reviewed 20 March 2017

After a good write up in the Village News,we booked a window table for lunch.Despite the request we were allocated a table away from the window. The service was friendly and the starters were good. However the waiter brought one incorrect main course, which he...More

Thank 383brian
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience I did some investigation and discovered that you were here for the R95 two course meal which is a special I run for locals .Your chicken & mushroom pastry was mixed up...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Went for Christmas Lunch set menu. Vegetarian option offered which we took. Food was way below average. Cheap ingredients and poorly made. Very expensive. Will not be returning.

Thank Aran N
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Firstly I don't use cheap ingredients & you really have issues if you are writing about Christmas lunch on the 18th of March I am ecstatic that you won't be returning.

Reviewed 13 March 2017

When I have something to celebrate, this is my special place to go for dinner. The menu is varied, exciting and very good value for money. The staff are very knowledgeable about the menu and daily specials. All in all La Pentola is a great...More

Thank Chris B
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2017

Thank you for your awesome review & we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 11 March 2017

great atmosphere on Saturday evening, excellent food and varied menu, good service. Couldnt fault it and great attention to spotless service

Thank 47JerryC
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Short & to the point .I love it thanx

Reviewed 11 March 2017

This restaurant is a must when in Hermanus, you have to book but it's worth it. We booked a by the window so that we could look at the sea and watch the sun go down. The food was fabulous, and our waitress Simone Verdoodt...More

Thank Darka M
Shane S, Owner at La Pentola, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Next time....... EAT DESSERT FIRST!!! Thak you for your review you made Simone's day!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Betty Blue Bistro
313 reviews
.05 km away
Pear Tree
850 reviews
.05 km away
Fusion Restaurant
710 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Hoy's Koppie
98 reviews
.61 km away
Lembu Gallery & Studio
57 reviews
.26 km away
Cape Whale Coast
23 reviews
.47 km away
The Whale House Museum
116 reviews
.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
123Windhoek
27 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Shane S | Property representative |
Yes of course we are I have three of my own kids.I am so sorry this response took so long I dd not know of this trip adviser function .
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$2 - US$16
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 22:30
Monday
10:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
10:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
10:00 - 22:30
Thursday
10:00 - 22:30
Friday
10:00 - 22:30
Saturday
10:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 87 Marine Drive | Shop no 4, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: +27 28 313 1685
  • E-mail
Description
La Pentola established in 1995 has a breath taking panoramic view of Walker Bay, the birthing ground of Southern Right Whales. The perfect venue for executive chef/owner Shane Sauvage's authentic fusion cuisine. All food is prepared to order, using only the very best quality ingredients, real butter, fresh cream and fresh herbs.Yes absolutely no MSG! The menu by internationally renowned executive Chef/ Patron & award winning author Shane Sauvage,comprises of a large variety of fresh seafood & Abalone, free range cuts of beef (KWV Fillet, Tender T-Bone, exotic game dishes, a great selection of vegetarian fare (Aztec Mushrooms) and a decadent selection of in-house deserts (Chocolate Terrine). La Pentola offers a Diamond award wine list with a large variety of local and international wines. We are an A la Carte restaurant that also caters for corporate functions, intimate weddings and special occasions. Open Monday to Sunday Lunch & Dinner.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing