We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Schoolhouse

A75 | Ringford, Castle Douglas DG7 2AL, Scotland
01557-82-02-50
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“cakes” (29 reviews)
“cheesecake” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
A75 | Ringford, Castle Douglas DG7 2AL, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

We have visited many times for coffee and lunch but never for dinner. We were not disappointed the food was outstanding and we cant wait to visit again. I had the chicken and leek pie and it was the best pie I have ever tasted...More

Thank Joan J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was a lovely place all done out nice and the staff were very friendly. Was a little noisy when we were there as a large group were there but still enjoyed it. Both had soup and sandwiches and pot of tea.

Thank Julie W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in on the way back from a road trip. We found the staff to be very abrupt and not at all friendly. The soups had no seasoning at all (used loads of salt and pepper to give it some flavour). The desserts were not...More

2  Thank Rus W
David L, Owner at The Schoolhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am sure you were here, but not sure I recognise my business. I and all my colleagues are usually complimented on as being happy and friendly..but we also react to how our customers can be with us. Yes sometimes things can be under seasoned,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stopped here for cake and a brew when passing. The cakes were to die for and lots of lovely choice, we chose a delicious toffee apple cheesecake which was delicious, unfortunately when offered cream or ice cream didn't expect to pay extra for that, it...More

Thank jayneylaney09
David L, Owner at The Schoolhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Oh Dear. As with all (most) establishments our prices are clearly displayed on our menu. If you expect to get a slice of luxury hand made baked cheesecake - lots of full fat cream cheese, freshly made apple crumble stirred in, homemade toffee sauce -...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We'd previously visited as a couple but arrived, uncooked as part of a group of 8. We couldn't have been made more welcome and were treated to great, friendly service and excellent food. Despite us having a range of foods - soups (the cream of...More

1  Thank Fiona G
David L, Owner at The Schoolhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Delighted everyone enjoyed. We love what we do - as do our work colleagues. All home made, and the Courgettes from our garden!

Reviewed 10 September 2017

We stopped off here to have a meal before the Galloway Hills Rally. 5* service and 5* food. I would recommend this place to eat to anyone visiting the area. Very friendly staff who went out of their way to make us more than welcome....More

Thank Jimmy A
David L, Owner at The Schoolhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

That's great - was a five star day all round as my son who was competing achieved his first ever top 20 finish, won his class and with the win clinched the Championship class! We look forward to you visiting us again

Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Stopped off as everything in Kirkcudbright shuts after 4pm during school term. Glad we did. Great service, fantastic home made food. Definitely be back too!More

Thank MGemm
David L, Owner at The Schoolhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you for your comments, ALWAYS freshly brewed Brodie's coffee, everything made by us here, if you enjoyed the Baklava then next time try the (GF) chocolate and hazelnut torte or the (GF) fresh fruit and ginger cheesecake - a traditional baked cheesecake with our...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Had a very nice lunch here. Good service and food. A little on the pricey side, but a good range of food and drink available. Nice presentation and tasted delicious. Outside tables available too for those visiting with dogs.

Thank 1971Holliedog
David L, Owner at The Schoolhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

We only use top quality ingredients and everything is made on the premises- our own Cranberry sauce, hummus, bread....In this world lets face it you only get what you pay for. delighted you enjoyed our food and service. Thank you.

Reviewed 13 August 2017

nice breakfast,not expensive,dog friendly!!!.quick service and pleasant staff,on main street no problem parking.disabled friendly

Thank alistair1950
David L, Owner at The Schoolhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We all love a woof! Can't have them inside I'm afraid but always happy to provide fresh water. The odd piece of sausage or bacon is welcome too!

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped off at the cafe to check it out for later in afternoon, we thought the antique shop was connected, unfortunately it was closed, while admiring the cafe and picking up some brochures as to what's on in Dumfries was approached by the very rude...More

Thank myralittlespain2002
David L, Owner at The Schoolhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Oh dear, out of order! in our defence being beside a main trunk road we do suffer a great deal from people using the car park and toilets and not spending, I am sure if they had mentioned that they were going to call back...More

Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Merlin A
21 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David L | Property representative |
Apologies for the delay in replying. We open at 10 am daily and offer a full breakfast menu until 11.30 am
0
Votes
Justin H
29 May 2015|
Answer
Response from David L | Property representative |
Last orders are 6 pm. If you are in and ordered - whew! we close an hour later at 7 pm. So many places have a closing time and you are scared to go in maybe half an hour before that! Last orders are 6.00 pm!!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$20
Meals
Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: A75 | Ringford, Castle Douglas DG7 2AL, Scotland (Formerly Tjhe Schoolhouse)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Dumfries and Galloway  >  Castle Douglas
  • Phone Number: 01557-82-02-50
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing